Codes, standards, statistics & specification tools
- Building Regulations AustraliaAn invaluable tool for professionals who need to understand and apply the Building Code of Australia (BCA), incorporates the full Code, State and Territory variations, and commentary.
- Worksafe VictoriaCodes of practice for health and safety.
- Westlaw Australia This link opens in a new windowPlatform for searching selective Australian cases, legislation and commentary.
- Techstreet: Australian, British and international standards This link opens in a new windowOffers a searchable database of technical standards and specifications, produced by Standards Australia, with full text views.
- Australian Bureau of StatisticsAustralia’s national statistical agency and an official source of independent, reliable data and information relating to Australian people, society and economy.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowDetailed analyses of selected Australian industries, covering major players, industry performance and outlook, market characteristics, industry participants and recent news articles.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowGlobal market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide. This online market research tool monitors industry trends and gives users strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for products across key countries.
- NATSPEC LibraryAn independent not-for-profit organisation which provides a continuing service to maintain the national building specification in its accuracy and currency.
- SpeedSpec Student EditionA master guide specification. It consists of: a document containing preliminary documents and trade sections all in a single file (in Word version ) and a user guide (Word).
Advice for practice
- Acumen : practice advice for architects. This link opens in a new windowAcumen aims to provide architects with the most relevant and up-to-date advisory material and news about managing an architectural practice and managing architectural projects. It is produced by the Australian Institute of Architects.
The Architect in Practice by Publication Date: 2010The Architect in Practice was first published in 1952. Originally written by a quantity surveyor and an architect it has remained, through its nine editions, a leading textbook used in the education of architects world-wide. Aims to provide the student of architecture and the young practitioner with a readable guide to the profession, outlining an architect's duties to client and contractor, the key aspects of running a building contract, and the essentials of management, finance and drawing office procedure.
The architecture student's handbook of professional practice by Publication Date: 2016Opens the door to the vast body of knowledge required to effectively manage architectural projects and practice. A professional architect is responsible for much more than design; this book is specifically designed to help prepare you for the business and administrative challenges of working in the real-world—whether you are a student or are just starting out in practice. It provides clear insight into the legal, financial, marketing, management, and administrative tasks and issues that are integral to keeping a firm running.
A selection of relevant Australian professional organisations is provided below. These member organisations represent Architecture and Built Environment professionals and provide information, resources and advocacy. Some also offer conferences, training, job boards and employment information.
A selection of relevant International professional organisations is provided below. These member organisations represent Architecture and Built Environment professionals and provide information, resources and advocacy. Some also offer conferences, training, job boards and employment information.
- EP Patents (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowIncludes US and European patents grants and applications covering a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines.
- Copyright at MonashInformation for Monash staff and students, as well as information on using Monash copyrighted materials, and reporting copyright infringement.
- IP AustraliaThe Australian Government agency that administers intellectual property (IP) rights and legislation for patents, trade marks, design rights and plant breeder's rights (PBR).
- ArchistarArchistar is a an Australian platform, providing a comprehensive set of architectural software tutorials – mostly focused on architectural software and practices – for staff and students to use. Self-enrol using a Monash email address.
- LinkedIn learning This link opens in a new windowLinkedIn Learning is an online educational platform of expert-led, online streaming video tutorials in fields such as software, creative, and business skills.