Architecture

Bruce Rickard was one of the most significant Australian architects of the twentieth century. A key member of the Sydney School, his practice spanned 60 years, and he produced some of the most notable and recognisable houses of the period. In Bruce Rickard, architects, writers, academics, and family members, including Karen McCartney and Anna Fienberg (who have both lived in Rickard houses), Babette Hayes, Philip Drew and Richard Goodwin, share their unique insights into Rickard's practice.

Chronicles the work of the distinguished Australian architect, born in Vienna in 1923. Gives a critical overview of Seidler's architectural development and includes a theoretical statement from him entitled TPlanning and Architecture at the End of Our Century'. Lavishly illustrated with rough sketches, architectural drawings and colour and black-and-white photographs.

Updated with expanded coverage of twenty-first century architecture, this new edition uniquely comprises a detailed survey of Western architecture as well as architecture from the Middle East, Africa, Central and South America, India, Russia, China and Japan. Significant revision also includes photographs and textual discussion of around 50 new buildings. Written in a clear and engaging style, the text encourages readers to examine the pragmatic, innovative and aesthetic attributes of buildings.

How much do you know about Greek architecture? Roman? Gothic? The Renaissance? Modernism? Perhaps more importantly, do you know how these are connected or how one style evolved to become another? Or what happened historically during each of these periods? Architectural History Retold is your roadmap for your journey through architectural history. Offering a fresh take on what the author calls the 'Great Enlightenment project', it traces the grand narrative of western architecture in one concise, accessible volume.

In 1840 Sir Thomas Mitchell, Surveyor General of the British Crown, chose a rocky promontory on Sydney harbour for his home. He built a cottage in the style of Gothic Revival, popularised in England by Augustus Welby Northmore Pugin and documented in popular copy books shipped with his baggage from his home country. The house perfectly expresses the imaginative dislocation of European culture into the romantic wilderness.

The latest in this successful series, this book features around 150 of the most important buildings in the history of world architecture--from the pyramids and the Parthenon to some of the most significant works by recent architects.

Our groundbreaking surveyEarth Architecture is now available in a paperback edition. Author Ronald Rael, founder of EarthArchitecture.org provides a history of building with earth in the modern era, focusing particularly on projects constructed in the last few decades that use rammed earth, mud brick, compressed earth, cob, and several other interesting techniques.Earth Architecture presents a selection of more than forty projects that exemplify new, creative uses of the oldest building material on the planet.

This books contains case studies and academic essays by 90 leading Australian architects and academics on the use of brick and block in contemporary design in Australia.

Many of the world's greatest buildings are made of wood, yet it is undervalued or ignored in histories of architecture. However, leading designers around the world are increasingly drawn to it to satisfy social and environmental needs.Will Pryce is an award-winning photographer who trained as an architect and photojournalist. Intensely dramatic but not overdramatized, technically flawless but not merely documentary, his internationally acclaimed photographs convey all the excitement of encountering these amazing structures firsthand.He has traveled the world seeking the famous and the obscure.

Detail in Contemporary Concrete Architecture provides analysis of both the technical and the aesthetic importance of details in modern concrete architecture. Featuring the work of renowned architects from around the world, this book presents 49 of the most recently completed and influential concrete designs for both residential and commercial architecture.

Although the disciplines of architecture and structural engineering have both experienced their own historical development, their interaction has resulted in many fascinating and delightful structures. To take this interaction to a higher level, there is a need to stimulate the inventive and creative design of architectural structures and to persuade architects and structural engineers to further collaborate in this process, exploiting together new concepts, applications and challenges.

For the first time, a student can now find all the key plans in one place. Featuring more than 100 of the most significant and influential buildings of the twentieth century, this book includes both classic works by such seminal architects as Le Corbusier, Frank Lloyd Wright, Mies van der Rohe and Alvar Aalto, as well as those by more recent masters, such as Norman Foster. Frank Gehry and Rem Koolhaas. For each of the buildings included there are numerous, accurate scale plans showing each floor, together with elevations, sections and site plans where appropriate.

A collection of more than one hundred twenty-first-century buildings of particular interest for study by students and professionals.

The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture presents a comprehensive global survey of the most outstanding works of contemporary architecture from around the world to be completed in the last five years. Organized geographically and illustrated with global, regional and sub-regional maps locating each individual building, this monumental tome illustrates more than 1,000 completed buildings and includes some of the most influential projects worldwide as well as many lesser-known buildings.

This book offers new ways of investigating relationships between learning and the spaces in which it takes place. It suggests that we need to understand more about the distinctiveness of teaching and learning in post-compulsory education, and what it is that matters about the design of its spaces. Starting from contemporary educational and architectural theories, it suggests alternative conceptual frameworks and methods that can help map the social and spatial practices of education in universities and colleges; so as to enhance the architecture of post-compulsory education.

This open access book presents theoretical and practical research relating to the vast, publicly financed program for the construction of new schools and the reorganization of existing educational buildings in Italy. This transformative process aims to give old buildings a fresh identity, to ensure that facilities are compliant with the new educational and teaching models, and to improve both energy efficiency and structural safety with respect to seismic activity

How might the traditional concerns of architecture - site, space, form, function, materialities, tectonics - be reconfigured to express the complex and varied social identities of contemporary Indigenous peoples in colonised nations? This book, documents a range of Indigenous Cultural Centres across the globe and the processes that led to their development. It explores the possibilities for the social and political project of the Cultural Centre that architecture both inhibits and affords. This ambitious and provocative study pursues a new architecture for colonised Indigenous cultures that takes the politics of recognition to its heart.

Aboriginal design is of a distinctly cultural nature, based in the Dreaming and in ancient practices grounded in Country. Alison Page and Paul Memmott show how these design principles of sophisticated function, sustainability and storytelling, refined over many millennia, are now being applied to contemporary practices.

This Handbook provides the first comprehensive international overview of significant contemporary Indigenous architecture, practice, and discourse, showcasing established and emerging Indigenous authors and practitioners from Australia, Aotearoa New Zealand, the Pacific Islands, Canada, USA and other countries. It captures the breadth and depth of contemporary work in the field, establishes the historical and present context of the work, and highlights important future directions for research and practice.

How can the places you visit other than your workplace or your home--such as libraries, cultural centers, parks, caf s--make a valuable contribution to a vital society? How to Make a Relevant Public Space answers this question from a variety of angles.

Public Architecture: The Art Inside spans the 30 year history of Denver, Colorado-based Fentress Architects, an international design firm that passionately pursues the creation of sustainable and iconic public architecture. This monograph examines the creative working process, tracing artistic influences and references fashion, poetry, music, dance and related disciplines. Fentress is internationally known for an innovative, award-winning design portfolio of international airports, national museums, world-class convention centres, courthouses and government buildings, high-rise office and mixed use towers, laboratories, higher education facilities, and luxury multi-family residences.

Japanese residential building has fascinated whole generations of architects. Alongside the strict implementation of design concepts, the small conceptual houses are excellent examples for the demonstration of creative experimentation in terms of spatial configuration, materials and the ability to organise even the smallest of spaces. These houses are like miniature laboratories, clearly showing not only the creativity of Japanese architects but also the treatment of 'the ephemeral' and the various layered boundaries between private and public space.

This book presents the state of the art of two areas: intelligent residential buildings and the behaviour of their occupants. These areas need to be treated together in order to develop new concepts for buildings, which are more efficient, more comfortable and more healthy.  The concept of intelligent building is associated with the creation of a management system that takes into account the requirements of the occupants in terms of thermal comfort and their daily activities, maintaining good indoor air quality and minimizing energy consumption.

From the first stirrings of modernity in the early twentieth century to the present, the house has served as a test bed of design experimentation, the place where architects have sought to create new forms and to offer new domestic lifestyles. Alvar Aalto, Buckminster Fuller, Rudolph Schindler, Frank Lloyd Wright, Frank Gehry, Eileen Gray, Charles and Ray Eames, Charles Gwathmey, Carlo Scarpa, Herzog & de Meuron: most great architects of the past hundred years have begun or catalyzed their careers with an iconic house.The introduction looks at the historical and social motivations behind epoch-making residential architecture, showing in sidebars twenty of the most important early examples.

Books on green building theories, principles and strategies applicable to life cycles of all kinds of buildings and building types are already widely available. However, those specifically on greening affordable housing that guide various housing stakeholders at different life cycles are still very limited. This book intends to fill this gap. Integrating green building enables stakeholders to address the environmental component that has not traditionally been seen as an integral part of affordable housing development.

This third edition of Green Buildings Pay presents new evidence and new arguments concerning the institutional and business case that can be made for green design. The green argument has moved a long way forward since the previous edition, and this fully updated book addresses the key issues faced by architect, engineer and client today. Green Buildings Pay: Design, Productivity and Ecology examines, through a range of detailed case studies, how different approaches to green design can produce more sustainable patterns of development.

This book is a guide to a sustainable design process that moves from theory, to site and energy use, to building systems, and finally to evaluation and case studies, so you can integrate design and technology for effective sustainable building. Kuppaswamy Iyengar shows you how to get it right the first time, use free energy systems, and utilise technologies that minimize fossil fuel use. Each chapter has a sustainable design overview, technical details and strategies marked by clear sections, a summary, and further resources.