Subject guides: Science: Synthesis, reactions & reagents

Other useful guides

Resources

Syntheses, Reactions & Reagents

Library subscribed resources

Syntheses & reactions: Use online tools and physical materials to better understand the syntheses you’re designing, and the reaction pathways they can take.

Reagents: Need to find out chemical properties? We have chemical handbooks, dictionaries, and other reference works which have the information you need.

Combined chemical dictionary This link opens in a new window
The combined chemical dictionary is a structured database holding information on chemical substances. It includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables.

ChemSpider
A chemical structure database providing text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources - search by chemical name and/or chemical structure.
ChemSpider SyntheticPages
An interactive database of synthetic chemistry, publishing practical and reliable organic, organometallic and inorganic chemical synthesis, reactions and procedures.

Synthetic methods on the site are updated continuously by chemists working in academic and industrial research laboratories.
eMolecules
A database of over 7 million chemical structures and chemical data from more than 140 suppliers, searchable by structure, and including links to many prominent sources of public data for spectra, physical properties, and biological properties.
Houben-Weyl Methods of Molecular Transformations (via Science Of Synthesis)
The online version of Methoden der organischen Chemie (Houben-Weyl) contains information on organic and organometallic synthetic strategies and includes access to Houben-Weyl. It provides coverage of synthetic organic chemistry. This work is designed to be the first point of reference for chemists searching for reliable synthetic methods and covers all fields of organic synthesis.

Houben-Weyl covers the whole field of organic chemistry from organometallics to alkenes.

The electronic backfile (1909-2003) provides immediate access to 146,000 product specific experimental procedures, 580,000 structures and 700,000 references in all fields of synthetic organic chemistry - dating back to the early 1800s.
Inorganic Reactions and Methods
Useful for studying how reactions take places as well as for those planning an experiment.

The authors of this series explore bond formation between elements. Reaction types that do not arise in this manner are included at the end on chapters on oxidative addition and reductive elimination. References to the primary literature are included at the end of each articles.
Inorganic Syntheses
The series is the complete and up-to-date review of the area, providing the detailed foolproof information needed by lab chemists on procedures for the preparation of important and timely inorganic compounds.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Chemistry WebBook
Provides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST under the Standard Reference Data program, including IR spectra, Mass spectra, UV/VIS spectra, Gas chromatography, and Vibrational spectra. Thermochemical data for organic and small inorganic compounds is also included.
NMR Shift DB
A database for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectra, which allows for spectrum prediction, as well as for searching spectra, structures, and other properties.
Organic Chemistry Portal
Offers an overview of recent topics, interesting reactions, and information on important chemicals for organic chemists, and includes an Organic Synthesis Search.
Organic Reaction Mechanisms Series
This series summarises the progress of work on organic reaction mechanism.
PubChem Substance
Contains validated chemical depiction information that is provided to describe substances in PubChem Substance - click on the PubChem Substance source number to link to physical properties including spectra (e.g. IR, NMR, etc.).
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
Organised by National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan, SDBS is an integrated database for organic compounds, including 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds.