Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music Referencing Guide
Library slides to assist the writing of "an individual reflection on what you learnt about how Australian film composers work in comparison to American film composers"
Film music books, journals and websites
Use the following subject headings on Search:
Databases which index sources
Music Databases which index literature about film music can be found at A-Z Databases and on the Music Library Guide:
More music databases and Indexes
Music periodicals database This database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes over 1.3 million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of publication. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874. Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
RILM abstracts of music literature RILM includes over 620,000 records; over 30,000 new records are added every year, covering all document types: articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.
Subject coverage: musicology and ethnomusicology, theory, analysis and composition, instruments and voice, performance practice and notation, librarianship, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, aesthetics, criticism, music therapy, iconography, historical musicology.
ProQuest Proquest is a leading multidisciplinary portal providing access to a number of key online databases. This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic and professional disciplines such as business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, and medicine. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select from amongst individual database titles including: ABI/Inform complete, Accounting & tax, ERIC, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, Proquest computing, Proquest education journals, Proquest health & medical complete, Proquest science journals, Sociological abstracts, or Proquest telecommunications. A complete list of database titles available to Monash University students and staff is available at the site.
JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive. Intended as a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. Coverage includes: the arts, sciences, business, ecology and botany, language and literature, and music, extending from 17th century in some cases.
Oxford music online Oxford Music Online (OMO) is the access-point for Oxford music reference subscriptions and products, including Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. With OMO patrons can cross-search Grove and Oxford reference content in one location.
Google scholar Google Scholar uses the familiar Google search engine to search peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Google Scholar (bypass EZproxy)
Kanopy Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions ... [providing] access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases including titles from Criterion Collection, Universal Paramount, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, Media Education Foundation, Ronin, Documentary Education Resources, and more. Major subjects covered include: The arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education.
EduTV See also: Informit EduTV
You can access Informit EduTV through Monash University library or remotely. If you access Informit EduTV through Monash University library you will be automatically logged in and have full access to the videos. If access is outside Monash library, you must now register by clicking the Register link at the top of the Informit EduTV screen and enter your details. Please use your institutional email address and not your private email address. Please note that this resource is for teaching use only.
Music documentaries, interviews and masterclasses:
Berliner Philharmoniker digital concert hall While on campus, click the Sign Up option. Fill out your details to register, then Log in. You can now access this resource on or off campus.
The Digital Concert Hall is the virtual concert venue of the Berliner Philharmoniker on the Internet. Here you can experience the orchestra performing live at the Philharmonie in Berlin in more than 30 broadcasts every year. Database includes live streams, concerts, movies and interviews.
medici.tv medici.tv is a collection of 1500+ classical music videos: concerts, operas, ballets, archives, documentaries, artist profiles and educational programmes, among others... Each year, several hundred new programmes are added ... films about the current music scene, archives from the 1950s, etc.