Skip to content

Library Search: Search results

Help with using Search, the Library's discovery platform

Brief results

The Brief results display all the items that match your search query. For each item, the following information displays:

  • Resource Type - Representing by a recourse type icon and a label to the left of the item record, this indicates the format of the item, such as book, article, journal, and so forth.
  • Title - Clicking the title displays the item's detailed information.
  • Author, creator, and date - the item's author, creator, and publication date
  • Availability status - Indicates whether an item is available for loan, currently on loan or accessible online
  • e-Shelf icon - Click the Star icon star icon hollownext to the title to add or remove the item from your basket. A highlighted star star icon highlightedindicates that you have already added it to your e-Shelf.

Availability and access

Library resources may be accessed physically, electronically or a mix of both. The availability status in the brief results display provides information about how an item can be accessed:

Available, Not available

An item is physically available for loan or currently on loan. The Get It tab provides further information about the location of the item and/or its due back date.

Full text available. The library also has physical copies.

An item may be available both physically and online. The Get it and View It tabs will provide further details respectively.

Full text available

The full text of an item, typically a journal article or an ebook is accessible online via links inside the View It tab.

No full text online

The Library system's automatic link resolver is unable to determine the availability of an electronic item. Look inside the Check for full text tab for more options such as physical copies in the library or Document delivery (for eligible users only).

Note: This type of results generally will not be displayed until the Expand results options is checked.

Tabs

If you would like to see more information on an item, you can select one of the tabs located below each brief item record:

View It

The View It tab displays access information of items that are available online. If the item has multiple entries, click an entry to display the item on a new page.

Details

The Details tab displays the item’s full record. Try clicking on the additional links.

Get It

The Get It tab displays information about the item's location and availability. To get more information on the location that holds the item, click on the location name. Also use the request options (when signed in) to place holds on items.

Reviews & Tags

The Reviews and Tags tab enables you to add, delete, and update reviews and tags for an item. More information about tagging can be found in this guide.

Virtual Browse

virtual browse tab

The Virtual Browse tab that shows items that are placed contiguously in the library collection, by call number.

It displays a scrolling list of book cover images of other titles held in the Library's collection that have similar call numbers to the item you are viewing. It is a useful tool for exploring additional titles in same subject area.

inside virtual browse tab

Actions menu

When a tab is open for an item, an Actions drop-down menu appear at the top right hand corner of the tab. Each item on this menu allows you to perform a different export action on the record of this item.

actions menu

e-Shelf

Adds the item record to your e-Shelf

E-mail

Sends the item record to a nominated email address along with an optional message

Print

Prints the detail of the item records

Permalink

Generates a shortened stable URL to the item record. There are also other ways to link to Library resources.

Citation

Generates a formatted bibliography of the item using a predefined referencing style such as APA 6th, MLA 7th and Chicago. There are other detailed guides for citing and referencing.

EasyBib

Exports the item record to your EasyBib account

EndNote Web

Exports the item record to your EndNot Online account

Delicious

Exports the item record to your Delicious account

EndNote Desktop (RIS)

Generates an RIS file that is compatible with major bibliographical management software such as EndNote

Sorted by

Search results can be sorted in different ways using the Sorted by drop-down menu. By default they are sorted by relevance. Subsequent searches will take on the last sorted by criterion used.

Relevance

Search results are ranked according to their relevance to the search terms used.

Date-newest

Search results are in a descending order according to the item's creation date.

Title

Search results are ordered alphabetically by title.

Date-oldest

Search results are in an ascending order according to item's creation date. This sort is only applied to items in the Library collections scope.

Popularity

Search results are ordered according to their usage. Items that are viewed more often by users appear high on the results list.

Expand results

Checking the Include records with no full text online box will retrieve additional search results that are typically labeled as No full text online. Although many of these items will not have online access directly, their bibliographical information may still be useful for your research. The Library may also have alternative access options for some of these resources.

Open the Check for full text tab to find more access options including:

  • Physical holdings of the journal/book this item appeared in
  • Document delivery services for eligible users (sign in required)

bX hot articles

A dynamic service that displays a list of 10 mostly viewed research articles in the recent weeks. This list can be filted by subject areas. By default, the bX hot articles panel is closed. This service can also be used as an app on a mobile device.

bx hot articles panel

Personalise your search results

Search can present you with a personalised results page by ranking the search results according to the information you have provided.

To enable this feature:

  • Select Edit from the Personalize your results
  • Make the selection and choose OK to continue
    Personalize your results feature

The search results will reorder according to your choices.

Select the Personalize tag Personalized results indication tag above the results list to reset to the default order.

Note: The personalisation only applies to the current search session. Please redo the search if you have modified your personlisation preferences or reset the results to default order.