Primary sources for humanities: America

An extensive collection of amateur publications that were written, edited, and published primarily by young people, aged 12-20, during the second half of the 19th century, this one-of-a-kind archive features tens of thousands of issues, and includes editorials, original short fiction, essays, poetry, and more. It provides an abundance of resources for researchers looking to make connections with the era, and provides compelling insights into the ways teens and young adults viewed their hometowns, their country, and the world around them in the 19th century.

The American Civil War : Letters and Diaries knits together more than 1,000 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home. The writings of politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and even spies are included. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving not only both the Northern and Southern perspectives, but those of foreign observers also. The materials originate from all regions of the country and are from people who played a variety of roles.

This database is a collection of almost 14,000 letters written by those who served as Presbyterian missionaries to the American Indians during the years from 1833 to 1893.

Database of material relating to the history of North American trade and cultural exchange with China and the Far East, focusing on the 18th and 19th centuries. Sourced from American and Canadian libraries, the resource documents this topic with manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, objects and maps.

Database includes publications and reports about civil rights from the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, executive branch, congressional committees, special investigations and non-governmental organizations, all digitized from the originals and combined in a fully searchable database. Through both firsthand testimony and government-level analysis, this trove of largely untapped material covers the arc of American civil rights - from the myriad rights issues surrounding African Americans to the issues related to other ethnic groups, immigrants, laborers, children and undocumented workers.

These generals’ reports of service represent an attempt by the Adjutant General’s Office (AGO) to obtain more complete records of the service of the various Union generals serving in the Civil War. Most of the reports consist of chronologically arranged sketches of activities associated with battles and other engagements.

This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas ... The earliest documents in this collection are from the seventeenth century but the majority of the material originates from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Database of original materials selected from the archive of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York. The collection enables the user to explore the history of Jewish communities in America from the arrival of the first Jews in the 17th century right through to the mid-20th century. The collection brings to life the communal and social aspects of Jewish identity and culture, whilst tracing Jewish involvement in the political life of American society as a whole.

This resource presents a multi-national journey through well-known, little-known and far-flung destinations unlocked for the average traveller between 1850 and the 1980s. Guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs, short films and personal travel journals provide unique insight into the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world.

This database focuses on the economics of the past interpreted in the widest sense, with special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. It's scope is international; and it's strength is in economics. Part 1 covers 1450 to 1850, Part 2 concentrates on the latter half of the nineteenth century, (1851-1914) and Part 3 covers the first half of the twentieth century (1890-1945). Part IV offers definitive coverage of the "Age of Capital," the industrial revolution, and the High Victorian Era, when the foundations of modern-day capitalism and global trade were established. It is mainly derived from the collections of the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School.

The resource is provided in two modules, 1850-1927 and 1928-1949. It tells the story of medical advances during warfare from the mid-nineteenth century to the outbreak of the influenza epidemic in 1918, the discovery of penicillin in 1928, and up to post-war reforms such as the foundation of the British National Health Service. The wealth of documents cover multiple conflicts as well as interwar developments from a range of perspectives. Material has been sourced from across the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada and Europe to enable comparisons on key areas of systematic reform, improvements to sanitation and the treatment of disease, rehabilitation, nursing care, surgical techniques and wound treatment. The four conflicts robustly represented are the Crimean War, the American Civil War, the First World War and the Second World War.

Migration to New Worlds explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. Module 1, The Century of Immigration, concentrates on the period 1800 to 1924 and covers all aspects of the migration experience, from motives and departures to arrival and permanent settlement. Module II, The Modern Era, begins with the activities of the New Zealand Company during the 1840s and presents thousands of unique original sources focusing on the growth of colonisation companies during the nineteenth century, the activities of immigration and welfare societies, and the plight of refugees and displaced persons throughout the twentieth century as migrants fled their homelands to escape global conflict.

This archive provides a wide range of primary sources related to the experience of childhood in the long nineteenth century. Included in the archive are books and periodicals for children, primers and other material related to education, pamphlets produced by child welfare groups, documents and photos related to children and crime, newspapers produced by youths, and much more. This unique assemblage of material is sourced from such renowned institutions as the University of Florida's Baldwin Library Collection of Historical Children's Literature, the National Archives (UK), and the British Library, among others.

Scroll down to the blue 'Searchable archives' bar to select a particular archive. Spotlighting a distinguished array of historic atlases, gazetteers, travel narratives and a variety of maps, Maps and Travel Literature offers unique insight into the age of cartography and the rise of leisure travel. The materials focus on travel and exploration during the nineteenth century, including a myriad of sketch maps created during colonial exploration and expansion. Maps, historic atlases, and gazetteers offer unique city, town, and country information first used by the nineteenth century traveller.

The invention of photography represented a turning point in nineteenth-century culture and visual experience. For the first time, there was a means to capture an accurate and true portrayal of the people, places and events that would shape history. As a complement to studies of history, culture, media and many other disciplines, this archive provides the visual evidence to support and supplement written sources. It assembles collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically illustrated books and texts on the early history of photography from libraries and archives from across the globe.

Scroll down to the blue 'Searchable archives' bar to select a particular archive. Part II Collections in this archive include Natural History; Entomology; The Rise of Public Health in England and Wales; and Academies of Science Publications. Using the archive, scholars will be able to analyze technical and conceptual dimensions of scientific knowledge—from physics to psychoanalysis to macroeconomics. Diversity of coverage ensures an expansive, integrated, global view of science and technology from a critical era of scientific development.

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America. With 1.8 million pages available as digital facsimile images, the collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end. Covers such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.

This database documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States through correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more. It records the evolution and impact of public health legislation, policies, and campaigns at the local, national, and federal levels, opening for researchers a new window on the roles played by key organizations and individuals to advance public health practices and outcomes.

This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors throughout the twentieth century. Investigate the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading American sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and the public consciousness. Includes Module I and Module II.

This collection brings together all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery.

The Southern Literary Messenger was in its time the South’s most important literary periodical. It was also the one literary periodical published that was widely circulated and respected among a northern readership. Throughout much of its 30 year run, the journal avoided sectarian political and religious debates, but by 1860 the magazine’s tone had shifted to a defiantly proslavery and pro-South stance. Scholars and students of history and literature can discern much about how the hot-button topics of slavery and secession were presented in southern intellectual and literary culture in the early stages of the Civil War. The journal ceased publication in 1864.

Trade catalogues have been a prominent feature in commerce and manufacturing from the eighteenth century to the present day. Highly illustrated, they are an essential visual record of a variety of products and facilitate research into popular culture, material culture, social norms and attitudes, as well as the history of marketing, business, and technology. These documents provide evidence of the evolution of distribution and communication systems linking manufacturers, wholesalers, retailers, and consumers across the emerging United States and beyond. They document the changing commercial tastes and fashions of the consumer over a period of rapid growth and change.

This resource brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Sources cover many topics and a wide variety of forms of travel writing is represented, ranging from unique manuscripts, diaries and correspondence to drawings, guidebooks and photographs. The resource includes a slideshow with hundreds of items of visual material, including postcards, sketches and photographs. The sources can also be used to examine the variety of motivations for travel including tourism, work, exploration, missionary work and pilgrimages. They also show the diverse range of women who travelled.

Scroll down to the blue bar 'Searchable archives' to select a particular archive. The Voice and Vision archive contains 15 collections, and brings yet more female voices to the forefront. Particular attention has been paid to the mediums through which women have created a voice for themselves, with female-authored literature, journals and magazines that were produced by women, not just for women. Looking beyond simply women’s suffrage, the archive covers multiple areas that are of key importance to the study of women’s history from a diverse and global perspective, from the abolition of slavery, alcohol and temperance movements, pacifism, and political activism, to domestic service, education, health and hygiene, divorce, and social reform.

Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000 is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history. The collection currently includes over 100 document projects and archives with more than 5,000 documents and 175,000+ pages of additional full-text documents, written by thousands of primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity. Also includes the civil rights magazine The Messenger for the years 1925-1928.

Formed in 1968, the American Indian Movement (AIM) expanded from its roots in Minnesota and broadened its political agenda to include a searching analysis of the nature of social injustice in America. These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism.

Scroll down to the 'by archive' dropdown to select a particular archive. LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 features historical documents published in more than 35 countries. Part II provides coverage of underrepresented communities through access to key publications. This second instalment in the series highlights often-excluded groups--even within the LGBTQ community--and enables users to draw new connections across the development of LGBTQ culture and activism. Part III: broadens the scope from a specific focus on LGBTQ history and culture in Part 1 and Part II to the study of sex and sexuality. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community.

Database includes publications and reports about civil rights from the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, executive branch, congressional committees, special investigations and non-governmental organizations, all digitized from the originals and combined in a fully searchable database. Through both firsthand testimony and government-level analysis, this trove of largely untapped material covers the arc of American civil rights - from the myriad rights issues surrounding African Americans to the issues related to other ethnic groups, immigrants, laborers, children and undocumented workers.

The Cold War was the continuing state from roughly 1946 to 1991 of political conflict, military tension, proxy wars, and economic competition between the Communist World - primarily the Soviet Union and its satellite states and allies - and the powers of the Western world, primarily the U.S. and its NATO allies. This collection, which includes transcripts of oral recollections, provides an opportunity to understand the motivations for conflict and conciliation of many of the players in the Cold War.

FDR assumed the presidency of a nation in which white supremacy was a significant cultural and political force. Many states denied or severely restricted voting rights to African Americans and used their political power to further diminish their status. This collection includes important materials for the study of the early development of the Civil Rights Movement and is concerned with the issues of: lynching, segregation. race riots, employment discrimination, the movement of African Americans to northern states, and significant persons and organizations.

This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas ... The earliest documents in this collection are from the seventeenth century but the majority of the material originates from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

The Pan Pacific and Southeast Asia Womens Association was founded in 1930 to strengthen international understanding and friendship among the women of Asia and the Pacific and women of the U.S.A. The group promoted cooperation among women of these regions for the study and improvement of social, economic, and cultural conditions, and engaged in studies on Asian and Pacific affairs. The collection is sourced from the Sophia Smith Collection, Smith College, USA.

The J. Walter Thompson Company Archive documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms. The records of this pioneering agency document the research and creative processes behind the creation of advertisements, including many of the world’s biggest and best-known brands. The records also offer an evolving insider account of life within an advertising agency throughout the twentieth century, documenting changes such as the growing role of women in the industry. Material reflects the society with which advertisements interact, and reveal the influence that advertising has over culture.

Database of original materials selected from the archive of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York. The collection enables the user to explore the history of Jewish communities in America from the arrival of the first Jews in the 17th century right through to the mid-20th century. The collection brings to life the communal and social aspects of Jewish identity and culture, whilst tracing Jewish involvement in the political life of American society as a whole.

This resource presents a multi-national journey through well-known, little-known and far-flung destinations unlocked for the average traveller between 1850 and the 1980s. Guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs, short films and personal travel journals provide unique insight into the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world.

Drawing from the records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), this database focuses on civil rights, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court topics intensely relevant to todays curriculum. The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) has throughout its history consistently stood at the center of controversies involving the rights of Americans. Its records offer researchers a unique view of the inner workings of the organization and the hundreds of groups with which the ACLU interacted. Covering the years from before the ACLUs official founding in 1920 through the 20th century, this archive offers an array of primary source materials on some of the most important issues that affected the United States.

The resource is provided in two modules, 1850-1927 and 1928-1949. It tells the story of medical advances during warfare from the mid-nineteenth century to the outbreak of the influenza epidemic in 1918, the discovery of penicillin in 1928, and up to post-war reforms such as the foundation of the British National Health Service. The wealth of documents cover multiple conflicts as well as interwar developments from a range of perspectives. Material has been sourced from across the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada and Europe to enable comparisons on key areas of systematic reform, improvements to sanitation and the treatment of disease, rehabilitation, nursing care, surgical techniques and wound treatment. The four conflicts robustly represented are the Crimean War, the American Civil War, the First World War and the Second World War.

Migration to New Worlds explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. Module 1, The Century of Immigration, concentrates on the period 1800 to 1924 and covers all aspects of the migration experience, from motives and departures to arrival and permanent settlement. Module II, The Modern Era, begins with the activities of the New Zealand Company during the 1840s and presents thousands of unique original sources focusing on the growth of colonisation companies during the nineteenth century, the activities of immigration and welfare societies, and the plight of refugees and displaced persons throughout the twentieth century as migrants fled their homelands to escape global conflict.

This collection is a unique resource for the study of the era of the American civil rights movement. Included here are transcriptions of close to 700 interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing, for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities.

This collection reproduces important letters, reports, memorandums, cablegrams, maps, charts, and other kinds of records relating to the activities of the American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, 1918-20. President Woodrow Wilson agreed in early July 1918 to permit limited U.S. participation in an Allied expedition to Siberia to aid the Russian people themselves in "self-government and self-defence", and to extricate Czechoslovak Armed Forces trapped in Siberia who had been attempting to reach the Western Front.

The Sixties brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. This important period in American history, culture, and politics, which encompassed the new left; the emerging neo-conservative movement; the civil rights movement; counter culture; student activism; the Vietnam War; the women's movement; and the gay rights movement, is represented here with over 125,000 pages of text and 50 hours of video at completion.

This Adam Matthew Digital collection consists of newspapers published during the war and its immediate aftermath (1939-1948). Titles from all the key theatres are featured, including some non-English material. The collection offer a unique perspective on the local and global experience of the war and will enable the research of key historical events through the medium of contemporary publications.

This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors throughout the twentieth century. Investigate the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading American sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and the public consciousness. Includes Module I and Module II.

Trade catalogues have been a prominent feature in commerce and manufacturing from the eighteenth century to the present day. Highly illustrated, they are an essential visual record of a variety of products and facilitate research into popular culture, material culture, social norms and attitudes, as well as the history of marketing, business, and technology. These documents provide evidence of the evolution of distribution and communication systems linking manufacturers, wholesalers, retailers, and consumers across the emerging United States and beyond. They document the changing commercial tastes and fashions of the consumer over a period of rapid growth and change.

This resource brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Sources cover many topics and a wide variety of forms of travel writing is represented, ranging from unique manuscripts, diaries and correspondence to drawings, guidebooks and photographs. The resource includes a slideshow with hundreds of items of visual material, including postcards, sketches and photographs. The sources can also be used to examine the variety of motivations for travel including tourism, work, exploration, missionary work and pilgrimages. They also show the diverse range of women who travelled.

This collection provides a window into American social history by bringing together the instructional, prescriptive, behavioural, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century. When complete, the collection will contain 150,000 pages of fully searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books.

This primary source database focuses on North American and European adult comic books and graphic novels. The collection includes original material from the 1950s to today from the works of artists both celebrated and overlooked, along with interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines. It is the first ever scholarly, primary-source database concerned primarily with adult comic books and graphic novels. Included in this collection are the complete transcripts of the senate subcommittee hearings that birthed the Comics Code Authority and, inadvertently, the underground comix movement.

Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000 is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history. The collection currently includes over 100 document projects and archives with more than 5,000 documents and 175,000+ pages of additional full-text documents, written by thousands of primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

Scroll down to the 'by archive' dropdown to select a particular archive. International perspectives on LGBTQ activism and culture" Database examines diversity in underrepresented areas of the world such as southern Africa and Australia, highlighting cultural and social histories, struggles for rights and freedoms, explorations of sexuality, and organizations and key figures in LGBTQ history. Among many diverse and historical 20th century collections, materials include: the Papers of Simon Nkoli, a prominent South African anti-apartheid, gay and lesbian rights, and HIV/AIDS activist; Exit newspaper (formerly Link/Skakel), South Africa's longest running monthly LGBTQ publication; Geographic Files, also known as "Lesbians in…" with coverage from Albania to Zimbabwe; and the largest available collection of digitized Australian LGBTQ periodicals.

With a range of content focused on political extremism and radical thought in the UK, Europe, Australia and North America, Political Extremism provides a range of documents and audio recordings covering the twentieth and early twenty-first centuries. The archive will contain over 600,000 pages of content, making it one of the first digital archives on far-right and left political groups. This archive includes a diverse range of content, including campaigning materials, propaganda, government records and various ephemera. The inclusion of oral histories, both as audio recordings and transcripts, makes this archive a unique resource for researchers. The subscription is for Part 1, and Part 2 from 2022 (Part 2 concentrates on Far rights groups in America)

This database documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States through correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more. It records the evolution and impact of public health legislation, policies, and campaigns at the local, national, and federal levels, opening for researchers a new window on the roles played by key organizations and individuals to advance public health practices and outcomes.

This database chronicles the plight of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950, bringing together over 590,000 pages of pamphlets, ephemera, government documents, relief organization publications, and refugee reports that recount the causes, effects and responses to refugee crises before, during and shortly after World War II. This rich collection makes it possible for researchers to unravel the complex history of forced migration in the twentieth century at every level.

Scroll down to the blue 'Searchable archives' bar to select a particular archive. The Voice and Vision archive contains 15 collections, and brings yet more female voices to the forefront. Particular attention has been paid to the mediums through which women have created a voice for themselves, with female-authored literature, journals and magazines that were produced by women, not just for women. Looking beyond simply women’s suffrage, the archive covers multiple areas that are of key importance to the study of women’s history from a diverse and global perspective, from the abolition of slavery, alcohol and temperance movements, pacifism, and political activism, to domestic service, education, health and hygiene, divorce, and social reform.

This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to internal and foreign affairs contain a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats about Afghanistan in the period 1945 to 1963, including: special reports on political and military affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; court proceedings and other legal documents.

This publication consists of FBI reports dealing with every aspect of antiwar work carried out by the The Vietnam Veterans Against the War. The collection also includes surveillance on a variety of other antiwar groups and individuals, with an emphasis on student groups and Communist organizations.

American State Papers, 17891838 contains all government publications which precede the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, including some 6,300 publications from the first 14 Congresses. These documents capture early American history in great detail, with a wide array of documents ranging from the speeches of the first Presidents, through to the government-documented treatment of Native American Indians.

This collection of formerly classified U.S. government documents (most of them classified Top Secret or higher) provides readers with the documentary record of the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in its efforts to spy on the Soviet Union during the Cold War. It covers the period from the end of World War II in 1945 until the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991, but also includes a number of formerly classified historical reports and articles written by U.S. intelligence historians since the end of the Cold War.

This series consists of reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the Department of State. The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies. The topics range from individual commodities or countries to the economic and political characteristics of whole regions. This collection consists of research and intelligence reports on the USSR for the period 1941 to 1961.

This archive presents a comprehensive collection of significant primary source documents, arranged in collections, that are central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. It consists of indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews.

Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit U.S. policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages, these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary. Topics range from political, military and social issues, to economics, science and technology. This database covers: the Cold War, China, the Middle East, Latin America, the Soviet Union, and more, from 1974 to 1996.

The Nixon Years, 1969-1974 covers Richard Nixon's entire presidential term and allows scholars and researchers the opportunity to assess, from a British, European and Commonwealth perspective, Nixon's handling of numerous Cold War crises, his administration's achievements, as well as his increasingly controversial activities and unorthodox use of executive powers culminating in Watergate and resignation.

The U.S. Congressional Serial Set is a rich collection of primary source material on the people, issues and events of American history and politics, and is widely considered to be the single most important series of American government publications (comparable to the British Parliamentary Papers). Presenting every publication from the 15th Congress through the 103rd Congress, the collection contains over 415,000 individual documents in more than 14,000 volumes. It includes committee reports related to bills and other matters, presidential communications to Congress, treaty materials, certain executive department publications, and certain non-governmental publications.

Provides access to a broad range of previously classified U.S. federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. The collection brings together the most sensitive documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies in a single, easily searchable database. Because the majority of the documents are presidential records and all of them were formerly classified, these records provide a unique, behind-the-scenes view of the highest level of American policymaking on the most sensitive issues of national security and foreign policy.

This Brill collection of over 4,000 formerly classified U.S. government documents provides a comprehensive survey of the U.S. intelligence community's activities in Europe, including Eastern Europe, Turkey and Cyprus, covering the time period from the end of World War II to the fall of the Iron Curtain and beyond.

Since 1945, the U.S. intelligence community has had to cover a half dozen major wars and several dozen smaller but equally bloody armed conflicts in the Middle East, as well as innumerable civil wars, border clashes, armed insurgencies, and terrorist attacks. This comprehensive document set from Brill sheds light on the U.S. intelligence community's spying and analytic efforts in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa. It covers the time period from the end of World War II to the present day, up until the 2002-2003 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Iran's nuclear program.

Romania in the postwar Stalinist era is the subject of this Gale Primary Sources archive. The Red Army swept into Romania in 1944, and in the late 1940s and 1950s the Romanian Communist Party imposed a totalitarian regime. An elaborate security system manned by the secret police was set up and was supported by a repressive prison network which enforced obedience to the party. These topics and others are included, with documents sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the U.S. Department of State.

The U.S. State Departments Office of Chinese Affairs, charged with operational control of American policy toward China, amassed information on virtually all aspects of life there immediately before, during, and after the revolution. Declassified by the State Department, the Records of the Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955, provide valuable insight into numerous domestic issues in Communist and Nationalist China, U.S. containment policy as it was extended to Asia, and Sino-American relations during the post-war period.

This Archives Unbound database reproduces the six principal MID [Military Intelligence Division] files relating exclusively to China for the period 1918 to 1941. The six files relating to China, 1918-1941, are: 1. General Conditions in China. 2. Political Conditions, China. 3. Economic Conditions, China. 4. Army, China. 5. Navy, China. 6. Aeronautics, China. Also includes documents created by other U.S. Government agencies and foreign governments from the records of the Military Intelligence Division.

Comprising records of the State Departments Central Classified Files, this collection contains records relating to the internal affairs of Indochina, during the period 1945-49. The records include instructions sent to and correspondence received by the State Department; the State Departments internal documentation, as well as correspondence between the Department and other federal departments and agencies, Congress, and private individuals and organizations.

American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society provides a history of the American people and a testament to the growth of the nation from the colonial period through to the twentieth century. The periodicals focused on American concerns and were predominantly published in the United States or Canada. The collection offers multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America through the eyes of those who lived it, showing how history affected citizens from all walks of life.

Database of materials relating to interaction between American Indians and Europeans, selected from the Edward E. Ayer Collection in the Newberry Library. The resource provides an insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the American Civil War, the ongoing repercussions of government legislation, to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. The resource contains manuscript pages, rare printed books, maps, atlases, photographs, drawings, paintings and American Indian newspapers.

A comprehensive collection of materials supporting the study of nineteenth-century criminal history, law, literature, and justice ... It helps researchers explore the causes and effects of the rise in crime during the Industrial Revolution, the development of metropolitan police departments, and the public's fascination with increasingly sensational accounts of crime in newspapers and fiction. It covers changing attitudes about punishment and reform that led to such practices as solitary confinement, prison work programs, and penal transportation, as well as "scientific" theories such as phrenology, which posited that character could be determined by physiognomy.

Explore five centuries of primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production. Food and drink in history includes Module I and Module II.

This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.

Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century, Indigenous Peoples: North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story with comprehensive depth and breadth. It includes manuscript collections, rare books and monographs, newspapers, periodicals, census records, legal documents, maps, drawings and sketches, oral histories, and photos. Also features video content from the Bureau of Indian Affairs.

International Historical Statistics is a collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. The collection includes data on the Americas and Europe, but also hard-to-find data on Africa, Asia and Oceania. This 2013 release updates the last print edition of International Historical Statistics, which was published in 2007 in 3 volumes. It now includes 260 years of rich data, collected between 1750-2010 and available online for the first time. Users will find the ability to conduct statistical analysis across both time and geopolitical boundaries particularly valuable. Data tables can be downloaded as Excel files.

Drawing from the records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), this database focuses on civil rights, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court topics intensely relevant to todays curriculum. The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) has throughout its history consistently stood at the center of controversies involving the rights of Americans. Its records offer researchers a unique view of the inner workings of the organization and the hundreds of groups with which the ACLU interacted. Covering the years from before the ACLUs official founding in 1920 through the 20th century, this archive offers an array of primary source materials on some of the most important issues that affected the United States.

Database of legal treatises, historical records and works from the 17th century to the beginning of the 20th century. These works cover a vast array of legal fields, including civil, commercial, constitutional, contract, criminal, and tort law, as well as issues in jurisprudence and procedure and legal diplomacy. The collection enables comprehensive research on centuries of major events of legal history.

This collection consists of historical legal codes, statutes, regulations, and commentaries on codes from the United Kingdom, France, Germany, and other countries in northern Europe. Included are crucial sources of historical statutes and regulations for the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources is sourced from the law libraries of Yale, Harvard, and George Washington University.

This is a comprehensive full-text collection of Anglo-American legal treatises published from 1800 through 1926. The collection’s focus on the legal treatise, a published work of legal analysis that complements the many collections available of statutes, trial transcripts, state documents, legal codes, and judicial reports. As a special kind of secondary source, legal treatises analyze and examine specific laws or bodies of law, addressing a range of analytical, theoretical, and practical issues not captured in other types of law-related documentation. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers with access to primary source critical legal history.

This digital archive is designed to complement The Making of Modern Law : Legal Treatises. It consists of two parts: Part I, 1620-1926 and Part II, 1763-1979. Together they provide access to United States state and municipal codes, documents relating to constitutional conventions and compilations, and other resources in American legal history.

In addition to works pertaining to English-speaking jurisdictions such as the United States, Britain, Ireland, and Canada, this digital archive also contains English-language titles about trials in other jurisdictions, such as France. Users will find published trial transcripts; popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, adultery, and other scandalous crimes; unofficially published accounts of trials, briefs, arguments, and other trial documents that were printed as separate publications; official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings, and arbitration sessions (domestic and international); and books encompassing multiple trials as well as books and pamphlets about a single trial.

This is a comprehensive online collection of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court by leading legal practitioners. It includes transcripts, applications for review, motions, petitions, supplements, and other official papers of the most-studied and talked-about cases, including many that resulted in landmark decisions. It presents 140 years of court history, allowing researchers to trace the evolution of modern law in the United States by bringing together those primary sources underlying court decision and upon which scholars traditionally rely to answer key questions in legal and constitutional history.

Migration to New Worlds explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. Module 1, The Century of Immigration, concentrates on the period 1800 to 1924 and covers all aspects of the migration experience, from motives and departures to arrival and permanent settlement. Module II, The Modern Era, begins with the activities of the New Zealand Company during the 1840s and presents thousands of unique original sources focusing on the growth of colonisation companies during the nineteenth century, the activities of immigration and welfare societies, and the plight of refugees and displaced persons throughout the twentieth century as migrants fled their homelands to escape global conflict.

This archive provides a wide range of primary sources related to the experience of childhood in the long nineteenth century. Included in the archive are books and periodicals for children, primers and other material related to education, pamphlets produced by child welfare groups, documents and photos related to children and crime, newspapers produced by youths, and much more. This unique assemblage of material is sourced from such renowned institutions as the University of Florida's Baldwin Library Collection of Historical Children's Literature, the National Archives (UK), and the British Library, among others.

This collection includes the immediate experiences of over one thousand women who lived in North America up to 1950, as reflected in 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

This database consists of a collections from the U.S. National Archives, a series of collections from the Chicago History Museum, as well as selected first-hand accounts on Indian Wars and westward migration. A highlight is the focus on American Indians in the first half of the 20th Century, a period that has not been studied in as much detail as the calamitous 19th Century. In addition to the 20th Century records, the database features a number of excellent collections on American Indians in the 19th Century, with a focus on the interaction among white settlers, the U.S. federal government, and Indian tribes.

This collection of digitized primary sources provides access to more than 150 years of the longest-established association dedicated to the furtherance of anthropology in its broadest sense, the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland. This collection of association files, manuscripts, and photos documents the history of the association as well as the services it provided to contemporary anthropology and anthropologists. It is a collection of Wiley Digital Archives.

In 1928 Robert Winslow Gordon became the first archivist of the Archive of American Folk Song (now the Archive of Folk Culture) in the Library of Congress. He was a pioneer in using mechanical means to document folk musicians, and his cylinders and discs in the Library of Congress form part of his legacy. The collection of Gordon manuscripts contained here, primarily from 1922 to 1932, offers researchers online access to the daily workings of an important twentieth-century American folklorist ...

Click collections, then Archives, and then World's fairs and expositions
This database gives researchers access to primary source documents about landmark exhibits from 1840 to 1940. With more than 600,000 pages of content, this archive captures the spirit, technology, design, and innovations that influenced the modern world. A partial list of the events covered includes: London, Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations (1851); Melbourne, International Exhibition (1880); Barcelona, Exposicion Universal (1888); Paris, Exposition Universelle (1889); Chicago, World Columbian Exposition (1893); and others.

This resource brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Sources cover many topics and a wide variety of forms of travel writing is represented, ranging from unique manuscripts, diaries and correspondence to drawings, guidebooks and photographs. The resource includes a slideshow with hundreds of items of visual material, including postcards, sketches and photographs. The sources can also be used to examine the variety of motivations for travel including tourism, work, exploration, missionary work and pilgrimages. They also show the diverse range of women who travelled.

The Wiley Digital Archives: Royal Geographical Society (with IBG) collection includes materials from the society’s library, as well as its extensive archival and map collection. Hundreds of thousands of manuscript maps are complemented by manuscript material, fieldnotes, correspondence, drawings, pamphlets, atlases, gazetteers, and a range of other published and unpublished material. The archive sheds light on the impact of geographical science on history, exploration, colonialism, and diplomatic policies, as well as natural resources, cultural studies, anthropology, and ethnography.

Witchcraft in Europe and America is a comprehensive collection offering a wide range of writings on the subject of witchcraft. As such, it affords scholars an invaluable opportunity to explore this intriguing historical phenomenon from a variety of perspectives. Included are many rare and fragile manuscripts containing eyewitness accounts and court records of the trials of witches, including harrowing original manuscript depositions taken from the victims in the torture chamber ... Spanning the 15th to 20th centuries, the majority of texts are in Latin, English and German

Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000 is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history. The collection currently includes over 100 document projects and archives with more than 5,000 documents and 175,000+ pages of additional full-text documents, written by thousands of primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

Scroll down to the blue 'Searchable archives' bar to select a particular archive. This resource of 15 collections traces the path of women’s issues from past to present - pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. It captures the foundation of women’s movements, struggles and triumphs, and focuses on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. Along with providing a closer look at some of the pioneers of women’s movements, it offers scholars a deep dive into the issues that have affected women. Topics covered include: the history of feminist theory and activism; domestic culture; lay and ordained church women; women in industry; women's sexuality and gender expression; women’s education; women’s movement; women’s health and mental health; women and law; women and the control of their bodies, and more.

Scroll down to the blue 'Searchable archives' bar to select a particular archive. The Voice and Vision archive contains 15 collections, and brings yet more female voices to the forefront. Particular attention has been paid to the mediums through which women have created a voice for themselves, with female-authored literature, journals and magazines that were produced by women, not just for women. Looking beyond simply women’s suffrage, the archive covers multiple areas that are of key importance to the study of women’s history from a diverse and global perspective, from the abolition of slavery, alcohol and temperance movements, pacifism, and political activism, to domestic service, education, health and hygiene, divorce, and social reform.

Scroll down to the blue 'Searchable archives' bar to select a particular archive. This archive brings together over one million pages of women-authored works from the American Antiquarian Society, the pre-eminent collector of pre-20th century Americana, covering over a century of female writing. This unique corpus of female-authored literature centres on the American female experience in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. The database not only provides women’s perspective of history but is an essential resource for researchers wanting to undertake in-depth analysis into women’s authorship, enabling them to track the development of female language, literature, and ideas.

Scroll down to the blue 'Searchable archives' bar to select a particular archive. Female Forerunners Worldwide concerns women trailblazers, both individuals and organisations, who have impacted society through social reform, popular culture, healthcare and more. This fourth instalment of the Women's Studies Archive programme will host women's history collections focusing on advertising and advertising to minorities; birth control and sex education; the Civil Rights movement; healthcare and women in medicine especially nursing; religion and women's missionary work; migration; minority groups esp. African American and Jewish women; women in politics; prison reform particularly female criminals and women's philanthropic organisations to improve women's prisons; psychic investigations and the paranormal and women's rights and fight for suffrage.

Primary-source collection of documents from the Casa de las Amricas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. Documents are organized in folders, covering such diverse materials as articles, newspaper clippings, cable messages, interviews, conference memorabilia, etc., collected from 1959 onward. Together they document the activities of the institution both in Cuba and beyond, bearing testimony to the conflicts and conditions of a turbulent time.

Socialism on Film is a comprehensive collection of documentaries, newsreels and features that reveals the world as seen by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers. It ranges from the early twentieth century to the 1980s. Sourced from the archives of the British Film Institute (BFI), the collection consists of films produced almost exclusively in the communist world and later versioned into English for distribution in the West. The films have been conserved, digitised from the original reels, and are fully transcribed and searchable. The three modules are: 1. Wars and revolutions. 2. Newsreels and magazines. 3. Culture and society.

This collection consists of the Confidential Print for Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Pern in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil.

This resource brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Sources cover many topics and a wide variety of forms of travel writing is represented, ranging from unique manuscripts, diaries and correspondence to drawings, guidebooks and photographs. The resource includes a slideshow with hundreds of items of visual material, including postcards, sketches and photographs. The sources can also be used to examine the variety of motivations for travel including tourism, work, exploration, missionary work and pilgrimages. They also show the diverse range of women who travelled.

Database of Church Missionary Society, South American Missionary Society, and Church of Zenana Missionary Society publications. Module 1 contains periodicals published from the early 19th century up until the 21st century. Module 2 presents the medical journals, the periodicals of the Asian missions, and the Historical Record of the Church Missionary Society and the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society.

This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries, with 16 key areas of focus: slavery in the early Americas; African coast; the Middle Passage; slavery and agriculture; urban and domestic slavery; slave testimony; spiritualism and religion in slave communities; resistance and revolts; the Underground Railroad; the abolition movement and the slavery debate; legislation and politics; freed slaves, freedmen and free black settlements; education; slavery and the Islamic world; varieties of slave experience; slavery today and the legacy of slavery.

This digital archive currently includes 150,000 pages of conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century. It also includes photographs and videos of major events and activists in the history of women's international social movements. There are also 25-30 essays exploring themes illuminated by the primary documents in the archive commissioned from leading contemporary scholars. The primary source material illuminates how women’s international organizations have focused on issues related to peace, poverty, child labor, literacy, disease prevention, and global inequality.

This database provides full text, searchable access to a digital collection of primary (and secondary) source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean. The scope ranges from the colonial period to the present. It comprises academic journals and news-feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and much more. World Scholar covers topics such as politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology.

This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries, with 16 key areas of focus: slavery in the early Americas; African coast; the Middle Passage; slavery and agriculture; urban and domestic slavery; slave testimony; spiritualism and religion in slave communities; resistance and revolts; the Underground Railroad; the abolition movement and the slavery debate; legislation and politics; freed slaves, freedmen and free black settlements; education; slavery and the Islamic world; varieties of slave experience; slavery today and the legacy of slavery.

This collection brings together all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery.

This collection explores and offers varying perspectives on the explosive debate around the Transatlantic Slave Trade during the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries. The documents, through a combination of correspondence, pamphlets, memoirs, and statistics, track both the proliferation of British power and the enslavement it was built upon, as well as the moral critiques that arose as a reaction to it. The focus of the documents coalesces around how enslavement and trade manifested in the West Indies, one of Britain’s most valuable colonial assets. Unsurprisingly, those who stood most to lose from the abolition of slavery, namely the business community and plantation owners, undertook activity to convince people of the benefits of slavery. On the other hand, religious and other civil society groups formed the bulwark of opposition to slavery and their resistance is documented through various society papers.

The Southern Literary Messenger was in its time the South’s most important literary periodical. It was also the one literary periodical published that was widely circulated and respected among a northern readership. Throughout much of its 30 year run, the journal avoided sectarian political and religious debates, but by 1860 the magazine’s tone had shifted to a defiantly proslavery and pro-South stance. Scholars and students of history and literature can discern much about how the hot-button topics of slavery and secession were presented in southern intellectual and literary culture in the early stages of the Civil War. The journal ceased publication in 1864.

This database is a searchable archive of leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Consumer magazines aimed at a female readership are recognized as critical primary sources through which to interpret multiple aspects of 19th and 20th-century history and culture. Available in two separate collections, Women's Magazine Archive provides access to the backfiles of the foremost titles of this type, including Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, and Woman's Day, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. In combination, the publications here cover topics such as family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, culture, and many more.

As the official journal of the National Geographic Society, National Geographic magazine built its reputation delivering high-quality photojournalism and cartography. The iconic monthly publication provides in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology, and more. Full text access to the magazine is from 1888 to the mid-1990s, with each issue fully searchable through an intuitive interface.

The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution colour page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling users to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. Modules are:
- Music radio and the stage
- Cinema, film and television
- Video gaming

American Memory provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.