Technological evolutions have changed the field of architecture exponentially, leading to more stable and energy-efficient building structures. Architects and engineers must be prepared to further enhance their knowledge in the field in order to effectively meet new and advancing standards. Architecture and Design: Breakthroughs in Research and Practice is an authoritative resource for the latest research on the application of new technologies and digital tools that revolutionize the work of architects globally, aiding in architectural design, planning, implementation, and restoration.
Research in and on architecture is as complex as the discipline itself with its different specialist fields, and therefore the results often remain unconnected. Research Culture in Architecture combines digital and analog research issues and demonstrates how important cross-disciplinary cooperation in architecture is today. The complexity and increasing specialization are elaborated on in the various chapters and then linked to the core of architecture, i.e. design. Scientists from the theoretical and practical fields present research results in the following subjects: "design methodology", "architectural space, perception, and the human body", "analog and digital timber construction", "visualization", "robotics", "architectural practice and research", and "sustainability".
Defining a research question, describing why it needs to be answered and explaining how methods are selected and applied are challenging tasks for anyone embarking on academic research within the field of landscape architecture. Whether you are an early career researcher or a senior academic, it is essential to draw meaningful conclusions and robust answers to research questions.
Built environment students are not always familiar with the range of different research approaches they could be using for their projects. Whether you are undertaking a postgraduate doctoral programme or facing an undergraduate or masters dissertation, this book provides general advice, as well as 13 detailed case studies from 16 universities in 7 countries, to help you get to grips with quantitative and qualitative methods, mixed methods of data collection, action research, and more.
Publication Date: 2008 - New edition coming soon to the Caulfield Library
Research Methods for Construction will help you instil rigour into your problem-solving, and into your reports and publications. It will be of value to construction, surveying, architecture and civil engineering students undertaking research, whether for bachelors and masters degree dissertations, or for masters and doctoral research degree theses.
Participatory design is about the direct involvement of people in the co-design of the technologies they use. Its central concern is how collaborative design processes can be driven by the participation of the people affected by the technology designed. Embracing a diverse collection of principles and practices aimed at making technologies, tools, environments, businesses, and social institutions more responsive to human needs, the International Handbook of Participatory Design is a state-of-the-art reference handbook for the subject. The Handbook brings together a multidisciplinary and international group of highly recognized and experienced experts to present an authoritative overview of the field and its history and discuss contributions and challenges of the pivotal issues in participatory design, including heritage, ethics, ethnography, methods, tools and techniques and community involvement. The book also highlights three large-scale case studies.
This textbook provides a systematic guide on how to apply secondary research methods in the built environment, including their various underpinning methodologies. It provides guidance on the secondary research process, benefits, and drawbacks of applying secondary research methods, how to source for secondary data, ethical considerations, and the various secondary research methods that can be applied in built environment research. The book incorporates chapters dealing with qualitative secondary analysis, systematic literature reviews, legal analysis, bibliometric and scientometric analysis, literature-based discovery, and meta-analysis.
Finding 'Cited By' information
It can be especially useful to search for articles that are citing and referring back to a particular resource you are using.
To find 'Cited By' information (ie. which articles have cited a specific article) use the following:
Click on the 'Cited Reference' Search box on the main search screen. Enter the details to search for the reference.
Hint: Use an asterisk for the author's first name, to include all spelling variations e.g. Peterson S*
After locating a journal article on Monash Library Search, open the record and scroll to the 'Citations' section. Click on the links to view other articles (available at Monash) that cited this article, as well as other articles cited within this article.
You can borrow from other Victorian University libraries after first requesting a CAVAL card from the Monash University Library Information Point. Take the CAVAL card with your Monash ID card to the required library in order to register. The program is free.