Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: ATS1346 Music and culture

Selected resources for students of music

Edited Books

Selected edited books with chapters on the music of many cultures.

Streamed video

Music and Culture databases with audiovisual content

Scholarly Sources

The Monash Academic Integrity page offers a set of modules to help you understand how to use sources in your writing

An Introduction to Academic Integrity

The RLO (Research and Learning Online) site offers quick guides including a checklist for scholarly sources:

Scholarly Sources Checklist

Databases which index sources

Music Databases can be found at A-Z Databases and on the Music Library Guide:
More music databases and Indexes

Oxford Music Online

Many comprehensive encyclopedias contain articles accompanied by extensive bibliographies which provide further resources.  Try the entries for North India, Australia, Iran, Central Java or Indonesia in Oxford Music Online. The search interface allows you to search for keywords across the full text of all articles. For example:

undefined

 

 

Streamed world music on CD

MAMU Music Archive of Monash University

Image Credits: Photographer, Hidris Kartomi,Margaret Kartomi Collection, Music Archive of Monash University, Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music.

The Music Archive of Monash University is located in the South wing of the 4th floor, Menzies Building. You can normally visit the archive but during the COVID restrictions you may search the Online Collection.

The Monash University Library has access to The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments.

Global Music Series

The Matheson Library holds 40 titles in the Global Music Series. 

Encyclopedias

Articles from the International Encyclopedia of Dance

Online Encyclopedias

Use comprehensive encyclopedia articles to find sources the author has used to write the article.