Skip to Main Content

Chicago 18th (A) Notes and Bibliography

Audiovisual and music scores

Online videos (YouTube, Vimeo etc)

Footnote

Format

Note number. Creator Full Name, "Title of Content," additional information/contributors/description, Month DD, YYYY, Platform, Duration, URL.

Example

1. Vaitea Cowan, "How Green Hydrogen Could End the Fossil Fuel Era," TED Talk, Vancouver, BC, April 2022, 9 min., 15 sec., https://www.ted.com/talks/vaitea_cowan_how_green_hydrogen_could_end_the_fossil_fuel_era.

2. Wayne McClammy, "Amazon’s Big Game Commercial: Alexa’s Body," advertisement, featuring Michael B. Jordan, created by Lucky Generals, posted February 2, 2021, by Amazon, YouTube, 1 min., https://youtu.be/xxNxqveseyI.

Subsequent note entry

3. Cowan, "Green Hydrogen."

4. McClammy, "Amazon’s Big Game Commercial."

Bibliography

Format

Creator Surname, First Name, their role (if relevant). "Title of Content." Additional information/contributors/description, Month DD, YYYY. Platform, Duration. URL.

Example

Cowan, Vaitea. "How Green Hydrogen Could End the Fossil Fuel Era." TED Talk, Vancouver, BC, April 2022. Video, 9 min., 15 sec. https://www.ted.com/talks/vaitea_cowan_how_green_hydrogen_could_end_the_fossil_fuel_era.

McClammy, Wayne, dir. "Amazon’s Big Game Commercial: Alexa’s Body." Advertisement, featuring Michael B. Jordan, created by Lucky Generals, posted February 2, 2021, by Amazon. YouTube, 1 min. https://youtu.be/xxNxqveseyI.

Tips

  • The 'creator' can be listed as the director, the producer, performer, writer, uploader etc as the person primarily responsible for the content depending on which is most relevant to your discussion.
  • Include any other relevant information about the content such as other contributors, the year and location of the performance/original event, and any other information to assist readers to locate the source.
  • For online video platforms list the name of the platform, and for downloads list the file format.
  • Titles of videos hosted on online platforms are enclosed in quotation marks. Titles of programs or films are in italics.
  • The Chicago Manual of Style does not require access dates for online materials unless there is no publication date.

In the below example, a 35 mm film produced in 1903 has been viewed within a collection of similar items in MPEG format on the US Library of Congress website. The author, firstly, cites the historical artefact; and secondly, provides a reference to the website that hosts the media today. Note that the reference to the years 1898–1906 is part of the collection title.

Footnote

Format

Note number. Creator Full Name, Title of Content (other relevant information, including the year of production), media, Name of the hosting organisation, Title of Collection: Subtitle, format, duration, URL.

Example

1. A. E. Weed, At the Foot of the Flatiron (American Mutoscope and Biograph Co., 1903), 35 mm film, from Library of Congress, The Life of a City: Early Films of New York, 1898–1906, MPEG video, 2:19, http://www.loc.gov/item/00694378.

Subsequent note entry

2. Weed, At the Foot of the Flatiron.

Bibliography

Format

Creator Surname, First Name, their role. Title of Content. Other relevant information, Year. Media. Name of the hosting organisation. Title of Collection: Subtitle. Format, Duration. URL.

Example

Weed, A. E., dir. At the Foot of the Flatiron. American Mutoscope and Biograph Co., 1903. 35 mm film. From Library of Congress. The Life of a City: Early Films of New York, 1898–1906. MPEG video, 2:19. http://www.loc.gov/item/00694378.

Movies (DVD, streaming etc)

Footnote

Format

Note number. Title of Production, directed by Full Name (Year of release; Publisher, Year of publication), Format/URL/Platform.


OR


Note number. “Title of the Scene,” Title of Production, directed by Full Name (Year of release; Publisher, Year of publication), Format/URL/Platform.

Example

1. Gravity, directed by Alfonso Cuarón (2013; Warner Bros. Pictures, 2014), Blu-ray Disc, 1080p HD.

2. Nomadland, directed by Chloé Zhao (Searchlight Pictures, 2020), https://www.hulu.com/movie/nomadland-dcd9cb83-0636-46ef-8cbd-b9d994672e83.

OR

3. “Crop Duster Attack,” North by Northwest, directed by Alfred Hitchcock (1959; Warner Home Video, 2000), DVD.

Subsequent note entry

4. Cuaróndir, Gravity.

5. Zhao, Nomadland.

6. Hitchcock, “Crop Duster Attack.”

Bibliography

Format

Director Surname, First Name, dir. “Title of Scene.” (if relevant). Title of Production. Year of release; Publisher, Year of publication. Format/URL/Platform.

Example

Cuarón, Alfonso, dir. Gravity. 2013; Warner Bros. Pictures, 2014. Blu-ray Disc, 1080p HD.

Zhao, Chloé, dir. Nomadland. Searchlight Pictures, 2020. https://www.hulu.com/movie/nomadland-dcd9cb83-0636-46ef-8cbd-b9d994672e83.

Hitchcock, Alfred, dir. “Crop Duster Attack.” North by Northwest. 1959; Warner Home Video, 2000. DVD.

Tips

  • Include the format for physical media such as DVDs. Include a URL for online media, or include the name of a platform where the video is only accessible through a Library login (e.g. Kanopy).
  • Omit the year of release if it is the same as the year of publication.
  • To reference an individual part or a specific passage in an audiovisual source (for example, a scene from a film) include the title or a description enclosed within quotation marks.
  • While a note begins with the title of a source, bibliography entries begin with the person primarily responsible for the content (i.e. the Director/Producer/Presenter). Adjust the abbreviation for their role accordingly.

Television (free-to-air, DVD, streaming etc)

Footnote

Format

Broadcast or streaming

Note number. Title of Production, season number, episode number, “Title of Episode,” directed/produced/performed by Full Name, aired/accessed Month DD, YYYY, on Network/Streaming Service, URL (if online).

Physical media

Note number. Title of Production, season number, episode number, “Title of Episode,” directed/produced/performed by Full Name, aired Month DD, YYYY (Publisher: Year), Format.

Example

Broadcast or streaming

1. American Crime Story: The People v. O. J. Simpson, episode 6, “Marcia, Marcia, Marcia,” written by D. V. DeVincentis, directed by Ryan Murphy, featuring Sterling K. Brown, Kenneth Choi, and Sarah Paulson, aired March 8, 2016, on FX, https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01ARVPCOA/.

Physical media

2. The West Wing, season 2, episode 22, "Two Cathedrals," directed by Thomas Schlamme, aired May 17, 2001 (Warner Bros. Television: 2002), DVD.

Subsequent note entry

3. American Crime Story, “Marcia, Marcia, Marcia.”

4. The West Wing, "Two Cathedrals."

Bibliography

Format

Broadcast or streaming

Producer/Director/Presenter Surname, First Name, their role. Production Title. Season number, episode number, “Title of Episode.” Additional credits. Aired/Accessed Month DD, YYYY, on Network/Streaming Service. URL (if online).

Physical media

Producer/Director/Presenter Surname, First Name, their role. Production Title. Season number, episode number, “Title of Episode.” Additional credits. Aired Month DD, YYYY. Publisher: Year. Format.

Example

Broadcast or streaming

Murphy, Ryan, dir. American Crime Story: The People v. O. J. Simpson. Season 1, episode 6, “Marcia, Marcia, Marcia.” Written by D. V. DeVincentis, featuring Sterling K. Brown, Kenneth Choi, and Sarah Paulson. Aired March 8, 2016, on FX. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01ARVPCOA/.

Physical media

Schlamme, Thomas, dir. The West Wing. Season 2, episode 22, "Two Cathedrals." Aired May 17, 2001. Warner Bros. Television: 2002. DVD.

Tips

  • For recordings accessed online, if there is no date of production/broadcast/publication provided, include an access date prior to the URL.
  • If the episode does not have a title, refer to it by episode number.
  • References may list the director/producer/presenter first depending on your focus, you can also provide any relevant additional credits such as writers, performers etc.

Audio recordings (LP, CD, MP3, streaming etc)

Footnote

Format

Note number. Composer/Performer Full Name, Title of Recording, other relevant information, Publisher catalogue number, Year, format.


OR


Note number. “Title of Part,” other relevant information, format or Name of the streaming service, track number on Composer/Performer Full Name, Title of Recording, Publisher, Year.

Example

1. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Don Giovanni, Orchestra and Chorus of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden. Sir Colin Davis. With Ingvar Wixell, Luigi Roni, Martina Arroyo, Stuart Burrows, Kiri Te Kanawa, et al., recorded May 1973. Philips 422 541-2, 1991, 3 compact discs.

2. Pink Floyd, Atom Heart Mother, originally released in 1970, Capitol CDP 7 463812, 1990, compact disc.

OR

3. “Umbrella,” featuring Jay-Z, MP3 audio, track 1 on Rihanna, Good Girl Gone Bad, Island Def Jam, 2007.

4. “Umbrella,” featuring Jay-Z, Spotify, track 1 on Rihanna, Good Girl Gone Bad, Island Def Jam, 2007.

Subsequent note entry

1. Mozart, Don Giovanni.

2. Pink Floyd, Atom Heart Mother.

3. Rihanna, “Umbrella.”

Bibliography

Format

Surname, Composer/Performer First Name. Title of content. Other relevant information. Publisher catalogue number, Year, format. Any other references such as the original.


OR


Surname, Composer/Performer First Name, their role. “Title of Part.” Other relevant information. Format or Name of the streaming service. Track number on Composer/Performer Full Name, Title of Recording. Publisher, Year.

Example

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Don Giovanni. Orchestra and Chorus of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden. Sir Colin Davis. With Ingvar Wixell, Luigi Roni, Martina Arroyo, Stuart Burrows, Kiri Te Kanawa, et al. Recorded May 1973. Philips 422 541-2, 1991, 3 compact discs.

Pink Floyd. Atom Heart Mother. Capitol CDP 7 46381 2, 1990, compact disc. Originally released in 1970.

OR

Rihanna [Robin Fenty], vocalist. “Umbrella.” Featuring Jay-Z. MP3 audio. Track 1 on Rihanna, Good Girl Gone Bad. Island Def Jam, 2007.

Rihanna [Robin Fenty], vocalist. “Umbrella.” Featuring Jay-Z. Spotify. Track 1 on Rihanna, Good Girl Gone Bad. Island Def Jam, 2007.

Tips

  • The composer, the producer or the performer may be listed as the person primarily responsible for a audio recording depending on which is the focus of the media or is most relevant to discussion.
  • Include any relevant additional information about the content such as other contributors, the year and location of the recording and any other references that could assist interested readers locate the source.
  • For online platforms and downloads, list the file format or the name of the streaming service.
  • While a note may begin with the title of a source, bibliography entries begin with the person primarily responsible for the content.

Radio and Podcasts

Footnote

Format

Radio

Note number, Presenter Full Name, “Episode Title,” episode number, Month DD, YYYY aired, in Production Title, Place produced and/or broadcasted: Broadcaster’s Name, URL (if online).

Podcast

First Presenter Full Name and Second Presenter’s Full Name, “Episode Title,” Month DD, YYYY produced, in Production Title, produced by Producer Full Name, podcast, file format, duration, URL.

Example

1. Lynne Malcolm, “The Bilingual Brain,” episode 18, October 21, 2012, in All in the Mind, Sydney: ABC Radio National, https://www.abc.net.au/listen/programs/allinthemind/the-b-lingual-brain/4315620.

2. Mike Danforth and Ian Chillag, “F-Bombs, Chicken, and Exclamation Points,” April 21, 2015, in How to Do Everything, produced by Gillian Donovan, podcast, MP3 audio, 18:46, http://www.npr.org/podcasts/510303/how-to-do-everything.

Subsequent note entry


1. Malcolm, "The Bilingual Brain."

2. Danforth and Chillag, “F-Bombs, Chicken, and Exclamation Points.”

Bibliography

Format

Radio

Presenter Surname, First Name. “Episode Title.” Episode number. Month DD, YYYY aired. In Production Title. Place produced and/or broadcasted: Broadcaster’s Name.

Podcast

First Presenter Surname, First Name and Second Presenter Full Name. “Episode Title.” Month DD, YYYY produced. In Production Title. Produced by Producer Full Name. Podcast, File Format. Duration. URL.

Example

Radio

Malcolm, Lynne. “The Bilingual Brain.” Episode 18. October 21, 2012. In All in the Mind. Sydney: ABC Radio National.

Podcast

Danforth, Mike and Ian Chillag. “F-Bombs, Chicken, and Exclamation Points.” April 21, 2015. In How to Do Everything. Produced by Gillian Donovan. Podcast, MP3 audio. 18:46. http://www.npr.org/podcasts/510303/how-to-do-everything.

Music scores

Footnote

Format

Note number. Composer Full Name, Title of Score (Publisher, Year), Pages.

Example

1. Claude Debussy, Prélude á l’après-midi d’un faune (Jobert, 1922), 7.

Subsequent note entry


2. Debussy, Prélude, 9.

Bibliography

Format

Composer Surname, First Name. Title of Score. Publisher, Year of publication.

Example

Debussy, Claude. Prélude á l’après-midi d’un faune. Jobert, 1922.

Tips

  • Published Music scores are referenced in the same way as published books.

Did you find this page helpful?