Subject guides: Music: Scores

Online scores

Classical scores library This link opens in a new window
See: Music online. Classical scores library
Australian jazz real book This link opens in a new window
The Australian Jazz Real Book is a collection of the best Australian jazz tunes. Features over 400 sheets of Australian jazz tunes from Australian composers, artist biographies and some streaming audio clips. The 450+ tunes which are included are categorised into 17 styles. The lead sheets contain the melody in regular musical notation, chords and, where they exist, lyrics. There are also some more involved transcriptions where appropriate, and a few full score reductions where each instrumental part is important, and harmony parts and voicings are included.
Recent researches in music online This link opens in a new window
The database offers a diverse selection of works suitable for performance from the seven Recent Researches in Music series: Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, 19th/20th centuries, American Music and Oral Traditions. Editions published from 2018 are available online while fully searchable text about the content of scores before 2018 is available. The Monash University Library holds the print versions of most of the scores published up to 2020.

Hathi Trust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, based in the United States, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized, including music scores in the public domain, from libraries around the world.
IMSLP Petrucci Library
IMSLP, also known as the International Music Score Library Project or Petrucci Music Library, was started in 2006. The logo on the main page is a capital letter A. It was taken from the beginning of the very first printed book of music, the Harmonice Musices Odhecaton. It was published in Venice in 1501 by Ottaviano Petrucci, the library's namesake
Boosey, Hawkes Online Scores
To view works from the Boosey & Hawkes catalogue in digital format please login or fill out the B & H quick and free registration to view scores now.
Sikorski persusals
Here you will find a selection of scores on perusal and piano reductions which are available as PDF files to read online.
MusOpen
A non-profit organization that provides recordings, sheet music, and textbooks to the public for free, without copyright restrictions

For contemporary scores:

Contemporary Music Score Collection, UCLA Music Library
Published by the UCLA Music Library, the Contemporary Music Score Collection includes the digital, open access scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series, the first open access edition of new music published by a library, and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores, an open access collaboration with the UCLA Music Library.

Printed Music Scores

Print music scores are found on Level 1 of the Matheson Library

Use Search to find the music by composer or title.
Print music scores are divided into the following sequences. The prefix and the call number indicate where the music score is located in the collection.
Online scores are available using your Monash username and password. See the descriptions and links on this page. For example, Classical Scores Library.

P780 arranged by instrument
Performance scores with parts are arranged by your instrument (e.g. flute) or ensemble (trio, quartet etc.). Within each section you can browse composers A-Z.

Call numbers for performance scores
Call numbers for performance scores

S780 arranged A-Z by composer
Collected editions of composers works, full scores and some performance scores with parts

MM780
Miniature scores or study scores arranged A-Z by composer

S781.65 Jazz
Includes many Jazz scores, transciptions, real books and books about jazz arranging

S786-S788 Methods, studies and orchestral excerpts
Includes Examination repertoire e.g. AMEB
These scores are often arranged by instrument as follows:
S782.5-S783.5 Methods and Vocal Studies

S786 Keyboard and Percussion Instruments

S786.2	Piano
S786.4	Harpsichord
S786.5	Organ
S786.84	Vibraphone
S786.9	Drums

S787 Stringed Instruments

S787.2	Violin
S787.3	Viola
S787.3-.4	Cello
S787.5	Double Bass
S787.61*	Guitar

S788 Woodwinds

S788.3	Flute
S788.36*	Recorder
S788.62	Clarinet
S788.7*	Mostly Saxophone

S788.9 Brass

S788.92	Trumpet
S788.93	Trombone
S788.94	Horn
S788.97	Euphonium
S788.98	Tuba

SEF780 / XSEF arranged A-Z by composer
Large scores and extra large scores are located in a separate sequence so you may open them easily to browse.