Subject guides: Chicago 17th (B) Author-Date: Archival material

Archival material

Edited books

In-text citation

Format

(Author Surname Year of publication, Pages)

Example

(Machiavelli 1967, 55)

Reference list

Format

Author Surname, First Name. Year of publication. Title of Book: Subtitle. Edited by Editor Full Name. Publisher.

Example

Machiavelli, Niccolò. 1967. The Art of War. Edited by Edward Dacres and Peter Whitehorne. AMS Press.

Tips

Published collections of archival material are referenced in the same way as other published books.

Diaries in an edited publication

In-text citation

Format

(Author Surname Year of publication, Pages)

Example

(Larkham 2011, 13)

Reference list

Format

Author Surname, First Name. Year of publication. Title of Diary. Edited by Editor Full Name. Publisher.

Example

Larkham, Thomas. 2011. The Diary of Thomas Larkham, 1647–1669. Edited by Susan Hardman Moore. Boydell.

Letters in an edited collection

In-text citation

Format

(Author Surname Year of publication, Pages)

Example

(O’Neill 1991, 60)

Reference list

Format

Author Surname, First Name. Year of publication. Title of Collection. Edited by Editor Full Name. Publisher.

Example

O’Neill, John. 1991. To His Excellency Thomas Jefferson: Letters to a President. Edited by Jack McLaughlin. Avon Books.

Tips

Words such as letter, postcard, email and the like are usually unnecessary, but other forms, such as reports or memorandums, should be specified.
Incorporate the dates of individual correspondence into the text e.g. White (1976, 273) sent Ross an interoffice memo on May 2, 1946, pointing out that...

A primary source quoted in a secondary source

In-text citation

Format

(quoted in Secondary Source Author Surname Year of publication)

Example

In The Memoirs of General Lord Ismay published in 1960 (quoted in Holland 2010) Hastings Ismay states that …

Reference list

Format

Secondary Source Author Surname, First Name. Year of publication. Title of Work: Subtitle. Location: Publisher.

Example

Holland, James. 2010. The Battle of Britain. St. Martin’s Press.

Tips

Consult the primary source yourself if possible, then reference that.
Include only the secondary source in the reference list.

Archival materials in a database

In-text citation

Format

(Name of the manuscript collection or repository)

Example

In a memorandum entitled “Carrier Pigeons in War”, dated 9 January 1946 (Secret Files from World Wars to Cold War), Thomas Haddon recommends …

Reference list

Format

Name of the manuscript collection. Name of the repository. URL if online.

Example

Secret Files from World Wars to Cold War: Intelligence, Strategy and Diplomacy.
The National Archives, U.K. http://www.secretintelligencefiles.com.
ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/Content/swwf.cab176/0009/010?t0=0&q0
=pigeon&o0=and&pf=1873&pt=2015&pfrr=False&cnf=1873&cnt=1953&cnrr
=False&cvf=1873&cvt=1953&cvrr=False&sid=177840061&st=False&sy
=False&rc=true.

Tips

References generally focus on the name of the manuscript collection or repository, rather than the author of the specific item, and do not require a date.
Specific items are commonly introduced within the text and reference the author, the title and the date. Other details, such as the type of document, can be narrated where relevant.

Archival materials on a website

In-text citation

Format

(Name of website)

Example

In 1969 'black power' was being discussed amongst the members of the Aboriginal Advancement League due to visits to Australia by various people, including Dr. Roosevelt Brown (Reason in Revolt).

Reference list

Format

Name of Archive. Name of Repository or Website. URL.

Example

Reason In Revolt. https://www.reasoninrevolt.net.au/objects/htm/a000236.html.

Unpublished documents in a physical archive

In-text citation

Format

(Name of Archive, Location)

Example

Alvin Johnson, in a memorandum prepared sometime in 1937 (Kallen Papers, file 36), observed that ...

Reference list

Format

Name of archive or Surname, First Name of the person identified with the archive. Type of archive. Name of Repository, Place of Repository.

Example

Kallen, Horace. Papers. YIVO Institute for Jewish Research, New York.

Tips

Typical elements of a citation include: document title or a description of the document, document date, location information, collection title, collection number, and repository name.
You can usually find these details in the finding aid or catalogue record, but not all citations will have all of these elements.
Descriptions of documents are not enclosed in quotation marks or italicised.
See the Chicago Manual of Style, from 14.221, for more detailed instructions and examples.
Specific documents are not usually mentioned in a reference list unless only one item from the collection is cited.