Primary sources for humanities: Medieval & Renaissance

Approximately 16,000 pamphlets covering this important period in French history are available in this collection. One of the largest collections of its kind, it offers a wealth of information on the legislative history and governance of France, as well as other aspects of French life. Dealing with the financial and political administration of France proper from the late 13th century to the end of the monarchy, nearly three-quarters of the pamphlets here are concentrated in the 18th century; a considerable number are of earlier origin ...

Following its digital launch in 1998, Early English Books Online now contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700. Beginning with the very first book published in English, EEBO draws from four authoritative bibliographical resources – both Pollard & Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing’s Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) in their revised versions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.

Developed in collaboration with the Institute of Historical Research (IHR) in London, EHD includes primary source documents spanning from 500 A.D. to 1914, along with the previously out-of-print American Colonial Documents. Sources include treaties, statutes, declarations, government and cabinet proceedings, military dispatches, orders, acts, sermons, newspaper articles, pamphlets, personal and official letters, and diaries, covering topics from political and constitutional issues to social, economic, religious and cultural history.

Europeana.eu is a digital library containing over 30 million items, including images, texts, audio and video, from European museums, galleries, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections.

Website of French and francophone culture maintained by the Bibliotheque nationale de France. Contains numerous electronic texts, images, maps, music scores, animation, and sound files of French and other publications and manuscripts in history, literature, music, art, science, philosophy, law, economics, and political science.

The Brepolis Latin Cross Database Searchtool (CDS) enables users to consult and search the different full-text Latin databases of Brepolis Latin Latin: the Library Of Latin Texts (LLT), the electronic Monumenta Germaniae Historica (eMGH), the Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature (ACLL), and the Aristoteles Latinus Database (ALD) simultaneously.

Formerly Library of Latin texts. Series A and Series B.
The LLT is a leading database for Latin texts, offering texts from the beginnings of Latin literature down to the present day. The database comprises Latin literature not only from the patristic and medieval periods but also from Antiquity and the early-modern and modern eras, across all genres. The textual material integrated into the database forms the first of the two pillars on which the Library of Latin Texts is built, the other one being a rich pool of sophisticated search tools.

This database is a rich repository of material for any student or scholars whose work focuses on medieval and early modern Europe and the Americas. The sources range from detailing the clashes of religion and the dawning of the Reformation in the sixteenth and seventeenth-centuries to the conquest of the Americas by Spain. It contains 15 specialised modules on a variety of topics.

This new collection from Adam Matthew Digital presents manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia. The collection also includes a number of important accounts of travels to or through the Holy Land.

A collection of digitized editions of texts concerning the study of Britain and its place in the world during the Medieval and early modern period (c. 1100-1800). Covers economic, political, legal, and ecclesiastical history, and includes treasury accounts, chronicles, papal registers, etc. Most sources are from England, Ireland, and Scotland, although some are from Milan and the New World.

The rolls of parliament were the official records of the meetings of the English parliament from the reign of Edward I (1272 - 1307) until the reign of Henry VII (1485 - 1509), after which they were superseded by the journals of the lords and, somewhat later, of the commons. The rolls were first edited in the eighteenth century and published in 1783 in six folio volumes entitled Rotuli Parliamentorum (RP) This new edition reproduces the rolls edited in RP in their entirety, plus those subsequently published by Cole, Maitland, and Richardson and Sayles as well as a substantial amount of material never previously published, together with a full translation of all the texts from the three languages used by the medieval clerks.

State Papers Online offers a collection of original English historical government documents from the sixteenth to the eighteenth centuries. The papers feature the office archives and correspondence of the secretaries of state serving the Monarch as facsimile manuscript documents accessed directly or via the fully searchable Calendar entries (abstracts or transcriptions). The correspondence, reports, memoranda, and parliamentary drafts from ambassadors, civil servants and provincial administrators present a full picture of Britain from the period of Henry VIII to the reign of George III (1509–1782). Includes the collection, Royal Archive’s Stuart and Cumberland Papers.

Witchcraft in Europe and America is a comprehensive collection offering a wide range of writings on the subject of witchcraft. As such, it affords scholars an invaluable opportunity to explore this intriguing historical phenomenon from a variety of perspectives. Included are many rare and fragile manuscripts containing eyewitness accounts and court records of the trials of witches, including harrowing original manuscript depositions taken from the victims in the torture chamber ... Spanning the 15th to 20th centuries, the majority of texts are in Latin, English and German

Select collections, then filter options, then archives, then select "L'enfer de la Bibliothèque nationale de France"
Enfer("Hell") from the Bibliothèque nationale de France is one of the most storied and sought-after private case collections of forbidden books. Enfer is made up of more than 2,400 literary works, manuscripts, engravings, lithographs, and photographs. The books in Enfer span from the 1530s to the 2010s, providing a wide perspective throughout time and in different societies on what were considered to be erotic and/or pornographic works. Readers will find documents mainly in French.

This database focuses on the economics of the past interpreted in the widest sense, with special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. It's scope is international; and it's strength is in economics. Part 1 covers 1450 to 1850, Part 2 concentrates on the latter half of the nineteenth century, (1851-1914) and Part 3 covers the first half of the twentieth century (1890-1945). Part IV offers definitive coverage of the "Age of Capital," the industrial revolution, and the High Victorian Era, when the foundations of modern-day capitalism and global trade were established. It is mainly derived from the collections of the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School.

Defining Gender explores the study and analysis of gender, leisure and consumer culture, one of the most vibrant areas of social, cultural and intellectual research, transcending traditional disciplinary boundaries. The broad range of thematically organised documents from selected libraries provides an excellent opportunity for comparative study and research. Original British source material includes ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, etc., and address the key issues from both masculine and feminine perspectives