"Taxation in Australia is levied at three levels of government: Federal, State and local. Examples of Federal taxes include income tax, fringe benefits tax, goods and services tax, sales tax, customs and excise duty, and departure tax. State taxes include land tax, payroll tax, stamp duty, financial institutions duty, and debits tax. Local government taxes include property rates" (Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary).
Research at Monash
Centre for Commercial Law and Regulatory Studies (CLARS) at Monash University Law School facilitates innovative research in commercial law, corporate governance and regulation.
Tax Law Research Group - at the Monash Business School focuses on collaborative, qualitative and qualitative research across the taxation arena ranging from corporate and income taxation to energy and mineral resources taxation, taxation sanctions, international taxation and goods and services taxation.
Australian taxation law
For previous editions use our Library Search
- ACCOUNTIncludes published and unpublished materials on accounting and related business topics including taxation.
- AGIS Plus TextIndexing and full text database that provides access to journal articles on all aspects of law including taxation law.
- Australian Public AffairsIndexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities including taxation law
- CaseBaseCases and journal articles on taxation law.
- CCH iKnowConnectTax library contains a wide range of resources.
- Checkpoint (formerly Tax and Accounting Online)Wide range of primary and secondary resources.
- Newsbank NewspapersComplete full-text content of many local, regional, national & international newspapers.
- VALISE: Victorian Audit Library Information DatabaseIndexes articles on auditing, internal auditing, public finance and administration, and related topics.
- Westlaw Australia (Cases)Cases and journal articles on taxation law.
- CCH iKnowConnect Tax LibraryFull text online access to tax related CCH loose-leaf texts and other services
- CheckpointContains a wide range of both tax and accounting information including case law, legislation and tools such as calculators and templates
Legislation Databases
- ATO Legal DatabaseFind law, interpretations and policy that the ATO uses when making decisions
- ATO Legal Database: View a Legislative ProvisionFull text legislative provisions
- CheckpointContains a wide range of both tax and accounting information including case law, legislation and tools such as calculators and templates
- GST Legislation: TimeBasePoint-in-time legislation for GST legislation
- Income Tax Legislation: TimeBasePoint-in-time legislation for income tax legislation
Australian Legislation
Australian Legislation Reprinted in Books
Use the case citator CaseBase or Westlaw Australia (Cases) to find specific cases from Australian courts.
International taxation law
- ABI/Inform CollectionContains titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.
- Accounting, Tax and Banking CollectionContains essential publications for information about the financial services industry, including accounting, tax, banking, and industry trends.
- Business Source CompleteScholarly business database, providing bibliographic and full text content.
- EconLitIndex to articles from over 550 economics journals, including selected Australian titles.
- European Tax SurveysAuthoritative and complete survey of tax systems in operation in Europe.
- FactivaProvides access to full text coverage of Australian newspapers, and newspapers and news wires from around the world.
- Global Tax SurveysAuthoritative survey of tax systems throughout the world.
- IBFD: Tax Research PlatformPortal to high quality independent tax research, international tax information and tax education.
- LegalTracBibliographic database that indexes and selectively abstracts articles from law reviews and, speciality law and bar association journals and legal newspapers.
- North American Tax surveysComprehensive overview of the tax systems in Canada, Mexico and the United States.
- Taxation and Economic Reform in AmericaDocumentary materials for American Federal tax and revenue research
- Westlaw US & InternationalIncludes access to United States state and federal primary legal materials, foreign primary and secondary legal materials.
- IBFD International Tax Glossaryvia the IBFD Tax Research Platform
- IBFD Tax Research PlatformDatabase containing independent tax research, international tax information and tax education.
- CCH British Tax Cases (1982 - 2004)Jurisdiction: United Kingdom
- Dominion Tax Cases (1943 - 2002)Jurisdiction: Canada
- IBFD Tax Research PlatformIncludes Tax Treaty Case Law.
- International Tax Law Reports (1998 - present)Jurisdiction: International
- Malaysia and Singapore Tax Cases (1950 - 1988)Jurisdiction: Malaysia and Singapore
- New Zealand Tax Cases (1973 - present)Jurisdiction: New Zealand
- Simon's Tax Cases (1973 - present)Jurisdiction: United Kingdom
- American Journal of Tax Policy (1982 - 1998)Jurisdiction: United States
- Asia-Pacific Tax Bulletin (1995 - present)Jurisdiction: Asia-Pacific
- Bulletin for International Taxation (2006 - present)Jurisdiction: International
- Canadian Tax Journal (1953 - present)Jurisdiction: Canada
- Canadian Taxation (1979 - 1981)Jurisdiction: Canada
- Derivatives and Financial Instruments (1999 - 2014)Jurisdiction: Europe
- EC Tax Review (1992 - present)Jurisdiction: Europe
- European Taxation (1961-present)Jurisdiction: Europe
- International Transfer Pricing Journal (1993 - present)Jurisdiction: International
- International VAT Monitor (1990 - present)Jurisdiction: International
- Intertax: European Tax Review (1973 - present)Jurisdiction: Europe
- Journal of Taxation (1954 - present)Jurisdiction: United States
- National Tax Journal (1948 - present)Jurisdiction: United States
- New Zealand Journal of Taxation Law and Policy (1994 - present)Jurisdiction: New Zealand
- Tax Adviser (1970 - present)Jurisdiction: United States
- Tax Law Review (1945 - present)Jurisdiction: United States
- Tax Lawyer (1967 - present)Jurisdiction: United States
- Tax Management International Journal (1972 - present)Jurisdiction: International
- Tax Notes (1972 - present)Jurisdiction: United States
- Tax Notes International (1989 - present)Jurisdiction: International
- Taxation (1927 - present)Jurisdiction: United Kingdom
- Taxes (1938 - present)Jurisdiction: United States
- World Journal of VAT/GST Law (2012-present)Jurisdiction: International
For model conventions and international tax laws, go to the IBFD tax portal (Monash subscribers only).