History: Australia

A guide to resources for the areas of history at Monash University


Look at the Australian section of the Newspapers guide

Featured resource!

Archives of sexuality & gender : LGBTQ history and culture since 1940 

Includes historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals.

Rainbow flag

By user:theodoranian - Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, Link

Reference works can offer a brief overview of a topic, clarify concepts, and provide bibliographies for further reading.

If you can't find something relevant above then go to Search and copy the search below (replace australian politics with your own keywords)

Searching for reference works

If you'd like to go browse the shelves, some relevant locations are listed below. Otherwise you can search for books (print and electronic) in Search.
Australian history 994
Gold rush - history 994.5031
Indigenous culture 306.0899915
Early Australian history to 1788 994.01
Period of settlement and growth, 1788-1851 994.02
Period of development and self government, 1851-1901 994.03
Period of gold discovery and consolidation, 1851-1891 994.031
1891-1901 994.032
Period of Commonwealth, 1901- 994.04
1901-1922 994.041
1922-1945 994.042
1946-1966 994.05
1966- 994.06
1966-1972 994.061
1996-1999 994.066
2000- 994.07

In History there are, broadly speaking, two types of databases. Those you use to find primary sources and those you use for journal articles. For primary sources look at the Primary Sources library guide.    

For journal articles, books, theses, conference papers and more:


Australian content on a wide range of topics 

Go to Informit


Limit your search to articles
and books and the relevant
discipline(s) to help limit your results to a
manageable number. 


Expanded academic asap
 Go to Expanded Academic  ASAP
  Arts and Humanities Citation Index
 Recommended        for postgraduates

Go to Arts & Humanities Citation Index


For more, look at the full list of History databases. You may also find some of the Australian studies databases useful.