Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music Theory Through Improvisation by Contains Improvisation across boundaries -- Music fundamentals -- Modality and rhythm I -- Modality and rhythm II -- Basic tonal materials -- Harmonic functions -- Swing -- Melodic line construction and harmonization -- Chord inversion present and past -- Non-diatonic harmony I -- Non-diatonic harmony II -- Figured bass realization at the keyboard -- Extended chords -- Altered extensions -- Diverse approaches to analysis -- Further creative horizons in jazz improvisation and composition.
Call Number: ebook and print at 781 S243M 2010
Popular Singing and Style
Call Number: 2nd edition ebook and 1st edition at 782.4216414 S718P 2006
Publication Date: 2014
Tips using Google Books Advanced
Notes for using Google Books Advanced before searching Monash University Library
Bibliography example from New Grove Online
Typical selections from Bibliography for Improvisation in New Grove Online.
The following examples are accessible for Monash University users.
The Library will not hold every book and journal article cited in New Grove Online articles.
Call Numbers for Jazz performance
Call numbers for jazz performance to assist browsing
780.92 Biographies include Jazz musicians
781.65 General Jazz histories
781.6509 Jazz history and criticism
781.65094 Jazz by country
781.650973 - 781.6509794 Jazz in USA
781.650994 - Australian Jazz
781.65117 Multiple Jazz topics
785.42 Jazz groups/ensembles (another sequence of books from general history to particular topics)
SF781.371655 Arranging jazz
S781.65 Fake books
S781.65136 Jazz instruction and study
S786.2165193 Piano jazz methods (Oscar Peterson, Steve Sedergreen, Fats Waller etc.)
In addition to the general introductions below Matthew Butterfield's article "Jazz" from Oxford Bibliographies gives a good overview of reference works, books, discographies and journals.
Improvisation - Process
Experiencing 'Flow' in Jazz Performance by Elina Hytönen draws on eighteen interviews conducted with professional jazz musicians from around the world and examines the fundamentals of the phenomenon of flow in jazz that has led to this genre's popularity. She also draws on how flow experiences are viewed and constructed by jazz musicians, "the meanings they attach to it, and the quality of music that it inspires."
Call Number: 781.6511 H999E 2013
Jazzology by Contains instrumental and theoretical exercises, analyses of compositions, and explanations of various topics pertaining to jazz theory, composition, and performance.
Includes bibliographical references (p. 257-263).
Call Number: SF781.6507 R259E
Pentatonic Scales for Jazz by This books explains the theory behind the use of pentatonic scales in jazz, and follows with 12 pages of transcribed solos and 40 pages of exercises.
Call Number: SF781.65136 R539P
The jazz theory workbook : basic harmonic skills and theory The book is intended to prepare the student for the serious study of jazz improvisation, arrangement and composition. The focus is on the harmonic language of jazz, especially the harmonic practices which coalesced in the Bebop and post Bop periods of the 1940's and 1950's when Bebop and standard tunes formed the core of the mainstream repertoire.
Call Number: S781.6514 B687J
Creative Jazz Improvisation by Includes chapters on The Art of Improvisation,
Practicing Jazz, Constructing Solos, Playing with Other Musicians, Creative Improvisation, Performance Anxiety, and Teaching Jazz.
Call Number: 781.65136 R332C 2007
Jazz improvisation a personal approach with Joe Lovarno Lovarno shows you how to: interpret the melodic, rhythmic and harmonic essence of a tune; create your own improvisational ideas; make the most of your solo practice time; interact with duets, trios and quartets.
Call Number: 781.65136 J42 2003
Online Jazz Resources
Australian jazz real book The Australian Jazz Real Book is a collection of the best Australian jazz tunes. Features over 400 sheets of Australian jazz tunes from Australian composers, artist biographies and some streaming audio clips. Digitally curated by Tim Nikolsky. The 450+ tunes which are included are categorised into 17 styles, with the number in each category shown in brackets: Swing (154), Straight (119), Ballad (48), Latin (43), Traditional (19), Funk (19) Rubato (10) Blues (10) Fusion (9) Bossa Nova (7) Shuffle (5) Rock (4) Afro-Cuban (3), Bebop (3), Country (2), Free (1) and Choro (1). The lead sheets contain the melody in regular musical notation, chords and, where they exist, lyrics. There are also some more involved transcriptions where appropriate, and a few full score reductions where each instrumental part is important, and harmony parts and voicings are included.
Oxford music online Oxford Music Online (OMO) is the access-point for Oxford music reference subscriptions and products, including Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. With OMO patrons can cross-search Grove and Oxford reference content in one location.
Naxos music library. Jazz Naxos Music Library Jazz, offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 6,000 albums. Over 12,000 jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises the catalogues of Blue Notes Records, 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz and over 150 other labels. US-based Fantasy has the world's deepest jazz catalogue and offers the very best in blues and R&B.
Blue Note offers albums featuring the legendary artist John Coltrane and iconic artists such as Herbie Hancock, Dexter Gordon, Lee Morgan, Wayne Shorter and many others.
Music online. Jazz music library Jazz Music Library is a collection of jazz recordings which covers thousands of artists, ensembles, albums, and genres, from all over the world, from the beginnings of jazz to today. It's an essential resource for the study and teaching of jazz history, performance, theory, or appreciation.
Streamed video and sound
medici.tv medici.tv is a collection of 1500+ classical music videos: concerts, operas, ballets, archives, documentaries, artist profiles and educational programmes, among others... Each year, several hundred new programmes are added ... films about the current music scene, archives from the 1950s, etc.
Alexander Street Press This portal provides access to many of Monash University library's Alexander Street Press collections on a single cross-searchable platform. Video, audio, and text covering a wide variety of subject matters are included. In addition to contemporary sources, this database contains significant amounts of primary sources. Users can also select to search a single collection by using the dropdown menu at the top of the homepage. Additional tools let users make custom clips, create playlists, see synchronized scrolling transcripts, share clips and playlists, view and copy clips and playlists already created, see a visual table of contents of the video for easy navigation, and other tools.
Berliner Philharmoniker digital concert hall While on campus, click the Sign Up option. Fill out your details to register, then Log in. You can now access this resource on or off campus.
The Digital Concert Hall is the virtual concert venue of the Berliner Philharmoniker on the Internet. Here you can experience the orchestra performing live at the Philharmonie in Berlin in more than 30 broadcasts every year. Database includes live streams, concerts, movies and interviews.
Requests for Transcriptions, Methods, Repertoire etc.
Further Jazz Performance Resources