Architecture: Public space research

Introductory guide to print and electronic resources for Architecture and Interior Architecture students.

Finding books

Use these subject headings to Search the library
e.g. "architects and community"

architects and community

architects as artists

architectural design - social aspects

architecture - human factors

architecture - social aspects

architecture and society

architecture - modern - 21st century

art and society

artists and architects

citizen participation

city planning philosophy

city planning - social aspects

communication in architectural design

community development

community organization

environment design

environmental psychology

Frank Gehry

group work in architecture

human geography

installations art


open spaces

performance art

public architecture

public art

public sculpture

public spaces


architecture - social planning

space (architecture)

spatial behavior

urban landscape

urban renewal

visionary architecture

Finding journal articles

You can use Search to find journal articles on a topic or about an architect. However for a more comprehensive search, use an Architecture database:

Avery index to architectural periodicals  - is the key database for architecture - indexing more than 1,000 journals published worldwide in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture, interior design, urban planning and historic preservation.

ARTstor - Searchable database of more than 300,000 digital images and associated catalog data. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, and download images.

Databases for Architecture - a list of all databases relevant to Architecture available from Monash Library

Some databases will provide the full text of articles, others will provide only the abstract or summary.

Other useful databases

ARTbibliographies modern - modern and contemporary art

Australian Public affairs - indexes Australian publications

DAAI: Design and applied arts index - indexes design and craft magazines

Taylor and Francis online  - provides full text access to the following:
Journal of cultural geography
Journal of urban design
Landscape research

International planning studies
Journal of environmental planning and management
Journal of urban design
Planning practice and research
Urban design international


Newsbank - Australian and international newspapers

Oxford journals
Community development journal

Urban design international
Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link:

SAGE journals online
Browse by discipline:
   Social sciences and humanities
         Communication and regional studies
         Urban studies and planning

provides full text access to the following journals:
Landscape and urban planning

Wiley Online Library
City & community
City & society
International journal of urban and regional research
Review of urban and regional development studies
Journal of urban affairs

Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
Green places
Journal of architectural and planning research