The study of corporations law includes the regulation of both companies and the securities and futures industries. Business law covers the areas of contract, agency, banking, insurance, finance, and trade practices.
See also the Company, industry and market library guide.
For assistance from the Library, book a 15 minute Zoom meeting with a Librarian or email librarians@monash.edu with questions.
Research at Monash
The Centre for Commercial Law and Regulatory Studies (CLARS) at Monash University Law School facilitates innovative research in commercial law, corporate governance and regulation.
Resources for Australian Corporations & Business law
- ASIC digest (Westlaw Australia) This link opens in a new windowCompiles the current literature of the ASIC on its activities under the Corporations Law and other national scheme laws.
- Business collection (Informit) This link opens in a new windowCovers all broad business fields, including: accounting, career development, commercial law, commodities and corporate governance
- Business source complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly business database offering indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886
- DatAnalysis premium This link opens in a new windowComprehensive data on all companies listed on the ASX since 1990
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowAccess to full text coverage of Australian newspapers, and newspapers and news wires from around the world
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowDetailed analysis of over 500 Australian industries including company performance and market characteristics
- Lexis advance This link opens in a new windowThe new platform for LexisNexis AU, providing access to Australian cases, legislation and commentary.
- TimeBase corporations point-in-time service This link opens in a new windowContains Commonwealth Corporations Legislation, related full text Federal Court and High Court Cases.
Australian corporations legislation databases
Australian corporations legislation reprinted in books
Use the case citator CaseBase or Westlaw Australia (Cases) to find specific cases from Australian courts.
There are a number of Rules, Guidance Notes and Waivers produced by the ASX, including Operating Rules and Listing Rules.
These can be read on the ASX Website in the Regulation section.
Databases containing ASX materials
- CCH IntelliConnectContains ASX Listing Rules (including Legislative History), ASX Listing Rules Commentary, and ASX Listing Rules Guidance Notes.
- Lexis AdvanceContains ASX Operating Rules and ASX Enforcement and Appeals Rulebook
Resources for International Corporations & Business law
- ABI/INFORM global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIn-depth coverage of over 3,730 publications with more than 2,670 available in full text
- Business source complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly business database offering indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886
- Econlit (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowLeading index to articles from over 550 economics journals, including selected Australian titles
- Lexology : getting the deal through This link opens in a new windowOffers comprehensive overviews of legal information, including areas of corporate and business, in 70 practice areas in over 150 jurisdictions
- MarketLine advantage This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of company, industry, financial and country information across every major marketplace worldwide
- Passport This link opens in a new windowEuromonitor International's global market analysis software platform providing analysis of industries worldwide
- International Encyclopaedia of Laws: Commercial and Economic LawJurisdiction: International
- International Encyclopaedia of Laws: Corporations and PartnershipsJurisdiction: International
- Malaysian and Singapore Company Law PracticeJurisdiction: Malaysia and Singapore
- New Zealand Company Law and Practice CommentaryJurisdiction: New Zealand
- Palmer's Company LawJurisdiction: United Kingdom
- British Company Law and PracticeJurisdiction: United Kingdom
- Malaysian Companies LegislationJurisdiction: Malaysia
- New Zealand Company Law and Practice LegislationJurisdiction: New Zealand
- Australian and New Zealand Insurance CasesJurisdiction: New Zealand
- British Company CasesJurisdiction: United Kingdom
- Business Law ReportsJurisdiction: United Kingdom
- Butterworths Company Law CasesJurisdictions: United Kingdom
- Carswell's Business Law ReportsJurisdiction: Canada
- European Commercial CasesJurisdiction: Europe
- Malaysian and Singapore Company and Securities Law CasesJurisdiction: Malaysia and Singapore
- NZ Company Law CasesJurisdiction: New Zealand
- Business Law Today (1992 - present)Jurisdiction: United States
- The Company Lawyer (1980 - present)Jurisdiction: United Kingdom
- The Corporate Governance Advisor (1992 - present)Jurisdiction: United States
- Delaware Journal of Corporate Law (1976 - present)Jurisdiction: United States
- European Business Organization Law Review (2000 - present)Jurisdiction: Europe
- European Company Law (2004 - present)Jurisdiction: Europe
- Fordham Journal of Corporate and Financial Law (2000 - present)Jurisdiction: United States
- Harvard Business Law Review (2011 - present)Jurisdiction: United States
- Journal of Business and Securities Law (2005 - present)Jurisdiction: United States
- Journal of Business Law (1957 - present)Jurisdiction: United Kingdom
- Journal of Corporate Law Studies (2001 - present)Jurisdiction: United Kingdom
- Journal of Corporation Law (1975 - present)Jurisdiction: United States
- Virginia Law and Business Review (2006 - present)Jurisdiction: United States
- Controller and Auditor-GeneralJurisdiction: New Zealand
- European Securities and Markets AuthorityJurisdiction: European Union
- Federal Deposit Insurance AgencyJurisdiction: United States
- Federal Trade CommissionJurisdiction: United States
- Financial Conduct AuthorityJurisdiction: United Kingdom
- Harvard Law School Forum on Corporate GovernanceJurisdiction: United States
- Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEsJurisdiction: European Union
- International Organization of Securities CommissionsJurisdiction: International
- Takeover PanelJurisdiction: United Kingdom
- US Securities and Exchange CommissionJurisdiction: United States
- World Federation of Stock ExchangesJurisdiction: International