Skip to Main Content

APA 7th

Medicine and health sources

In-text citation

Format

(Author’s surname, Year)


OR


(Publisher, Year)

Example

(Malkani, 2018)


OR


(Therapeutic guidelines, 2019)

Tips

  • Go to Getting started > In-text citation to view other examples such as multiple authors.

Reference list

Format

Author, A. A. (Copyright year). Article name. Name of database. Retrieved Month DD, YYYY, from https://doi.org/xxxx or https://xxxxx


Entry with no editor or author


Article name. (Copyright year). Name of database. Retrieved Month DD, YYYY, from https://doi.org/xxxx or https://xxxxx

Example

Dynamed plus

Malkani, S. (Ed.). (2018). Diabetes mellitus type 1. DynaMed Plus. Retrieved January 13, 2021, from https://www.dynamed.com/condition/diabetes-mellitus-type-1-39 


Up-to-date

Egan, B. M. (2020). Patient adherence and the treatment of hypertension. UpToDate. Retrieved January 13, 2021, from https://www.uptodate.com/contents/patient-adherence-and-the-treatment-of-hypertension


BMJ Best Practice

Hueston, W. J. (2020). Acute bronchitis. BMJ Best Practice. Retrieved January 13, 2021, from https://bestpractice.bmj.com/topics/en-us/135


JBI (Joanna Briggs Institute)

Johnston, S. (2019). Gestational diabetes: Antenatal care. Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence-Based Practice Database. Retrieved November 4, 2020, from https://joannabriggs.org/ebp#database


Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Jefferson, T., Del Mar, C., Dooley, L., Ferroni, E., Al-Ansary, L., Bawazeer, G., van Driel, M., Nair, S., Jones, M., Thorning, S., & Conly, J. (2020). Physical interventions to interrupt or reduce the spread of respiratory viruses. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, (4). https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD006207.pub4


DSM5 (diagnostic manual)

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596


DSM5 (diagnostic manual) chapter or section

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Posttraumatic stress disorder. In Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596.


eTG (Electronic Therapeutic Guidelines)

Therapeutic guidelines. (2019). Gastro-oesophageal reflux. eTG complete. https://tgldcdp.tg.org.au/

Tips

  • Where there is a DOI - treat it as an article and just use year.

  • Where there is no DOI then use the retrieved date as work will change over time.

In-text citation

Format

(“Entry title”, Year)

Example

(“Codeine,” 2021).

Tips

  • Go to Getting started > In-text citation to view other examples such as multiple authors.

Reference list

Format

Name of drug. (YYYY). In database. Retrieved Month DD, YYYY, from URL


Entry in a print drug guide


Article name. (Copyright year). In A. A. Editor (Ed.), Title of work (xx ed., ​​pp.xxx-xxx). Publisher.

Example

AusDI

Calciprox. (2021). In AusDI. Retrieved March 17, 2021, from https://www.ausdi.com/


AMH (Australian Medicines Handbook)

Codeine. (2021). In Australian medicines handbook. Retrieved March 17, 2021, from https://amhonline.amh.net.au/auth


APF (Australian Pharmaceutical Formulary) Note: print resource

Smoking cessation. (2021). In L. N. Sansom (Ed.), Australian pharmaceutical formulary and handbook: A guide to best practice (25th ed., pp.167-171). Pharmaceutical Society of Australia.


MIMS

Lanoxin. (2019). In MIMS online. Retrieved September 11, 2020, from https://www.mimsonline.com.au

Tips

  • Double quotation marks are included for the title in in-text citation when the title is not italicised in reference list eg. article title, chapter title.

In-text citation

Format

(“Entry title one, Entry title two”, Year)

Example

(“Paracetamol, Warfarin sodium,” 2021).

Tips

  • Go to Getting started > In-text citation to view other examples such as multiple authors.

Reference list

Format

Name of drug A, Name of drug B. (YYYY). In database. Retrieved Month DD, YYYY, from URL

Example

Micromedex (drug interactions)

Acetaminophen, Warfarin. (2021). In Micromedex. Retrieved January 27, 2021, from https//www.micromedexsolutions.com 


MIMS online (drug interactions)

Paracetamol, Warfarin sodium. (2021). In MIMS online. Retrieved January 27, 2021, from https://www.mimsonline.com.au

Tips

  • Double quotation marks are included for the title in in-text citation when the title is not italicised in reference list eg. article title, chapter title.

In-text citation

Format

(First author’s surname et al., Year)

Example

...(Page et al., 2021).


OR


Page et al. (2021)...

Tips

  • Go to Getting started > In-text citation to view other examples such as multiple authors.

Reference list

Format

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., Author, D. D., Author, E. E., Author, F. F., Author, G. G., Author, H. H., Author, I. I., Author, J. J., Author, K. K., Author, L. L., Author, M. M., Author, N. N., Author, O. O., Author, P. P., Author, Q. Q., Author, R. R., Author, S. S., . . . Author, Z. Z. (year of publication). Title of article. Journal Title, volume number(issue number), page–page. https://doi.org/xxxxx

Example

Page, M. J., McKenzie, J. E., M., Boutron, I., Hoffmann, T. C., Mulrow, C. D., Shamseer, L., Tetzlaff, J. M., Aki, E. A., Brennan, S. E., Chou, R., Glanville, J., Grimshaw, J. M., Hróbjartsson, A., Lalu, M. M., Li, T., Loder, E. W., Mayo-Wilson, E., McDonald, S.,...Moher, D. (2021). The PRISMA 2020 statement: An updated guideline for reporting systematic reviews. PLOS Medicine,18(3), 1-36. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pmed.1003583

Tips

  • When referring to the PRISMA, it is recommended to use journal article citations rather than referring to the PRISMA website.

  • When an article has 21 or more authors, type the first 19 authors' names followed by an ellipsis ( . . .) then the last author's name