Monash University Graduate Education - Monash Doctoral Program
See the Library's Graduate Research Library guide for information.
Use EndNote or Zotero to keep track of your references and format footnote citations in your document.
See Managing References and Notes (RLO) for more information.
Find out about Storage and Backup guidelines.
If you can't find a resource at Monash, check with the Law Library team, or complete a Document Delivery request.
Read this article from Survive Law on writing a legal research thesis for useful tips on keeping your thesis on track.
Take a look at the LinkedIn Learning database to find streamed courses and videos on using software such as Microsoft Word, Excel, Project management tools, and many others.
Make an appointment with a Law librarian to discuss your research needs.
Useful books
- Case studies in legal research methodologies : reflections on theory and practice (2019)
- Empirical legal research in action : reflections on methods and their applications (2018)
- Authoring a PhD : how to plan, draft, write and finish a doctoral thesis or dissertation
- Writing research papers : a complete guide
- Revising your dissertation : advice from leading editors
- Researching and Writing in Law (4th ed, 2018)
- Legal reasoning, research, and writing for international graduate students
- Academic writing for graduate students : essential tasks and skills
Doing a Systematic Literature Review in Legal Scholarship by ISBN: 9789462368071Publication Date: 2018
Finding theses
Look at the Library's Theses library guide to find:
Past print Law Faculty theses are stored in a compactus on Level 4 of the Law Library. Look for a thesis using Search then ask at the Information Point for access to the thesis quoting the call number.
Some more recent theses are also available online via Bridges (if not restricted or embargoed)
Start Researching
Try these databases to gain an in depth understanding of the sources available for your topic:
- Elgar Research Reviews in Law (ElgarOnline)Elgar Research Reviews offer an authoritative summary of the seminal works that have established a field of research. World renowned experts research and select the most important readings in their field, and provide a detailed essay outlining the evolution of these disciplines.
Select Law-Academic, then Refine to Research Reviews. - Oxford Bibliographies - CriminologyOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the study of crime as a social phenomenon. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
- Oxford Bibliographies - International LawDeveloped cooperatively with scholars worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies in International Law offers authoritative research guides.
Build your skills
See the Library's Research & Learning Online site for tutorials on Graduate Research and Writing
- Research as a process
- Working with research literature
- Writing about research
- Publishing your research
Set up a Researcher ID
Set up a free, permanent, unique ORCiD identifier. Your ORCiD ID can easily link with other researcher ID schemes and repositories in order to correctly attribute your research activities and output in one place