Subject guides: Music: Databases and indexes

Databases

Databases on this page relate to music and are also listed on the Library's A-Z Databases.
Use databases to find journal articles, including peer-reviewed scholarly sources. Use Sound databases to listen to streamed music.

Not all databases will contain the full text of articles. You need to check the library Search to see if the library holds the particular journal you require.

Databases which are essential indexes to articles published in music journals

Music periodicals database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals plus full text for over 100 of the indexed journals. The journal articles cover all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
RILM abstracts of music literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of citations, abstracts and subject indexing of core music journals from the early 1800s through to the present. Also included are music-related articles published in conference proceedings, articles in Festschriften celebrating music scholars, and articles in anniversary volumes published in honour of musicians, composers and institutions. RILM is updated every month.

Proquest and RILM Abstracts are more than indexes to journal literature. These databases offer access to full text articles and ebooks.
Watch a video on the many features of RILM Abstracts here.

Further databases for locating music sources

Bloomsbury music and sound. Bloomsbury popular music This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury music and sound provides scholarly coverage of modern popular music worldwide, covering the mid-20th century to the present day. From books on soundtracks and music for video games, there is also the Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World, and over 200 scholarly books in the 33 1/3 and Global 33 1/3 series.
British periodicals (1681-1939) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Helpful for historical topics related to literature, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture. Access to ProQuest's edition of the Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals enables you to search for instances of a word or phrase in a given author's contributions to newspapers and journals, even where these originally appeared unsigned or over a pseudonym.
EBSCOhost research databases This link opens in a new window
Since Ebscohost Includes the key music databases RILM (Repertory of International Music Literature), Music Index and RIPM (Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals), searching across all 50 databases on Ebscohost is good for interdisciplinary topics where music is related to other fields such as art, literature, film, history and many more.
Ethnomusicology : global field recordings This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find audio recordings, videos, field notebooks, slides, correspondence, interviews, ephemera and photographs of instruments and journals which document musical traditions from societies and cultures all over the world. lobe. Recordings include religious music, secular music, celebrations and funerals. It enables interdisciplinary study whether the focus is on music, anthropology, dance, religion or spirituality.
Google scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar uses the familiar Google search engine to search peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. It aims to rank documents the way researchers do, weighing the full text of each document, where it was published, who it was written by, as well as how often and how recently it has been cited in other scholarly literature.
International index to performing arts full text This link opens in a new window
In addition to Proquest's "Music Periodicals Database" this search interface covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theatre, stagecraft, musical theatre, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a comprehensive library of important scholarly literature including thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources from a wide range of academic publishers and university presses. It has excellent coverage for music and interdisciplinary research.
Listener historical archive, 1929-1991 This link opens in a new window
Archival access to the complete 62 year run of The Listener, the BBC periodical published 1929-1991. Contributors included musicologist and broadcaster, Hans Keller, and writers E. Bates, E. M. Forster, T. S. Eliot, Julian Huxley, George Orwell, Bertrand Russell, George Bernard Shaw, Virginia Woolf, Christopher Isherwood, G. K. Chesterton and in more recent years, Stephen Fry. The archive records the intellectual and cultural history of the twentieth century during the "golden years of radio and television".
Music index (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Music Index contains indexing and abstracts, since 1970, for articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for nearly 500 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage from other periodicals. It includes more pedagogical sources than the other indexes and claims to include 22 languages from 40 countries.
Music periodicals database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals plus full text for over 100 of the indexed journals. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874. There is coverage of the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
Musical periodicals, 1781-1879 (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A collection of American music journals which show music in a larger cultural context, as music was also an important leisure activity for families and communities. Representative titles include the Family Minstrel, the Musical Journal, Trumpet Notes, Aeolian Piano Forte Journal, the Musical Miscellany, the Vox Humana, and the New Yorker Musik Zeitung. Useful for contemporary accounts of music by late 18th and early 19th century composers.
Nineteenth century collections online. British theatre, music and literature : high and popular culture This link opens in a new window
A wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the long nineteenth century, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. These rare documents, many of them never before available, are sourced from the British Library and other institutions. There are also personal letters, annotated programs, meeting minutes and financial records.
Oxford bibliographies. Music This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed annotated bibliographies with a global viewpoint, offering literature on an extensive range of music research. Subjects include Baroque music, Jazz, Medieval music, Romanticism as well as Rap/Hip Hop, Salsa, Sonata, Symphony and Video Game Music.
Oxford music online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online shows the way scholars in the discipline articulate information and the vocabulary they use. Authoritative articles on composers, countries and genres of music e.g. gospel music, hip hop, are accompanied by bibliographies with further sources. For composers there are authoritative lists of "Works" and "Writings." It is also a useful tool for definitions as all searching is across The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music in addition to Grove Music Online. New articles and updated articles are published each month.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
The Music Periodicals Database is only one of 30 plus Proquest databases and searching across all the databases on the “Proquest“ platform is especially useful for interdisciplinary research. It includes many reviews and more popular sources than some other indexes. It has an advanced search engine with useful tools for filtering searches quickly. It has little coverage of foreign language titles.
RILM abstracts of music literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts from 1967-present with links to full text when available. RILM is one of the most scholarly indexes, steering clear of reviews (unless extremely substantial), and indexing an array of writings: journals, festschriften, theses, dissertations, facsimiles and books. It has the most comprehensive coverage of foreign language sources, claiming to include citations of 215 languages.
RIPM : retrospective index to music periodicals (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
RIPM specifically covers the 19th century and first half of the 20th century. Therefore the indexing for the 19th century is more extensive than most other databases. It does not, include abstracts, but has the occasional editor’s annotations.
RIPM jazz periodicals This link opens in a new window
RIPM Jazz Journals is a primary source reference, a unique collection of American Jazz Journals published 1918-2006. Although many articles are brief there are some longer 'interviews' in Cadence (1976-2000). Contributions that announced and reviewed contemporary performances may help researchers to reconstruct the career paths of musicians and also the writers. It offers jazz researchers a collection of historical material, which, until now, has been unavailable electronically. Writers include Hentoff, Morgenstern, Feather, Ulanov, Eugene Williams, Martin Williams, Ralph Gleason, Bob Thiele and Bob Rusch. More details are available at: ripmjazz.org/
Rock's backpages : the ultimate library of rock music writing and journalism This link opens in a new window
Rock's Backpages is an online archive of popular music journalism, sourced from contributions to the music and mainstream press from the 1950s to the present day. It contains legendary interviews, classic features, and ground-breaking reviews by rock writers. The articles are full text and can be searched by artist, writer, date, genre and keyword, allowing search by album or single title, date etc. There are also audio interviews and podcasts.
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstracting and indexing citation database of peer-reviewed scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and arts and humanities literature. It includes journal and book titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources, providing links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription. It also has smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.

Australian resources

Music Australia
Music, Audio and Video from Trove. From this page you can sort your results by format, place, date and conditions of access. You can also filter by language including Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages.
Australian Music Centre
Provides works by Australian composers and also recent writing about Australian music. The Australian Music Centre (AMC) is the national service organisation dedicated to the promotion and support of art music in Australia.

Trove This link opens in a new window
Provides integrated access to over 45 million items from a range of the National Library's collaborative services including The Australian National Bibliographic Database - containing location information from more than 1,200 Australian libraries, The Picture Australia program, The Australian Research Online program, The Music Australia program, The Register of Australian Archives and Manuscripts, and The People Australia program, and some overseas sources.
Informit search This link opens in a new window
Provides access to specialised databases across a wide range of subjects, including Australasian political, economic, legal, social, aboriginal, health, family, technical and cultural studies. ... Content sources include authoritative publishers and peak research institutes from across Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific.

Libraries Australia
Call Number: Online
A search interface that allows you to search across all Australian Libraries and simultaneously across OCLC World Catalogue

Australian newspapers : historic Australian newspapers 1803-1955 This link opens in a new window Allows online access to historic Australian newspapers digitised as part of TROVE's Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program (ANDP), an ongoing project. The site contains digitised newspaper pages for selected years between 1803 and 1955 and coverage is expanding weekly.

Sound recordings (streamed audio)

Music online. American music This link opens in a new window Music Online: American Music is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.
Music online. Classical music library This link opens in a new window Classical Music Library (CML) is a comprehensive online database of classical music recordings. CML features performers from more than 32 major and independent labels, including BMG and EMI Classics. Classical Music Library provides musical sound recordings, program notes, reference texts (composer biographies, history, and glossary), and images. The music includes vocal and instrumental works from the Middle Ages through to the present. Users navigate through browse lists, a search engine and music track playlists.
Music online. Contemporary world music This link opens in a new window Music Online: Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
Naxos music library This link opens in a new window Naxos Music Library comprises a vast collection of classical music available in streaming audio format. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from hundreds of other record labels, including EMI, Warner Classics and Sony Classical. Along with classical music, jazz, world, and pop/rock are also represented, with over 600 new titles are added each month. Additional resources include music notes, cover artwork, track listings, instrumentation and publisher information, libretti and opera synopses, composer and artist biographies, pronunciation guide for composer and artist names, glossary, guide to musical terms and work analyses.

Freely available Sound Archives (selection) :

British Library Sounds British Library Sounds presents 50,000 recordings and their associated documentation from the Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
The Great 78 Project From about 1898 to the 1950s, an estimated 3 million sides (~3 minute recordings) have been made on 78rpm discs. While the commercially viable recordings will have been restored or remastered onto LP’s or CD, there is still research value in the artifacts and usage evidence in the often rare 78rpm discs and recordings.
National Jukebox Historical Recordings from the Library of Congress

Sources for all regions from every continent

The following databases offer sources which you can search using keywords : hip-hop and gansgsta, reggae and Jamaica or samba and Brazil. There will also be sources relevant to the Expo on the Eurovision Song Contest and the pop music of East Asia, India, Iran, South Africa and West Africa.

Bloomsbury Popular Music is a database containing in-depth analysis of popular music in a global context. You can search with keywords to find sources for the essay topics and the Expo.

Contemporary World Music contains streamed sound tracks and online liner notes which offer different perspectives on your topics. You can search by Place or Genre and browse by performer or ensemble.

Smithsonian World Music is a a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings. There are over 35,000 individual tracks of music and online liner notes which you can browse or search using controlled vocabularies or keywords to find musical instruments, geographic areas, cultural groups and genres.

Newspapers

Digital replicas (including images, graphs and the full content) of the following 3 newspapers:
Australian Financial Review (last 3 years)
The Age (last 6 months)
The Sydney Morning Herald (last 6 months)

Factiva This link opens in a new window Factiva provides full text access to Australian newspapers, and newspapers and news wires from around the world. Besides newspapers, the database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources from 200 countries – including continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia. Factiva also includes brief company and industry profiles, financial information for listed companies worldwide, and global coverage of financial market data.
Newsbank newspapers : Australia and the world. This link opens in a new window See: Access world news : research collection
ProQuest historical newspapers. New York Times (1851-2017) This link opens in a new window Includes full page images and article images from the New York Daily Times (1851 to 1857) and the New York Times from its first issue in 1857 to 2014. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
ProQuest historical newspapers. The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003) This link opens in a new window The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage includes all titles of these newspapers. Observer (London, England) (1791- ) and The Manchester guardian and British volunteer (1925-1828), Manchester guardian (Manchester, England : 1828) (1828-1959), Guardian (Manchester, England) (1959- ).
ProQuest historical newspapers. The Washington Post (1877-2004) This link opens in a new window The Washington Post (1877-2004) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Individual issues can be selected or the complete range can be searched by subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly, not only top news stories but also detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed.
ProQuest historical newspapers. Times of India (1838-2010) This link opens in a new window The Times of India (1838-2010) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue for the following titles: The Bombay times and journal of commerce (1839-1859), The Bombay times and standard (1860-1861), and The times of India (1861-current).
Times digital archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. The Times has offered readers in-depth, award-winning, objective coverage of world events since its creation in 1785 and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication. With over 12 million articles available, the archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest.
Burney newspapers collection This link opens in a new window This database features the newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817). It is a comprehensive collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London; however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
Sunday times digital archive, 1822-2016 This link opens in a new window The nineteenth-century run of the Sunday Times remains fairly inaccessible outside of this collection, and its content had been relatively unknown. Now this rich, historical social and cultural content is made available to researchers via this archive. The twentieth-century run of this weekly newspaper is powerful in its hard-hitting investigative journalism and thoughtful analysis, with in-depth information and widely researched, long-term news stories. It is an important resource for all humanities and social sciences courses.
Gale NewsVault (via Gale primary sources) This link opens in a new window
The Gale NewsVault includes the Times Digital Archive, the Sunday Times Digital Archive and many other British Newspapers from the 18th Century.

Online scores

Classical scores library This link opens in a new window
Australian jazz real book This link opens in a new window

Music Australia Printed Music, freely available from the Music, Audio and Video pages via Trove: trove.nla.gov.au
Hathi Trust Digital Library HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, based in the United States, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized, including music scores in the public domain, from libraries around the world.
IMSLP Petrucci Library IMSLP, also known as the International Music Score Library Project or Petrucci Music Library, was started in 2006. The logo on the main page is a capital letter A. It was taken from the beginning of the very first printed book of music, the Harmonice Musices Odhecaton. It was published in Venice in 1501 by Ottaviano Petrucci, the library's namesake
Digital Scores and Librett form the Loeb Library, Harvard University "This digital collection includes manuscripts, first editions, and early editions of music from the 17th to the early 20th century. Many items, such as variant editions and annotated proofs of 19th-century operas and related libretti, are meant to be seen and used together. As a group, they give scholars a window into the study of historical performance practice."
Boosey, Hawkes Online Scores To view works from the Boosey & Hawkes catalogue in digital format please login or fill out the B & H quick and free registration to view scores now.
Sikorski persusals Here you will find a selection of scores on perusal and piano reductions which are available as PDF files.
MusOpen A non-profit organization that provides recordings, sheet music, and textbooks to the public for free, without copyright restrictions

For contemporary scores:

Contemporary Music Score Collection, UCLA Music Library Published by the UCLA Music Library, the Contemporary Music Score Collection includes the digital, open access scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series, the first open access edition of new music published by a library, and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores, an open access collaboration with the UCLA Music Library.

Comparison of Music Databases

Comparison of Music Databases

Use Ulrichsweb to check whether your source is academic and scholarly

Ulrichsweb : global serials directory. This link opens in a new window

This database allows users to check whether their source is from a peer reviewed journal. An authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information from periodicals of all types - academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers ands newsletters.

Streamed Video

Digital Concert Hall
Watch concerts, master classes and interviews.
First time users, register first on campus at URL https://www.digitalconcerthall.com/en/register

Medici TV
Concerts, master classes, documentaries and interviews from the 1950s to 2018:

Four pianists on one piano
More streamed video below.

Jazz streamed audiovisual

Australian jazz real book This link opens in a new window A definitive collection of 400 sheets of Australian jazz tunes from Australian composers.
Naxos music library. Jazz This link opens in a new window Naxos Music Library Jazz, offers many thousands of tracks of jazz in streaming audio format. Over 12,000 jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises the catalogues of Blue Notes Records, Fantasy Jazz and hundreds of other labels. US-based Fantasy has the world's deepest jazz catalogue and offers the very best in blues and R&B. Blue Note offers albums featuring the legendary artist John Coltrane and iconic artists such as Herbie Hancock, Dexter Gordon, Lee Morgan, Wayne Shorter and many others.
Music online. Jazz music library This link opens in a new window Jazz Music Library is a collection of jazz recordings which cover thousands of artists, ensembles, albums, and genres, from all over the world, from the beginnings of jazz to today. It's a useful resource for the study and teaching of jazz history, performance, theory, or appreciation.
Naxos video library This link opens in a new window An extensive streaming video library of music including jazz, opera, ballet with concerts, documentaries from Opus Arte, Arthaus, EuroArts, Dacapo and Naxos.

Primary sources

RISM (Répertoire International des Sources Musicales)
Comprehensive documentation for music manuscripts and printed music between 1600 and 1800.

RISM [Series A/II, Music manuscripts after 1600] This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive documentation available for music manuscripts and printed music for the time between 1600 and 1800. It contains more than 650,000 manuscript records by over 22,500 composers found in over 800 libraries and archives worldwide. It is is published by the Répertoire International des Sources Musicale - RISM (International Inventory of Musical Sources), an international, non-profit joint venture, which aims to comprehensively document the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory, and libretti stored in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections.
TVTimes project 1955-1985 (TVTiP) This link opens in a new window
Online access to the listings of the London edition of the TVTimes - the television listings magazine for the regional independent television companies that made up ITV from September 1955 to March 1985. It provides search options for programmes, production staff, and performers, and contains approximately 250,000 records.

Databases for Music Theses

Doctoral dissertations in musicology-online : DDM-online. This link opens in a new window DDM Online is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.

Dissertationsmeldestelle der Gesellschaft für Musikforschung Musicological and pedagogical theses registered from institutions in Austria, Germany, and Switzerland.

Special databases

Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI) via Web of Science This link opens in a new window Arts & Humanities Citation Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1800+ of the world's leading arts and humanities journals across 28 arts & humanities disciplines. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from major science and social science journals. Coverage is from 1975 to the present.
LinkedIn learning This link opens in a new window LinkedIn Learning is an online educational platform of expert-led, online streaming video tutorials in fields such as software, creative, and business skills. Beginner basics to advanced techniques are offered, while the subject focus is on business and information technology skills, and software applications. New content is regularly added, and 1,000s of videos are available.
OAIster This link opens in a new window Indexed content includes the Library of Congress' American Memory Project, various pre-print and e-print servers, and digital thesis and dissertation collections. OAIster currently provides access to over 18 million records harvested from 1034 contributors.

Theses

For more information:

EThOS : Electronic Theses Online System This link opens in a new window EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses. There are approximately 500,000 records relating to theses awarded by over 120 institutions. Around 260,000 of these also provide access to the full text thesis, either via download from the EThOS database or via links to the institution’s own repository. Of the remaining 220,000 records dating back to at least 1800, three quarters are available to be ordered for scanning through the EThOS digitisation-on-demand facility.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is a comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses from around the world. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.
Trove This link opens in a new window Includes theses awarded overseas but held by Australian institutions, as well as doctoral, masters and some honours theses from all Australian and New Zealand universities and others higher degree institutions. To search for theses use the Advanced search and either include "thesis" as a keyword or limit your result to format = thesis.

Film music

Film index international (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Film Index International is a major online resource focusing on entertainment films and personalities. Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute (bfi) it is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the bfi over the past 70 years. It provides in-depth indexing of 1000s of films - from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters - and also related biographical information. International film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists are also included.
FIAF : international index to film periodicals database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Database is a bibliographical index covering the foremost academic and popular film journals up to the present day. Some of these journals are available in full text. FIAF includes the following databases: International index to film periodicals (1972- ); International index to television periodicals (1979-1998); Treasures from the film archives; International directory of film and TV documentation collections; Bibliography of FIAF affiliates' publications; and the full text of five key reference works.
Filmakers library online This link opens in a new window This collection from Alexander Street Press includes issues-based documentaries of interest across the curriculum. Topical coverage is contemporary and relevant - race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
Film industry data This link opens in a new window Film Industry Data is an innovative way to analyse the film industry. This unique online tool provides access to vital data previously unavailable to students and researchers. It allows users to discover new insights and unlock a deeper understanding of film as a reflection of culture and society. With Film Industry Data, it is possible to assess changes in popular taste, box office performance and trends in genre, as well as, crucially, factors governing studio decisions and policy.
Film & television literature index with full text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window This is a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (120 in full text) and 100 books. Also contains movie reviews from 1914 to the present and 1000s of images from the MPTV Image Archive.

Streamed world music on CD

Music online. Contemporary world music This link opens in a new window Music Online: Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
Music online. Smithsonian global sound for libraries This link opens in a new window This database includes the published recordings owned by the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label, and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music, as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE). It constitutes a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.
Music online. Garland encyclopedia of world music This link opens in a new window The Garland encyclopedia of world music online is a comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Each volume contains an overview of a geographic region, a survey of its musical heritage, and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instruments, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. It contains the entire set of 10 print volumes (over 9,200 pages) as well as complete indexing for genre, subject, instrument, place, person, ensemble, and cultural group, as well as links to the associated audio examples for each volume.

Music: Databases and indexes