This database provides access to the electronic records of the U.S. National Archives, The initial release of AAD contained material from archival series of electronic records, which included over 50 million unique records. The series selected for AAD identify specific persons, geographic areas, organizations, or dates. Some of these series serve as indexes to accessioned archival records in non-electronic formats. AAD allows you to search for and retrieve specific records from selected series and data files over the Internet. It includes a link to search descriptions of NARA's non-electronic records through NARA's online catalogue, ARC.
This collection consists of Confidential Print for Africa. The database spans the full era of the modern European colonisation of Africa, from the British Government’s perspective, beginning with coastal trading in the early nineteenth century and the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa. They then follow the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italy’s defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa and colonial moves towards independence.
This archive presents a comprehensive collection of significant primary source documents, arranged in collections, that are central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. It consists of indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews.
Provides access to the official documentation of the World Trade Organization (WTO), including the legal texts of the WTO agreements, from 1995 onwards, with daily updates. Also contains selected material for the period 1986-1994, principally Uruguay Round documents and a small number of GATT documents. Note: this database does not contain WTO publications.
Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit U.S. policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages, these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary. Topics range from political, military and social issues, to economics, science and technology. This database covers: the Cold War, China, the Middle East, Latin America, the Soviet Union, and more, from 1974 to 1996.
Sources from the National Archives UK. Monash has access to: 1949-1956: The Communist revolution; 1957-1966: The Great Leap Forward; 1967-1980: The Cultural Revolution. Material includes British diplomatic dispatches, originating in both London and China, correspondence, both government and private, newspaper cuttings/transcriptions and translations of press reports, minutes of meetings, political, economic and military analyses, statistical tables, biographies of prominent figures, reports of visits, investigations, published booklets and leaflets, posters, propaganda and annual reports, detailing events in a territory.
A full-text database, formerly Artemis Primary Sources, that cross-searches Gale's extensive digital archive collections, including Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO), The Making of the Modern World : the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, The Making of Modern Law : Legal Treatises, 1800-1926, and The Making of Modern Law : Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926. The platform features Subject Indexing to aid content discovery across collections, Term Frequency which can suggest the importance of particular concepts during given periods, and Term Clusters which displays terms that commonly occur in relation to a search term.
Provides researchers with access to a large collection of digitised World War II publications, or historic documents, published by the United States government in support of the war effort, held by the Central University Libraries, Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas.
International Historical Statistics is a collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. The collection includes data on the Americas and Europe, but also hard-to-find data on Africa, Asia and Oceania. This 2013 release updates the last print edition of International Historical Statistics, which was published in 2007 in 3 volumes. It now includes 260 years of rich data, collected between 1750-2010 and available online for the first time. Users will find the ability to conduct statistical analysis across both time and geopolitical boundaries particularly valuable. Data tables can be downloaded as Excel files.
Monash University Library subscribes to ARTstor which contains more than 1,000,000 digital images covering many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts. The Library also subscribes to Bridgeman Education, Oxford Art Online as well as numerous others. This resource is very useful for locating images from particular collections and time periods.
The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970, contains important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
The Sixties brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. This important period in American history, culture, and politics, which encompassed the new left; the emerging neo-conservative movement; the civil rights movement; counter culture; student activism; the Vietnam War; the women's movement; and the gay rights movement, is represented here with over 125,000 pages of text and 50 hours of video at completion.
Testaments to the Holocaust is the online publication of the archives of the Wiener Library, London, the first archive to collect evidence of the Holocaust and the anti-Semitic activities of the German Nazi Party. It contains documentary evidence collected in several different programmes: the eyewitness accounts which were collected before, during and after the Second World War, from people fleeing the Nazi oppression, a large collection of photographs of pre-war Jewish life, the activities of the Nazis, and the ghettoes and camps, and other important content.
This is a full-text database of parliamentary documents and official records of the United Nations. It includes General Assembly, Security Council, and other Council resolutions from 1946, all UN parliamentary documents from 1992, and various UN daily journals and lists of documents. The database also includes scanned documents published between 1946 and 1993, including all resolutions of the principal organs, all documents of the Security Council and the General Assembly Official Records.
This database includes all multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations and, those formerly deposited with the League of Nations, their latest status and a link to the full texts. Also includes bilateral and multilateral treaties registered with and published by the United Nations Secretariat, detailed treaty references and full texts in all authentic language(s); and recently deposited multilateral treaties that have been deposited but not yet published.
NOTE: VHA's system requirements: Windows Vista, 7, and 8 with Google Chrome, Internet Explorer 9 or above
The USC Shoah Foundation Institute's Visual History Archive provides access to over 50,600 video interviews conducted with survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust. These testimonies were collected in 56 countries and in 32 languages. The majority of the interviews are with Jewish survivors of the Holocaust. Political prisoners, Roma and Sinti (Gypsy) survivors, homosexuals, Jehovah's Witnesses, and liberators, witnesses, rescuers, and aid providers also provided testimony.
Provides access to the World Bank's formal publications. Holds over 15,000 free, downloadable documents, including Operational documents (project documents, analytical and advisory work, and evaluations), formal and informal research papers, and most Bank publications. Also provides archival access to official records of the Bank's work from 1946 to the present, including country files, project files, correspondence, film, videos and photos. This site includes a link to the portal "Open Knowledge Repository".
Contains the current constitution for every country, constitutional histories, texts on constitutional law, links to scholarly articles about constitutional development, and a bibliography of selected constitutional books. Browsable by country or resource.
African newspapers offers extensive coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped the continent during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Algeria to Angola, Zambia to Zimbabwe, it chronicles the evolution of Africa through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items. African Newspapers provides news and perspectives from a wide range of counties and cultures during a time of sweeping change. Over 60 newspaper titles are indexed and searchable, and coverage is from 1800-1922.
Gale NewsVault delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring Gale's range of historical newspaper and collections. Users can simultaneously search or browse across multiple products owned by their institution, including: 17th-18th century Burney Collection newspapers, and the historial archives of the Daily Mail [1896-2004], Economist [1843-2013], Listener [1929-1991] , Illustrated London News [1842-2003], Sunday Times [1822-2006], the Times [1785-2011], and the Times Literary Supplement [1902-2012].
Database contains the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full colour and every article and caption is full-text searchable with hit-term highlighting and links to corresponding illustrations. The publication presents a vivid picture of British and world events (including news of war, disaster, ceremonies, the arts, and science) It combines information and the power of pictures to provide unique perspective on virtually every aspect of modern life and those who helped shape it over more than 160 years.
Pravda ("Truth") was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Pravda originated as an underground daily workers newspaper, and it soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Throughout the Soviet era, party members were obligated to read Pravda. Today, Pravda still remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation, an important political faction in contemporary Russian politics (Note: In Russian)
Includes full page images and article images from the New York Daily Times (1851 to 1857) and the New York Times from its first issue in 1857 to 2014. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage includes all titles of these newspapers. Observer (London, England) (1791- ) and The Manchester guardian and British volunteer (1925-1828), Manchester guardian (Manchester, England : 1828) (1828-1959), Guardian (Manchester, England) (1959- ).
The Washington Post (1877-2004) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Individual issues can be selected or the complete range can be searched by subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly, not only top news stories but also detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed.
The Times of India (1838-2010) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue for the following titles: The Bombay times and journal of commerce (1839-1859), The Bombay times and standard (1860-1861), and The times of India (1861-current).
This database provides online access to a select group of South Asian newspapers from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring English-, Gujarati- and Bengali-language papers published in India, in the regions of the Subcontinent that now comprise Pakistan, and in Ceylon (now Sri Lanka), South Asian Newspapers offers extensive coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped the Indian Subcontinent between 1864 and 1922. Key publications range from Amrita Bazar Patrika (Calcutta), Bankura Darpana (Bankura, India), Madras Mail (Madras),to Tribune (Lahore, Pakistan) and the Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka).
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. The Times has offered readers in-depth, award-winning, objective coverage of world events since its creation in 1785 and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication. With over 12 million articles available, the archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest.
European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated and which focus on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history.
Online exhibitions that have been created by libraries, archives, and historical societies, as well as to museum online exhibitions with a significant focus on library and archival materials. The scope is international and multi-lingual.
Site dedicated to support and encourage research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam experience; promoting a greater understanding of this experience and the peoples and cultures of Southeast Asia. Posts millions of documents, images and other materials such as results of the Oral History Project.
Clearinghouse of classified diplomatic cables and other secret documents obtained by the organization and posted on the web. There is no search engine that allows full-text searching of the documents, but materials can be searched by date, country, or originating embassy or government entity. Useful for more recent information.