Skip to Main Content

Business and Economics: Journal articles

For students undertaking Accounting, Banking & Finance, Business, Law & Taxation, Economics, Econometrics & Business Statistics, Management and Marketing at Monash University

Introduction

Effectively searching for, reading and using journal articles in your assignments and academic projects are key academic skills. This page:

  • describes academic and non-academic journal articles, with examples
  • introduces key databases for exploring the journal literature in business and economics
  • includes advice and short tutorials on database searching and locating and reading journal articles. 

For in-depth advice on effective information research for assignments and research projects go to Finding and evaluating information.

About journal articles


Complete lists of databases for Business and Economics, and other disciplines are at Databases by Subject

Academic journals

Academic journal articles are the primary means for academics to report their research to other experts and collectively build the knowledge in that field. Before acceptance for publication in an academic journal, a submitted article must typically pass "peer review". In this process, other experts in the field (peers) assess the value, validity and quality of the research the article is reporting. Peer review is a form of quality control practiced across all disciplines, aiming to maintain the highest possible standards of research.

Academic journals/articles may also be referred to as scholarly journals/articles and an alternative term to peer review(ed) is “refereed”, as in refereed journal or refereed article.

Try this short tutorial on the key features of an academic journal article and how to read them effectively.

 

Non-academic journals

Non-academic journals can provide current business and economic news and practical examples that relate to the theory and research discussed in the academic literature.

In contrast to academic journals, they are journalistic in style, do not include references, and often contain images and advertising. Non-academic journal articles are typically short (1-3 pages). Editors ensure journalistic quality. The following links are to examples of each main type of publication:

 

Trade or industry magazines report on a particular industry or business sector

Professional magazines communicate news and practical advice, covering issues relevant to professionals in that field

Non-academic articles are classified as Magazines or Trade Publications in the Business Source Complete database, and as Magazines or Trade Journals in the ProQuest database.

 

For business news sources also check the News sources page in this guide.

 

 

Academic journal articles include a review of relevant academic literature, as well as references to other works used to support the arguments being expressed. Often links to an article's references are provided in the article database record, or in the online article itself, making it easy to access the full text of a reference.

Otherwise, to obtain an article from the citation details (e.g. found in the reference list):

  1. Go to Search.
  2. Click Journals, enter the journal or news source title (not the article title) in quotation marks e.g. “journal of management”, and click Go.
  3. From the retrieved record, access the online version, where available, and drill down to the relevant volume and issue.