American history resources
Reference works are books and other materials that provide information on a specific topic. Examples include dictionaries, encyclopaedias, almanacs, and handbooks. They are often consulted for background information, to clarify concepts, or to find specific facts or details on a subject, and may provide useful bibliographies for further reading.
There's a selection of titles above but if you can't find something relevant in the list then go to Search and copy the following search (replace civil war with your own keywords): civil war AND (handbook OR companion OR encyclopedia OR encyclopaedia OR dictionary)
| If you'd like to go browse the shelves, some relevant locations are listed below. Otherwise you can search for books (print and electronic) in Search. |
| Administration of Abraham Lincoln, 1861-1865, Civil War | 973.7 |
| African-American history | 973.0496073 |
| African-American politics | 323.1196073 |
| American civil rights activists, abolitionists and social reformers | 923.673 |
| Colonial period | 973.2 |
| Constitutional period | 973.4 |
| Periods of Revolution and Confederation, 1775-1789 | 973.3 |
| Political history | 320.0973 |
| Race, race relations and racism | 305.8 |
| Race and ethnicity in the United States | 305.800973 |
| Reconstruction period | 973.8 |
| Southern States history, 1865-1950 | 975.04 |
| United States history | 973 |
| 1809-1845 | 973.5 |
| 1845-1861 | 973.6 |
| 1901 onwards | 973.9 |
In History there are, broadly speaking, two types of databases: those you use to find primary sources, and those you use for journal articles. For primary sources look at the Primary Sources library guide.
For journal articles, books, theses, conference papers and more:
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI) via Web of Science This link opens in a new window
For more, look at the full list of History databases.
Below are some of the key journals in American history. Clicking on the covers will take you to the journal record in Search. To go to the journal articles, click on View it and select one database. To search across a wide selection of journals, use one of the recommended databases in the previous 'Journal article databases' tab.
|
American Nineteenth Century History |
Civil War History |
|
The Journal of American History |
The Journal of Southern History |
|
The American Historical Review |
The Journal of Negro History |
|
The Western Historical Quarterly |
