Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Databases
These are smaller, specialist databases focusing on the area of Mechanical & Aerospace engineering.
- ACM digital library This link opens in a new windowCovers full text journals and proceedings from the Association. It also includes works published by affiliated organisations.
- ACS publications This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the electronic full text versions of journals published (or co-published) by the American Chemical Society.
- Annual reviews This link opens in a new windowAnnual Reviews publishes authoritative reviews in focused disciplines within engineering and more.
- IEEE Xplore digital library This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers (IEEE), provides access to IEEE transactions, journals, books, conference proceedings of IEEE and IEE published since 1988, and all current IEEE Standards.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowCovers journal articles, book titles, including major reference works series with a focus on physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and to a lesser extent social sciences and the humanities.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Chemical Society, SciFinder-n allows you to search the scientific literature for specific chemicals, structures, compounds, syntheses, reactions, and reagents (as well as key concepts). To access SciFinder-n, Monash University users must first register
- SPIE digital library This link opens in a new windowOptics and photonics information: technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings, and eBooks from SPIE Press from 1962 to present.
Journals
The Library subscribes to a variety of journals that publish articles relating to the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering's research themes. If you’re looking for a journal, rather than a specific article, you can search the BrowZine Engineering and Technical section or ‘Library Search’ by title.
- Advanced engineering materials
"Focuses on all the latest breakthroughs in engineering materials. The journal covers a variety of key topics, such as composites, ceramics, intermetallics, and coatings, and also high-temperature, cellular, and biomedical materials, as well as innovative manufacturing techniques." - Engineering failure analysis
"Provides an essential reference for analysing and preventing engineering failures, emphasising the investigation of the failure mechanisms, the identification of the failure's root causes, and the proposal of preventive actions to avoid new failures. " - Journal of wind engineering and industrial aerodynamics
"The objective of the journal is to provide a means for the publication and interchange of information, on an international basis, on all those aspects of wind engineering...including social and economic impact of wind effects, and more." - Optical engineering
"Publishes peer-reviewed articles reporting on research, development, and applications of optics and photonics. Primary topical areas include: imaging components, systems, and processing; optical instrumentation, techniques, and measurement; optical design and engineering; lasers, fiber optics, and communications; and optical materials, photonic devices, and sensors." - Renewable energy
"An international, multi-disciplinary journal in renewable energy engineering and research. The journal aims to be a leading peer-reviewed platform and an authoritative source of original research and reviews related to renewable energy."
Conference Proceedings
- ASME digital collection. Conference publications and proceedings This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts and full-text access to conference proceedings sponsored or published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Browsable by conference series and name, volume title, areas of interest and technology/industry group.
- SAE mobilus This link opens in a new windowIndexes citations and document summaries of books, standards, journal articles, conference papers, on mobility research worldwide. Topics covered include advances and research in mobility engineering, including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology. Full text access is available to Technical Papers published by the Society of Automotive Engineers from 1998 to date. However, Monash University Library subscription does not include access to the Standards.
- SPIE digital library This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive resource for optics and photonics information, providing access to more than 500,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings, and nearly 400 eBooks from SPIE Press from 1962 to present.
Background Resources
Background resources provide an overview of various Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering concepts, methods, processes, and theories, and may include books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks. These resources are an authoritative source of information, but are easier to read compared to research articles published in journals.
- Marks' standard handbook for mechanical engineers
"This handbook solves mechanical engineering problem quickly and easily. Nearly 1800 pages of mechanical engineering facts, figures, standards, and practices, 2000 illustrations, and 900 tables clarifying important mathematical and engineering principles." - Encyclopedia of materials: Composites
2021
"A three-volume, comprehensive collection of the most important data, concepts and studies published in the field. This title is clearly structured in thematic sections, making it an invaluable tool for researchers in the fields of materials science, energy, engineering, chemistry and physics, and from both industry and academia." - Encyclopedia of materials: Metals and alloys
2022
"A four-volume multidisciplinary reference work offering a comprehensive coverage of this exciting area, and consolidating research activities in all experimental and theoretical aspects of metallic materials, intermetallic compounds, alloys, blends and composites." - Encyclopedia of nuclear energy
2021
"This four-volume encyclopedia brings together the vast and highly diversified literature related to nuclear energy into a single resource, with convenient to read, cross-referenced chapters." - Mechanical engineering
2023
The book covers static and dynamic engineering systems, fluid systems and additive manufacturing and much more.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowAccess restricted to 5 concurrent users only. A selection of engineering ebooks focused around 14 major areas of engineering. It features comprehensive coverage in the following subject areas: Biomedical, Chemical, Civil, Communications, Construction, Electrical, Energy, Environmental, Green/Sustainable, Industrial, Material Science, Mechanical, Nanotechnology and Optical.
- Knovel library This link opens in a new windowAn extensive, searchable online library of full-text content from leading technical publishers and professional societies including AIAA, AIChE, ASHRAE, ASM, ASME, DIPPR and NACE. It includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines, reference handbooks, and conference proceedings.