Subject guides: Science: Mathematics

Other useful guides

Resources

Key Databases

ACM digital library This link opens in a new window
Contains the collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.
ArXiv.org This link opens in a new window
Includes papers in physics, mathematics, nonlinear science, computer science, quantitative biology, and statistics. Often includes pre-prints. Updated frequently.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Covers mathematical literature since 1940 such as journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics.
Risk.net This link opens in a new window
Resource for risk management and derivatives professionals including white papers, analyst reports and legal briefings covers the key areas of risk management, derivatives trading, regulation and technology.
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Database of peer-reviewed scientific and technical literature. It includes conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. It also features smart tools to track, analyse and visualize research.
Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics database This link opens in a new window
The site includes key peer-reviewed research journals, textbooks, e-books, and conference papers focussed on applied mathematics and computational science communities.
Web of science core collection This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings.
zbMATH This link opens in a new window
Coverage is complete from 1868 to the present on bibliographic data, reviews and abstracts from all areas of pure mathematics as well as applications, in particular to the natural sciences, computer science, economics and engineering.

Online book collections

Cambridge Books Online
Contains a multidisciplinary collection of eBooks published by Cambridge University Press imprint, covering science, technology, medicine, and the humanities and social sciences.

IOS Press eBooks This link opens in a new window
Contains eBooks published by IOS Press covering computer sciences and mathematics.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Platform for scholarly literature with a focus on physical sciences and life sciences. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, books titles, major reference work series, historical journals prior to 1995, and a growing library of open access literature.
Wiley online library This link opens in a new window
"Resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Includes Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews, The Cochrane Library, eEROS, SpecInfo and the Current Protocols series.
World Scientific eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journals published by World Scientic. Subject coverage includes chemistry, computer science, economics, finance and management, engineering, environmental science, materials science, mathematics, medical and life sciences, nonlinear science, physics and social sciences.

Guide to call numbers

The Monash libraries use the Dewey Decimal Classification scheme to organise books and journals. This ensures that all materials on similar subject areas are kept together on the shelves. The following call numbers may be useful as a guide when browsing the shelves for Mathematics and related subject areas.

Subject	Numbers
Study methods	371.3028
Mathematics	510
Philosophy and theory	510.1
General principles of mathematics	511
Finite mathematics	511.1
Mathematical logic	511.3
Approximation and expansion	511.4
Graph theory	511.5
Combinatroics	511.6
Mathematical models	511.8
Algebra	512
Groups and group theory	512.2
Fields	512.3
Rings	512.4
Linear algebra	512.5
Category theory, homological algebra, K-theory	512.6
Number theory	512.7
Foundations of algebra	512.9
Arithmetic	513
Topology	514
Algebraic topology	514.2
Topology of spaces	514.3
Analytic topology	514.7
Analysis	515
Sequences and series	515.24
Differential calculus and equations	515.3
Integral calculus and equations	515.4
Special functions	515.5
Function analysis	515.7
Functions of real variables	515.8
Functions of complex variables	515.9
Geometry	516
Euclidean geometry	516.2
Analytic geometries	516.3
Non-Euclidean geometry	516.9
Numerical analysis	518
Probabilities and applied mathematics	519
Probabilities	519.2
Statistical mathematics	519.5
Mathematical optimization	519.6
Programming	519.7
Special topics of applied mathematics	519.8
Astronomy	520
Astrophysics	523.01
Planets - astronomy	523.4
Atmosphere - meteorology	551.5
Climate	551.6
Astrobiology	576.839
Essay, reports and technical writing	808

Selected journals

Encyclopaedias

The following key reference works provide review essays on a variety of topics in mathematical sciences and related areas. They will help clarify concepts that are unfamiliar and provide brief bibliographies.

Counting surfaces
“The book intends to be self-contained and accessible to graduate students, and provides comprehensive proofs, several examples, and gives the general formula for the enumeration of maps on surfaces of any topology.”
Encyclopedia of mathematical physics
"The Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics provides a complete resource for researchers, students and lecturers with an interest in mathematical physics."

What is LaTeX?

LaTeX is a document preparation system used in mathematics which uses markup tagging to define structure and stylise text throughout documents.

You can obtain LaTeX from https://www.latex-project.org/.

Books on LaTeX

LaTeX Beginner's Guide, 2011
Learning LaTeX, 2016.
More Math Into LaTex, 2016
LaTeX in 24 Hours: A Practical Guide for Scientific Writing, 2017