Restorative justice is a theory of justice that emphasises repairing the harm caused by criminal behaviour (Restorative Justice Online)
Therapeutic jurisprudence is a branch of jurisprudence that focuses on questions of well-being in relation to those who come into contact with the law and the justice system. (Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary)
View a slideshow discussing the definition of restorative justice (Restorative Justice Online).
View this clip from the Ministry of Justice UK, Giving Victims a Voice (YouTube)
Look at Restorative Justice is The Law, a 48 minute film exploring the common ground between restorative justice, human rights and the law by Heartspeak & Fraser Region Community Justice Initiatives
Resources
Victim Participation Rights Variation Across Criminal Justice Systems by ISBN: 3030045463Publication Date: 2019
Routledge International Handbook of Restorative Justice by ISBN: 9781317041801Publication Date: 2019
Understanding Transitional Justice: A Struggle for Peace, Reconciliation and Rebuilding by ISBN: 9783319536064Publication Date: 2017
For key law databases check the Law Databases Library Guide
- Australasian Therapeutic Jurisprudence ClearinghouseDatabase to promote the exchange of information concerning therapeutic jurisprudence and its application and development within Australasia.
- Civil Justice Research OnlineA repository of Australasian research and news relevant to individuals and organisations with an interest in the areas of civil justice and alternative dispute resolution (ADR). Administered by the Australian Centre for Justice Innovation (ACJI), Monash University.
- European Forum for Restorative JusticeDatabase containing newsletters, reports, videos, conference material, links to key books, and a searchable database of RJ teaching programs
- International Juvenile Justice ObservatoryDocumentation Center database contains full-text articles and reports, theses/dissertations, multimedia content, statistics and legislation by country.
- Restorative Justice for All (RJ4All)An educational e-platform for the free dissemination of information on restorative justice, including and encyclopedia, the Internet Journal of Restorative Justice and an online library.
- Restorative Justice Legislative DirectoryDirectory cataloguing and categorising the ways in which US states have codified the use of restorative justice practices
Use the Legal Commentary Library Guide to search for journal articles in law and general academic journal article databases
- Contemporary Justice Review: CJR (1998 - present)Jurisdiction: International
- International Journal of Restorative Justice (2018 - present)Jurisdiction: International
- International Journal of Restorative Justice - CRJCS (2009 - 2010)Jurisdiction: International
- The International Journal of Therapeutic Jurisprudence (2016 - present)Jurisdiction: International
- Restorative Justice (2013 - present)Jurisdiction: United Kingdom
- Victims and Offenders (2006 - present)Jurisdiction: International
- Twelve Month Program Evaluation: Restorative Justice ProjectQueensland Department of Child Safety, Youth and Women Youth Justice. Final Report, May 2018
- Restorative Justice in the Australian Criminal Justice SystemBy Jacqueline Joudo Larsen. AIC Reports Research and Public Policy Series. February 2014
- Restorative Justice Initiatives: Public Opinion and Support in NSWNSW Bureau of Crime Statistics and Research Brief No. 77, February 2012
- First Phase Review of Restorative JusticeFindings of the review of Phase 1 of the Crimes (Restorative Justice) Act 2004. ACT Government Justice and Community Safety, December 2012
- Court Intervention Programs: Final ReportLaw Reform Commission of Western Australia, June 2009