Music: Archives

The Digital Archives contains the unique collections of the Beethoven-Haus: Music manuscripts, first editions, letters and pictures.

An archive comprising c. 5,500 digital images of Chopin's first editions has been made available online. The full score of each original impression appears along with excerpts from the Annotated Catalogue and commentary on salient textual characteristics.

The Digital Mozart Edition (Digitale Mozart-Edtion, DME) is currently being developed at the Mozarteum Foundation Salzburg in cooperation with Packard Humanities Institute in Los Altos, California, USA. The DME will provide world wide access to the complete works of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756- 1791) in digital form via the internet for study and performance purposes.

Contains digital reproductions of more than 500 score autographs, letters and life documents by Franz Schubert --- score autographs of the music collection as well as the letters and life documents of the manuscript collection of the Wienbibliothek im Rathaus (Viennese City Library).

This multimedia web site is part of an 18-month project to catalog, digitize, and preserve every item in Indiana University's extensive collections pertaining to the life and career of master songwriter Hoagland "Hoagy" Carmichael (1899-1981).The web site will present a complete catalog of the entire Carmichael Collection, access to selected digital objects, and supplemental research information, such as genealogy. The Hoagy Carmichael Collection contains sound recordings of Hoagy's music, letters, photographs of him and his family, print and handwritten musical compositions.

The sources archived include all the currently known fragmentary sources of polyphony up to 1550 in the UK, all the ‘complete’ manuscripts in the UK, a small number of important representative manuscripts from continental Europe and a significant portion of fragments from 1300-1450 from Belgium, France, Italy, Switzerland and Spain.

The Music Archive of the Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music is a collection of musical instruments, scores, field recordings, and diverse other musical materials acquired since the foundation of the University’s original Department of Music in 1965. The Margaret Kartomi Gallery of Musical Instruments and Artefacts on the ground floor of the Performing Arts Centre is the public face of the Music Archive.

The Japanese Music Archive consists of over 500 music scores, sound recordings, books, videos, laser discs and instruments. It is located in closed access in the Music and Multimedia Collection and the Asian Studies Research Library in the Matheson Library. A published index is available and all music scores and books can be found in the Library "Search".

Almost 300 archives of musicians are partly or exclusively held by the
Music Department of the Bavarian State Library. This website offers an alphabetical list of musicians including Hugo Distler, Karl Amadeus Hartmann, Michael Haydn, Adolf Jensen, Gustav Mahler,Carl Orff, Hans Pfitzner, Max Reger, Josef Rheinberger, Richard Strauss, Georg Joseph Vogler and Ermanno Wolf-Ferrari. There is concise information on the person and information about the accessibility of the archives.
Each entry contains information about the cataloguing status. Many entries refer to digitized material and data entries in the RISM-OPAC, or archive lists in PDF-format.

This project documents the bands, musicians and musical projects which emerged during the cultural creativity of the Women’s Liberation Movement of the 1970s and 80s when women’s music, film and theatre groups, visual art, literature, performance art, and street theatre proliferated. The collection includes testimonies and interviews, discographies, gigographies and memorabilia including photographs, videos, recordings, flyers, press clippings plus links to ongoing women’s music-making,

146 volumes from the Glen Collection have been digitised as part of a mass digitisation programme. More volumes will be digitised in the not too distant future. Current images with improved metadata will gradually become available in the NLS digital archive at http://digital.nls.uk.

The Society is dedicated to promoting the study, teaching, creation, and dissemination of music in the Americas. Records range from the founding of the society to 1999, when it changed its name to the Society for American Music. Materials include correspondence, minutes, reports, memorandums, conference materials, bylaws, handbooks, committee records, publicity and promotional materials, financial papers, materials related to its publications American Music and Sonneck Society Bulletin, photographs and realia.

46,600 selected recordings of music, spoken word, and human and natural environments.

The Hoagy Carmichael Collection represents the largest holding of materials pertaining to Hoagy Carmichael available anywhere in the world. This digital collection is provided, for non-commercial, personal, or research use only. Any other use, including but not limited to commercial or scholarly reproductions, redistribution, publication or transmission, whether by electronic means or otherwise, without prior written permission of the copyright holder is strictly prohibited.

The Belfer Cylinders Digital Connection, Syracuse Univiversity provides online access to digital audio files of cylinders in the Belfer Audio Laboratory and Archive which includes over 22,000 cylinders, 12,000 of which are unique titles. The digital recordings, provided in both MP3 and WAV file format, can be searched or browsed by genre/subject.

The University of California Santa Barbara Libraries have created a digital collection of over 8,000 cylinder recordings held by the Department of Special Collections. In an effort to bring these recordings to a wider audience, they can be freely downloaded or streamed online.

The largest and most comprehensive collection of recorded music relating to the British horn player Dennis Brain (1921-1957. It contains commercial and unpublished orchestral and solo recordings, featuring Brain, on audiocassette, compact disc, 33rpm long play and 78rpm records, VHS video cassette, and DVD. Also included are research notes, sheet music, photographs, and books pertaining to Dennis Brain from the late 1930’s until his untimely death in 1957,