Using reference works
Reference works are a great place to start your research. They are not intended to be read from beginning to end, but rather to provide a quick overview about a subject or person. You can find useful background information, as well as references for further reading.
Just as you might have used Wikipedia, these encyclopedias and publications can help you understand an unfamiliar topic before delving into deeper research. They are preferable to using crowd-sourced encyclopedias, because they are definitive and authoritative - ensuring all content is high-quality, reliable and written by experts.
Note that students generally should not be citing encyclopedia articles, as they do not provide analysis or new perspectives, so check with your lecturer if you plan to do so.
Finding reference works
Some key reference works are listed below.
To locate more, go to the Library's Advanced Search:
- On the first drop-down menu, select 'Subject'.
- Type encyclopedia into the search box.
- In the second search box, type the topic/discipline you are searching for information on.
- Click the 'Search' icon.
Key reference works for Architecture
- Oxford art online This link opens in a new windowOxford Art Online is an innovative gateway that offers users access to authoritative and easily searchable online art resources. Through this single gateway, users can access and cross-search Oxford’s acclaimed, regularly updated art reference works: the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. In addition, users can search and access Oxford art reference titles including the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
The Encyclopedia of Australian Architecture by ISBN: 9780521888578Publication Date: 2011This magnificent book documents and analyses Australian architecture and architects from indigenous beginnings to colonial, modern and contemporary eras. With over 1000 entries from 200 contributors, and 500 photographs and drawings, The Encyclopedia of Australian Architecture provides an unparalleled compendium of architectural knowledge. It is essential reading for all who care about the built environment.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture (ebook) by Publication Date: 2007This deals with all aspects of classical art from Cycladic, Minoan and Etruscan art to the fall of the Roman Empire. It is a comprehensive reference source on this important area for students, researchers and the general public.
Rawlinsons Australian Construction Handbook (ebook)Publication Date: 2022Australia's largest library of construction cost information for medium and large scale projects.
