Asian history resources
Reference works are books and other materials that provide information on a specific topic. Examples include dictionaries, encyclopaedias, almanacs, and handbooks. They are often consulted for background information, to clarify concepts, or to find specific facts or details on a subject, and may provide useful bibliographies for further reading.
- KRpia : Knowledge Reference Service Full-text collection of Korean classical books (133 titles in 10 subjects). Users may search and retrieve primary sources, oral sources, classical texts, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and general reference works in fields such as Korean history, literature, civilization, medicine, architecture, and natural history.
If you can't find something relevant in the list above then go to Search and copy the following search (replace colonialism with your own keywords): colonialism AND (handbook OR companion OR encyclopedia OR encyclopaedia OR dictionary)
| If you'd like to go browse the shelves, some relevant locations are listed below. Otherwise you can search for books (print and electronic) in Search. |
| Asia, Far East | 950 |
| British and European imperialism | 325.34 |
| British Empire | 909.0971241 |
| Burma - history | 959.1 |
| Burma - religion and politics | 322.09591 |
| Burma - social conditions | 306.09591 |
| Burma in the period of British conquest | 959.103 |
| Burma in the period of British rule | 959.104 |
| Burma's armed forces | 322.509591 |
| China - history | 951 |
| China - history, 1912-1949 | 951.04 |
| Cambodia - history | 959.6 |
| Indonesia - history | 959.8 |
| Japan - history | 952 |
| Japan in WWII | 940.5352 |
| Java - history | 959.82 |
| Korea - history | 951.9 |
| Nationalism in Indonesia | 320.9598 |
| Period of European exploration and penetration, 1480-1905 | 950.3 |
| Raden Adjeng Kartini | 923.791 |
| South Asia - history | 954 |
| South Asia - history 1858 - 1947 | 954.035 |
| Southeast Asia in WWII | 940.5359 |
| Southeast Asia - history | 959 |
| Sukarno | 923.191 |
| Vietnam | 959.7 |
| Vietnamese War, 1961-1975 | 959.7043 |
| Women in Indonesia - issues | 302.4209598 |
In History there are, broadly speaking, two types of databases: those you use to find primary sources, and those you use for journal articles. For primary sources look at the Primary Sources library guide.
For journal articles, books, theses, conference papers, ebook collections and more:
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI) via Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- CNKI: China National Knowledge Infrastructure (Zhongguo qi kan quan wen shu ju ku) This link opens in a new window
- History culture series This link opens in a new window
- Korean history & culture research database = Han'guk yoksa munhwa chosa charyo deitobeisu This link opens in a new window
For more, look at the full list of History databases. You may also find some of the key Asian studies databases useful.