Architecture: Housing research

Introductory guide to print and electronic resources for Architecture and Interior Architecture students.

Finding journal articles

You can use Search to find journal articles on a topic or about an architect. However for a more comprehensive search, use an Architecture database:

Avery index to architectural periodicals - is the key database for architecture - indexing more than 1,000 journals published worldwide in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture, interior design, urban planning and historic preservation.

Databases for Architecture - a list of all architecture databases available from Monash University Library.

Some databases will provide the full text of articles, others will provide only the abstract or summary.

Other useful databases
Australian Public affairs - indexes Australian publications such as:
Architecture Australia
Australasian journal on ageing
Australian economic review
Australian journal of social issues
Australian planner
Australian social policy
Journal of population research
Just policy: a journal of Australian social policy
eople and place

Taylor and Francis Online - provides full text of the following journals:
Building research and information
Housing studies
Housing theory and society
Journal of cultural geography
Journal of urban design

IngentaConnect - provides full text of the following journals
Design studies
Energy and buildings

SAGE journals online
Environment and behavior
Urban studies

Habitat international


Wiley Online Library
Architectural design
City and community
International journal of urban and regional research
Journal of interior design

Advances in building energy research
Intelligent buildings international

Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link:

Expanded Academic
Architectural science review

PION Journals
Environment and planning A
Environment and planning B: planning and design
Environment and planning D: society and space

Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
Journal of architectural and planning research
Places (Ceased with vol. 21, no1 Spring 2009)

Websites - Australian