Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a selection of material from past Special Collections exhibitions. The collection is very strong in Australiana and includes materials relating to Australia, Australian literature and history. Limit Search to look only within the Rare Books Collection or come chat to someone at the Special Collections Reading Room.
PROV Home page
Public Record Office Victoria holds an extraordinary array of records created by the Victorian Government from the mid-1830s to now. Many records are digitised: https://www.prov.vic.gov.au/explore-collection/online-collections
Melbourne History Resources
The Melbourne directories are a comprehensive listing of city addresses and occupants organised alphabetically by streets across the central city. It is augmented by alphabetical, trade and professional listings, as well as information on leading financial, government, official, ecclesiastical, legal and municipal institutions, and other miscellaneous advertisements, maps and information. The directory includes town as well as suburban listings, with coverage including Melbourne proper and, from year to year, the expanding suburbs of the greater metropolitan region.
The Everyday War
Select resources from Melbourne’s Town Clerk’s files that reveal the everyday war in Melbourne 1914-1919.
Koorie Services at the PROV
The Koorie Records Unit promotes awareness about Aboriginal records within the Public Record Office Victoria collection.
A site where Victorian organisations can showcase objects from their collections. Includes books, photos, objects, ephemera and more.
New Rare Book purchase:
Watkin Tench, A complete account of the settlement at Port Jackson, in New South, including an accurate description of the situation of the colony, of the natives, and of its natural productions taken on the spot, (1793). (Rare book) (Online)
Early experiences in Australasia : primary sources and personal narratives, 1788-1901.
Early Experiences in Australasia ... provides a unique and personal view of events in the region from the arrival of the first settlers through to Australian Federation at the close of the nineteenth century. Through first-person accounts, including letters and diaries, narratives, and other primary source materials, we are able to hear the voices of the time and understand the experiences of those who took the great challenge in new lands. ...
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries
Migration to new worlds
Module I. The century of immigration
Module II. The Modern Era
From government-led population drives during the early nineteenth century through to mass steamship travel, Migration to New Worlds showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Explore Colonial Office files on emigration, diaries and travel journals, ship logs and plans, printed literature, objects, watercolours, and oral histories supplemented by carefully selected secondary research aids.
Archives of sexuality & gender : LGBTQ history and culture since 1940
The Library subscribes to Part I, II and III.
Part I: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 features historical documents published in more than 35 countries.
Part II provides coverage of underrepresented communities through access to key publications. This second installment in the series highlights often-excluded groups--even within the LGBTQ community--and enables users to draw new connections across the development of LGBTQ culture and activism.
Part III: broadens the scope from a specific focus on LGBTQ history and culture in Part 1 and Part II to the study of sex and sexuality.
The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community.
Frontier life : borderlands, settlement & colonial encounters
This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas ... The earliest documents in this collection are from the seventeenth century but the majority of the material originates from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Trove : one search .. a wealth of information.
Trove is a new discovery experience focused on Australia and Australians. Trove provides integrated access to over 45 million items from a range of the National Library's collaborative services and from elsewhere. Metadata (information about items) is pooled from Australian sources including: The Australian National Bibliographic Database - containing location information from more than 1,200 Australian libraries, The Picture Australia program, The Australian Research Online program, The Music Australia program, The Register of Australian Archives and Manuscripts, and The People Australia program, and some overseas sources.
PictureAustralia is a web service based on a metadata index held at the National Library in Canberra. Provides distributed searching of pictorial images held on the web sites of participating cultural agencies around Australia. Participants include National Library of Australia, Australian War Memorial, Australia Heritage Commission, National Archives of Australia and others. These images cover all areas of Australiana, featuring people, places, events and objects.
Australian Bureau of Statistics
The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to over 270,000 pages of Australian statistical and reference information. There are statistics on the following themes: economy; environment and energy; industry; people; and regions. Included are statistical publications on agriculture, demography, finance, labour, manufacturing, national accounts, prices, service industries, social trends, trade and transport.
Australian Federation full text database
This database provides access to the key primary source texts of Australian Federation, including the official reports of the debates of the 1890s, the major participants' accounts and memoirs, as well as a number of important related texts.
Foreign and Commonwealth Office collection
This collection comprises the earlier collections of the Foreign Office and the Colonial Office. Both include rare publications from overseas. The Foreign Office Collection consists largely of pamphlets sent back to London by British ambassadors to help with policy formation. It is particularly rich in material related to South America, the Near East, and to the various great European political "questions" of the 19th century. ...
Reason in revolt : source documents of Australian radicalism
The Reason in Revolt project aims to bring together primary source documents of Australian radicalism as a readily accessible digitised resource. By 'radical' we refer to those who aimed to make society more equal and to emancipate the exploited or oppressed. As it grows and develops, the project website will become an expanding record of the movements, institutions, venues and publications through which radicals sought to influence Australian society.
Making of the modern world : the Goldsmiths'-Kress library of economic literature.
This database focuses on the economics of the past interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. It's scope is international; and it's strength is in economics. Part 1 covers 1450 to 1850, Part 2 concentrates on the latter half of the nineteenth century, (1851-1914) and Part 3 covers the first half of the twentieth century (1890-1945). It is mainly derived from the collections of the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, England, and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School; with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University, and from Sterling Library at Yale University.
First World War : personal experiences
This digital resource brings to life the reality of the First World War for the men and women who experienced it firsthand. Containing digital images of a wide range of original documents, including diaries, letters, personal narratives, trench journals, scrapbooks, objects, and a wealth of visual sources, this resource provides a rich seam of information on personal experiences of war. It is designed for both teaching and study, from undergraduate to research students and beyond. Supplementing the primary sources is a wealth of secondary resources including interactive maps, 360 panoramas and walk-throughs of the Sanctuary Wood Trench System, the Memory Wall, In Their Own Words feature, scholarly essays, a slideshow gallery, chronology and glossaries...
Lot's Wife is the official student newspaper of Monash University's Clayton Campus. From 1961.
Women and social movements, international : 1840 to present
This digital archive currently includes 150,000 pages of conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century. It also includes photographs and videos of major events and activists in the history of women's international social movements. Finally, there are also 25-30 essays exploring themes illuminated by the primary documents in the archive commissioned from leading contemporary scholars .
Political extremism and radicalism in the twentieth century
With a range of content focused on political extremism and radical thought in the UK, Europe, Australia and North America, Political Extremism provides a range of documents and audio recordings covering the twentieth and early twenty-first centuries. The archive will contain over 600,000 pages of content, making it one of the first digital archives on far-right and left political groups. This archive includes a diverse range of content, including campaigning materials, propaganda, government records and various ephemera. The inclusion of oral histories, both as audio recordings and transcripts, makes this archive a unique resource for researchers, and provides a broader range of information sources than other archives on the subject.
Nineteenth century UK periodicals
This collection covers the period 1800 to 1900. When complete it will make available full runs of nearly 600 titles, some of which exist only in a single copy, such is the fragile state of much nineteenth-century printed material. The availability, on the scholars desktop, of six million pages of nineteenth-century journalism, fully searchable, sourced from the British Library, the National Library of Scotland and other specialist libraries, offers a collection of unparalleled range and diversity ... of interest to historians and students of nineteenth-century literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, the professions, in short, of all aspects of nineteenth-century life that the press encompassed.