Subject guides: Science: Chemistry

Other useful guides

Resources

Key Databases

The databases below connect you with various peer-reviewed materials. If you're ever unsure whether an article your reading is peer-reviewed, you can use UlrichsWeb to check.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of chemical literature, indexed journal articles and patent records, as well as chemical substances and reactions. Includes: PatentPak which allows you to search through patents to locate the chemistry within; MethodsNow synthesis contains synthesis methods and procedures, with step-by-step instructions on how to make the compounds important to your research.
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature including journals, books and conference proceedings. It also features smart tools to track, analyse and visualize research. Includes American Chemical Society journal titles.
Web of science core collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide. It also features smart tools to track, analyse and visualize research.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Data-searching tool designed to retrieve chemical reactions, substance data and other related information. Search via chemical structure, formula, and physical property parameters.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
The Proquest platform is a leading multidisciplinary portal allowing cross-search access to many key online databases, both full text and bibliographic. Databases cover academic and professional disciplines such as business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, and medicine, and consist of scholarly journals, books, video & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select from amongst individual database titles. A complete list of database titles available to Monash University students and staff is available at the site.

Specialist Chemistry Databases

CHEMnetBASE : chemical databases online. This link opens in a new window
CHEMnetBASE is a collection of chemistry databases including Polymers : a property database, Properties of Organic Compounds, and the CRC handbook of Chemistry and Physics. It also has several chemical dictionaries, in print published by Chapman & Hall/CR, structured as searchable databases.
International pharmaceutical abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database provides periodical article citations and abstracts from over 800 pharmaceutical and health related journals worldwide. Major areas of coverage include: drug reactions, toxicity, investigational drugs, drug evaluations, drug interactions, biopharmaceuticals, pharmaceuticals, drug stability, pharmacology, preliminary drug testing, pharmaceutical chemistry, drug analysis, drug metabolism, pharmacognosy, and methodology.
International tables for crystallography This link opens in a new window
The series comprises articles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research and to applications of crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials. Emphasis is given to symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal structure determination, and the physical and chemical properties of crystals. Each volume also contains discussions of theory, practical explanations and examples, all of which are useful for teaching.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a comprehensive library of important scholarly literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. It includes thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources from a wide range of academic publishers and university presses. Titles span across disciplines, including core areas such as business & economics, social sciences, education, history, language & literature and science. Current journals are linked and cross-searchable with archival journals and ebooks.
Knovel library This link opens in a new window
This is an extensive, searchable online library of full-text content from many leading technical publishers and professional societies including AIAA, AIChE, ASHRAE, ASM, ASME, DIPPR and NACE. It includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines, reference handbooks, and conference proceedings. It is designed to help engineers solve complex problems efficiently.
Merck index online This link opens in a new window
For over 120 years The Merck Index has been regarded as an authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Now it is available online from the Royal Society of Chemistry. The Merck Index Online offers the same highly authoritative information as the print edition in a convenient and easily searchable full text database. It contains over 11,500 monographs – including historic records not available in the print edition. It is updated regularly with information curated by experts.
NIOSH : the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health. This link opens in a new window
The NIOSH Web site features many different types of databases and information resources. They are categorized here by Chemical; Injury, Illness & Hazards Data and Information; Publications; Respirators and Other Personal Protective Equipment; Agriculture; and Construction. The most popular databases include the International Chemical Safety Cards, NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards, and NIOSHTIC-2.
Nutrient Data Laboratory This link opens in a new window
See: Methods and application of food composition laboratory
RSC journals This link opens in a new window
The Royal Society of Chemistry publishes 47+ peer-reviewed journals that cover the core chemical sciences including related fields such as biology, biophysics, energy and environment, engineering, materials, medicine and physics. Full text access is available for all titles.
Science of synthesis : Houben-Weyl methods of molecular transformations This link opens in a new window
Science of Synthesis provides a critical review of the synthetic methodology developed from the early 1800s to-date for the entire field of organic and organometallic chemistry. The structure-searchable online version gives easy access to the full-text methods and experimental procedures in SoS.
Spectral database for organic compounds : SDBS. This link opens in a new window
SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows, an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum.
World Scientific journals This link opens in a new window
This site provides full text access to over one hundred journals published by World Scientific. Subject coverage includes: chemistry, computer science, economics, finance and management, engineering, environmental science, materials science, mathematics, medical and life sciences, nonlinear science, physics and social sciences.

eBook Collections for Chemistry

ACS publications This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text version of journals published or co-published by the American Chemical Society.
ASM handbooks online This link opens in a new window
Reference work for metals and nonmetallic engineering materials. Contains twenty-five volumes that cover their structure, properties, processing, performance and evaluation.
Cambridge core This link opens in a new window
Hosts academic content from Cambridge University Press including ebook and journal publications.
CHEMnetBASE : chemical databases online. This link opens in a new window
Provides access chemistry databases including Polymers : a property database, Properties or Organic Compounds. Contains the CRC handbook of Chemistry and Physics and chemical dictionaries published by Chapman & Hall/CR.
Knovel library This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text materials from technical publishers and professional societies covering 23 subject areas of science and engineering including Chemistry, Chemical engineering, nanotechnology, process design, and sustainable energy and development. Includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines, reference handbooks, and conference proceedings.
RSC (Royal Society of Chemistry) books This link opens in a new window
Provides access to RSC-published books with subject coverage across the chemical sciences and related areas.
SPIE digital library This link opens in a new window
Resource for optics and photonics information contatining technical papers, journals, conference proceedings and eBooks from SPIE Press.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Platform for scholarly literature with a focus on physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, and health sciences. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, books titles, major reference work series, historical journals prior to 1995, and a growing library of open access literature.
Wiley online library This link opens in a new window
Resources covering life, health, physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Includes Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews, The Cochrane Library, eEROS, SpecInfo and the Current Protocols series.
World Scientific eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journals published by World Scientic. Subject coverage includes chemistry, computer science, economics, finance and management, engineering, environmental science, materials science, mathematics, medical and life sciences, nonlinear science, physics and social sciences. Full text access is to subscribed titles only.

Browsing the shelves

To search for relevant books held in the collection, use Monash Library Search. For tips, refer to the Library Search Guide.

The call numbers below may be useful when browsing the print books [in the Library OR in the Hargrave-Andrew Library].

Subject	Call number
Syntheses & Reactions	546 (inorganic) or 547 (organic)
Reagents	546 (inorganic) or 547.2 (organic)
Lab equipment & protocols	542

Journals are where various information resources (including peer-reviewed articles) are published. You can access journals individually, or search across many simultaneously via our Full-Text Journal collections.

Browzine This link opens in a new window
Use BrowZine to easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from Monash University Library, or through Open Access publishers, covering all disciplines.

Full Text Journal Collections for Chemistry

ACS publications This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journals published or co-published by the American Chemical Society.
RSC journals This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to peer-reviewed journals from the Royal Society of Chemistry, covering chemical sciences and related fields such as biology, biophysics, energy and environment, engineering, materials, medicine and physics.
Annual reviews This link opens in a new window
Includes authoritative reviews within the biomedical, life, physical and social sciences.
Cambridge journals online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a multidisciplinary collection of journals, covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books and reference works with a focus on physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, and health sciences.
Scientific.Net : materials science and engineering. This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals, proceedings, research papers, letters, and pre-publications notices in the area of materials science and engineering.
SPIE digital library This link opens in a new window
Resource for optics and photonics information containing technical papers, journals, conference proceedings and eBooks from SPIE Press.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Platform for scholarly literature with a focus on physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, and health sciences. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, books titles, major reference work series, historical journals prior to 1995, and a growing library of open access literature.
Wiley online library This link opens in a new window
Resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Includes Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews, The Cochrane Library, eEROS, SpecInfo and the Current Protocols series.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

The following key reference works provide review essays on a variety of topics in Chemistry and related areas. They will help clarify concepts that are unfamiliar and provide brief bibliographies.

CRC handbook of chemistry and physics : a ready-reference book of chemical and physical data
Provides a reference for chemical and physical data across a broad range of subjects, including physical constants of organic compounds, properties of the elements and inorganic compounds, thermochemistry, kinetics, electrochemistry, solution chemistry, biochemistry, analytical chemistry, molecular structure and spectroscopy, properties of solids, polymer properties, practical laboratory data and more.
Characterisation of Materials by Elton N Kaufmann
Details materials characterisation including techniques such as computational and theoretical methods, crystallography, mechanical testing, thermal analysis, optical imaging, spectroscopy, and more. al methods, as well as crystallography, mechanical testing, thermal analysis, optical imaging and spectroscopy, and more.
Comprehensive Heterocyclic Chemistry II (2nd Edition) by Alan R. Katritzky, C. W. Rees & Eric F. V. Scriven (Eds.)
Provides an up-to-date overview of heterocyclic chemistry as well as directing to more detailed reviews and original and primary literature in the field. Content focuses on heterocyclic compounds including all nucleic acids, many vitamins, sugars, hormones, antibiotics and other synthetic pharmaceuticals, most dyes, pesticides and weedkillers.
Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry III (3rd Edition) by Robert Crabtree & Mike Mingos (Eds.)
Presents an overview Organometallic Chemistry with key literature and background material from the field.
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry III
6-volume reference resource on biochemistry and molecular biology.
Encyclopedia of biomaterials and biomedical engineering
Reference work on biomaterials and biomedical engineering technologies utilising biomaterials. Covers tissue engineering, prosthetics, drug delivery, biosensors, and medical devices.
Encyclopedia of Separation Science
Data source in physico-chemical separations for the biomedical, pharmaceutical and agrochemical fields.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of chemical technology
Reference work on chemical technology. Covers chemical reactions, combinatorial synthesis and technology, environmental protection, industrial safety, pharmaceuticals, processes and process engineering and more.
Polymer Science: A Comprehensive Reference
Reference work on key areas within polymer science including chemistry/chemical engineering, materials science, biological aspects, and polymers in the environment.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of industrial chemistry
Reference work on industrial chemistry and chemical and life-science engineering.

Selected conference proceedings

ACS symposium series This link opens in a new window
MRS online proceedings library archive This link opens in a new window
SPIE digital library This link opens in a new window