Subject guides: Science: Physics and Astronomy

Other useful guides

Resources

Key Databases

ArXiv.org This link opens in a new window
e-Print service for research papers in physics, mathematics, nonlinear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics.
Astrophysics data system This link opens in a new window
Digital library portal covering publications in astronomy and astrophysics, physics, and general science, including all arXiv e-prints. Includes astronomical object information, data catalogs and data sets hosted by external archives.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic citations and abstracts of the scientific and technical literature in physics, engineering, electronics, communications, computers and computing, and information technology.
INSPIRE-HEP This link opens in a new window
Information platform for the high energy physics (HEP) scientific community, comprising 8 interlinked databases on literature, conferences, institutions, journals, researchers, experiments, jobs and data. Run in collaboration by CERN, DESY, Fermilan, IHEP, IN2P3 and SLAC.
Scitation This link opens in a new window
Scitation is a leading online publishing platform for the American Institute of Physics (AIP), which hosts news, comment, analysis and research in the physical sciences. It contains articles, conference proceedings and more.
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Abstracting and indexing citation database of peer-reviewed scientific and technical literature including journal and book titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, and quality web sources. Features smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Web of science -- all databases This link opens in a new window
Platform for cross-searching and navigating the full citation network hosted on the WoS platform, including scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

Key eBook collections

SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers with ready access to a comprehensive online collection of scientific, technological and medical journals, books, protocols, and reference works. Subject coverage has emphasis on the sciences, technology and biomedical literature.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books and reference works with a focus on physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, and health sciences.
SPIE digital library This link opens in a new window
Resource for optics and photonics information containing technical papers, journals, conference proceedings and eBooks from SPIE Press.
IOP ebooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to IOP-published eBooks for researchers across the physical sciences.
Knovel library This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text materials from technical publishers and professional societies covering 23 subject areas of science and engineering including Chemistry, Chemical engineering, nanotechnology, process design, and sustainable energy and development.

Call numbers

Monash University uses the Dewey Decimal Classification scheme to organise books and journals. The most efficient way to locate material in the library is to use Search, however the following may be useful as a guide when browsing the shelves for titles in Physics and related areas. Much of the collection is now electronic and this should be remembered when browsing shelves.

Subject	Number
Astronomy	520-525
Physics	530
Theoretical / Quantum mechanics	530.1
Fluid mechanics / Liquid mechanics	532
Pneumatics	533
Sound and related vibrations	534
Light and paraphotic phenomena	535
Laser research	535.58
Heat and thermodynamics	536
Electricity and electronics	537
Magnetism	538
Modern physics	539
Microscopy	570.282
Medical physics	610.153
Tomography	616.0757
Applied physics	621
Image processing	621.367
Computer vision	642
Essay, reports and technical writing	808.02-808.06

Selected key journals

Encyclopaedias

Concise encyclopedia of supersymmetry
Mathematical Physics explained to stimulate new developments and foster new applications of its methods to other fields
Dekker encyclopedia of nanoscience and nanotechnology
Covers fundamental nano principles, theories, and methodologies, as well as nano-relevant properties. Also covers advances in nanoscale engineering, newly developed simulation tools, and emerging computational methods.
Digital encyclopedia of applied physics
Covers optics, laser physics, solid state and semiconductor physics, atom and nuclear physics and biophysics.
Encyclopedia of astronomy and astrophysics
Comprehensive reference on astronomy and astrophysics.
Encyclopedia of mathematical physics
"The Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics provides a complete resource for researchers, students and lecturers with an interest in mathematical physics."

Science