Engineering and STEMM Databases
These large comprehensive databases, (indexes) cover the areas of Engineering, Sciences and Medicine. Their size makes them the best place to search unless your area of study is highly specialised.
Note: Compendex, GeoBase, GeoRef, Inspec, EP patents, US patents, WO patents are accessed via the Engineering Village platform
General Engineering
- Australian engineering database (Informit) This link opens in a new windowThe Australian Institution of Engineers database, ENGINE offers access to conference papers, journal articles, books, news articles and unpublished papers. Covers all branches of engineering. Full text availabale where Monash holds a subscription.
- Compendex (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowDatabase of Engineering articles, conference proceedings, patents and technical reports. focuses on bioengineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, nuclear technology, aerospace and automotive engineering/transportation.
- INSPEC This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of Journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, patents and books as well as a research intelligence tool, 'Inspec Analytics' covering physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and information technology.
- Knovel library This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of Engineering books, articles, conference proceedings, formulae and documentation relating to materials science & engineering.
Comprehensive Multidisciplinary Databases
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of peer-reviewed scientific, technical, engineering, medical and other literature (includes conference proceedings, books patents and trade publications) .Full text available where the library holds a subscription. Also offers Research intelligence tools.
- Web of science -- all databases This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of peer-reviewed scientific, technical, engineering and medical literature citations (includes conference proceedings, books patents and trade publications). Full text available where the library holds a subscription.
Comprehensive Medical
- Ovid MEDLINE (R) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available where the library holds a subscription.
Materials Science and Engineering Databases
These are smaller, specialist databases focusing on the area of Materials Science and engineering.
- ASM materials information This link opens in a new windowEnables cross searching of ASM's online reference content, including the ASM handbooks online and the ASM Alloy Center Online, featuring ASM property data, performance charts, and processing guidelines for specific metals and alloys; 3. ASM Micrograph Center Online, with over 3500 micrographs for industrially important alloys; 4. ASM Failure Analysis Center Online, with case histories and handbook information on failure mechanisms and analysis methods; 5. ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center with 30,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowReaxys is a powerful data-searching tool designed to retrieve chemical reactions, substance data and other related information. It can be searched in a number of ways, including chemical structure, formula, and physical property parameters. Three databases were combined to create the Reaxys database: the Beilstein database, the Gmelin database, and the Patent Chemistry database.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Chemical Society, SciFinder-n allows you to search the scientific literature for specific chemicals, structures, compounds, syntheses, reactions, and reagents (as well as key concepts). To access SciFinder-n, Monash University users must first register
- Scitation This link opens in a new windowScitation is a leading online publishing platform for the American Institute of Physics (AIP), which hosts news, comment, analysis and research in the physical sciences. It contains over two million articles in fields that include physics, chemistry geosciences, engineering, acoustics and more, and provides full-text access to journals published and distributed by the AIP, and its member societies. Scitation also hosts more than 30 scholarly publishers, and its wide variety of content includes hundreds of journals, thousands of conference proceedings, as well as ebooks, standards, patents, databases, and magazines.
- SpringerMaterials : the Landolt-BoĢrnstein database This link opens in a new windowProduced by Springer, SpringerMaterials provides access to a wide range of research materials and documentation relating to a variety of material classes, property types, and applications
Journals
The Library subscribes to a variety of journals that publish articles relating to the Department of Materials Science & Engineering's research themes. If you’re looking for a journal, rather than a specific article, you can search the BrowZine Engineering and Technical section or ‘Library Search’ by title.
Additive Manufacturing
Access articles published in journals covering research in Manufacturing, including...
Materials for Additive Manufacturing by Publication Date: 2021
Biomaterials
Access articles published in journals covering research in Biological & Biomimetic Materials, including...
Acta Biomaterialia by Publication Date: 2005 - Present
Functional and Energy Materials
Access articles published in journals covering research in Materials Science, including...
Advanced Energy Materials by Publication Date: 2011 - Present
Metals and Alloys
Access articles published in journals covering research in Metals, including...
Metallurgical and Materials Transactions A: Physical Metallurgy and Materials Science by Publication Date: 1975 - Present
Polymers
Access articles published in journals covering research in Polymer & Organic Materials, including...
Progress in Polymer Science by Publication Date: 1967 - Present
Materials Theory, Modelling, and Characterisation
Access articles published in journals covering research in Testing Of Materials, including...
Materials Characterization by Publication Date: 1990 - Present
Background Resources
Background resources provide an overview of various Materials Science & Engineering concepts, methods, processes, and theories, and may include books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks. These resources are authoritative sources of information, but are easier to read compared to research articles published in journals.
- ASM handbooks online This link opens in a new windowCovers the structure, properties, processing, performance, and evaluation of metals and nonmetallic engineering materials. It features the complete content of twenty-five ASM handbook volumes, plus two ASM desk editions; 1. Engineered materials handbook and 2. Metals handbook.
- RSC (Royal Society of Chemistry) books This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the Royal Society of Chemistry's book publications focused on chemical sciences and related areas.
- ACS symposium series This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the American Chemical Society's complete range of books, on topics including cellulose and renewable materials, polymer chemistry, and materials chemistry
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (102nd Edition) by Publication Date: June 2021- Materials for Additive Manufacturing by Publication Date: 2021
Chemistry of Functional Materials Surfaces and Interfaces: Fundamentals and Applications by Publication Date: 2021
Popular Magazines
Browsing popular magazines in your research field can be a great way to keep up to date with new developments, and introduce yourself to new concepts and topics you may not be familiar with. Below are some key popular/magazine titles published by various professional societies related to materials science and engineering.
Note: These magazines are not peer-reviewed journals, and cannot be used as a scholarly/academic source in your research.
Advanced Materials & Processes by Publication Date: 1985 - Present
MRS Bulletin by Publication Date: 1974 - Present
Create by Publication Date: 2015 - Present
Women In Engineering by Publication Date: 2007 - Present