Subject guides: History: Medieval & Renaissance

Medieval & Renaissance history resources

International bibliography of humanism and the Renaissance This link opens in a new window An international reference bibliography of academic publications on the Renaissance and the early modern period. Indexed sources range from monographs, critical editions, translations, anthologies, miscellanies and exhibition catalogues to specialised dictionaries and encyclopaedias, handbooks, journal articles and reviews. The core of the Bibliography focuses on European history and culture that spans the 16th and 17th centuries, and encompasses a broad spectrum of subjects, ranging from religious history through to philosophy, science and the arts; and from military and political history through to social and gender studies.

French

Latin

International medieval bibliography This link opens in a new window
Oxford bibliographies. Medieval studies This link opens in a new window
Oxford bibliographies. Renaissance and Reformation This link opens in a new window

Cambridge companions online This link opens in a new window

An Annotated Index of Medieval Women (print only)

Feminae : medieval women and gender index. This link opens in a new window

Primary Sources library guide

Med Ren resources

If you'd like to go browse the shelves, some relevant locations are listed below. Otherwise you can search for books (print and electronic) in Search.

Early Medieval Europe	940.12
Medieval Architecture	723
Medieval Art	709.02
Medieval Europe	940.1
Medieval Florence	945.51
Medieval literature	809.02
Medieval monasticism	271.0094
Medieval Philosophy - Eastern	181
Medieval Philosophy - Western	189
Religion in Medieval Europe	274.05
Medieval history, Crusades	909.07
Italian renaissance	945.05
European renaissance	940.21

Below are some of the key journals in Medieval and Renaissance history. Search many journals at one time by using the Library Databases.

In History there are, broadly speaking, two types of databases: those you use to find primary sources, and those you use for journal articles. For primary sources look at the Primary Sources library guide.

For journal articles, books, theses, conference papers and more:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
International medieval bibliography This link opens in a new window