Skip to Main Content

Area of Law: Taxation law

Pen, paper and calculator"Taxation in Australia is levied at three levels of government: Federal, State and local. Examples of Federal taxes include income tax, fringe benefits tax, goods and services tax, sales tax, customs and excise duty, and departure tax. State taxes include land tax, payroll tax, stamp duty, financial institutions duty, and debits tax. Local government taxes include property rates" (Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary).

The Law, Matheson, Caulfield and Peninsula libraries provide support for teaching and research in taxation law.

Contact a Law librarian or learning skills adviser or, at libraries other than Law, contact the Business and Economics Team.

Research at Monash

Centre for Commercial Law and Regulatory Studies (CLARS) at Monash University Law School facilitates innovative research in commercial law, corporate governance and regulation.

Tax Law Research Group - at the Monash Business School focuses on collaborative, qualitative and qualitative research across the taxation arena ranging from corporate and income taxation to energy and mineral resources taxation, taxation sanctions, international taxation and goods and services taxation.

Australian taxation law

For previous editions use our Library Search

Legislation Databases

Australian Legislation

Australian Legislation Reprinted in Books

International taxation law

For model conventions and international tax laws, go to the IBFD tax portal (Monash subscribers only).