Skip to Main Content

Chicago 18th (A) Notes and Bibliography

Books and chapters

  • For quotations and references to specific passages, citations include page numbers.
  • The edition is only included if it is not the first edition.
  • Names that follow Eastern order (surname first) rather than Western order (surname last) should not be inverted in a bibliography.

Books with one author

Footnote

Format

Note number. Author Full Name, Title of Book: Subtitle, Edition. (Publisher, Year of publication), Page(s).

Example

1. Jeffrey Q. McCune, Sexual Discretion: Black Masculinity and the Politics of Passing, 2nd ed. (University of Chicago Press, 2014), 32.

Subsequent note entry

2. McCune, Sexual Discretion, 46.

Bibliography

Format

Author Surname, First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle. Edition. Publisher, Year of publication.

Example

McCune, Jeffrey Q. Sexual Discretion: Black Masculinity and the Politics of Passing. 2nd ed. University of Chicago Press, 2014.

Books with multiple authors

Footnote

Format

Two authors

Note number. First Author Full Name and Second Author Full Name, Title of Book: Subtitle, Edition. (Publisher, Year of publication), Page(s).

More than two authors

Note number. First Author Full Name et al., Title of Book: Subtitle, Edition. (Publisher, Year of publication), Page(s).

Example

1. Astri Suhrke and Howard Adelman, The Path of a Genocide: The Rwanda Crisis From Uganda to Zaire (Transaction Publishers, 1999), 292.

2. Edward O. Laumann et al., The Social Organization of Sexuality: Sexual Practices in the United States (University of Chicago Press, 1994).

Subsequent note entry

3. Suhrke and Adelman, The Path of a Genocide, 308.

5. Laumann et al., The Social Organization of Sexuality.

Bibliography

Format

Two to six authors

First Author Surname, First Name, and Subsequent Author Full Names. Title of Book: Subtitle. Publisher, Year of publication.

More than six authors

First Author Surname, First Name, Second Author Full Name, Third Author Full Name, et al. Title of Book: Subtitle. Publisher, Year of publication.

Example

Two to six authors

Suhrke, Astri, and Howard Adelman. The Path of a Genocide: The Rwanda Crisis From Uganda to Zaire. Transaction Publishers, 1999.

More than six authors

Smith, John, Maria Thompson, Rachel Green, et al. Innovations in Digital Learning: Theory and Practice. Academic Press, 2020.

Tips

  • Multiple authors are listed in the same order as they appear on the title page, which may not necessarily be alphabetical order.
  • For books with more than two authors, the note citation should list only the first author, followed by "et al."
  • Only the first-listed name is inverted in the bibliography (i.e. Surname, First Name).
  • Name up to six authors in the bibliography; if there are more than six, list only the first three, followed by "et al."

Organisations in the place of an author

Footnote

Format

Note number. Organisation Name, Title of Book: Subtitle, Edition. (Publisher, Year of publication), Page(s).

Example

1. United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, Hidden History of the Kovno Ghetto (Little Brown and Company, 1998).

Subsequent note entry

2. United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, Hidden History of the Kovno Ghetto.

Bibliography

Format

Organisation Name. Title of Book: Subtitle. Edition. Publisher, Year of publication.

Example

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. Hidden History of the Kovno Ghetto. Little Brown and Company, 1998.

Tips

  • If there is no person’s name on the title page, cite the organisation in the place of an author.

Edited books

Footnote

Format

Note number. Editor Full Name, ed., Title of Book: Subtitle, Edition. (Publisher, Year of publication), Page(s).

Example

1. Margit Misangyi Watts, ed., Technology: Taking the Distance Out of Learning (Jossey-Bass, 2003).

Subsequent note entry

2. Watts, Technology.

Bibliography

Format

Editor Surname, First Name, ed. Title of Book: Subtitle. Edition. Publisher, Year of publication.

Example

Watts, Margit Misangyi, ed. Technology: Taking the Distance Out of Learning. Jossey-Bass, 2003.

Tips

  • If a book is not attributed to an author on the title page, cite the editor or a translator.
  • Works prepared by multiple editors follow the same patterns as those written by multiple authors.

Chapters in books

Footnote

Format

Chapter in edited book

Note number. Chapter Author Full Name, “Chapter Title,” in Title of Book: Subtitle, ed. Editor Full Name (Publisher, Year of publication), Page(s).

Chapter in single author book

Note number. Author Full Name, “Chapter Title,” in Title of Book: Subtitle (Publisher, Year of publication), Page(s).

Example

Chapter in edited book

1. Colin Jones, “Nobles, Bourgeois and the Origins of the French Revolution,” in The French Revolution: Recent Debates and New Controversies, ed. Gary Kates (Routledge, 1998), 56.

Chapter in single author book

2. Alison Richard, "Human Footprints," in The Sloth Lemur’s Song: Madagascar from the Deep Past to the Uncertain Present (University of Chicago Press, 2022), 148.

Subsequent note entry

3. Jones, "Nobles, Bourgeois and the Origins of the French Revolution," 56.

4. Richard, "Human Footprints," 146.

Bibliography

Format

Chapter in edited book

Chapter Author Surname, First Name. “Chapter Title.” In Title of Book: Subtitle. Edited by Editor Full Name. Publisher, Year of publication.

Chapter in single author book

Author Surname, First Name. “Chapter Title.” In Title of Book: Subtitle. Publisher, Year of publication.

Example

Chapter in edited book

Jones, Colin. “Nobles, Bourgeois and the Origins of the French Revolution.” In The French Revolution: Recent Debates and New Controversies. Edited by Gary Kates. Routledge, 1998.

Chapter in single author book

Richard, Alison. “Human Footprints.” In The Sloth Lemur’s Song: Madagascar from the Deep Past to the Uncertain Present. University of Chicago Press, 2022.

Tips

  • Often an edited book will have different authors for each chapter, so it is important to cite the editor and book as a whole in addition to the chapter information.
  • You can also cite a chapter of a single author book, if the specific chapter is of especial relevance to your discussion.
  • For quotations and references to specific passages cite the page number in the footnote, but do not include any page numbers in the bibliography.

eBooks

Footnote

Format

Note number. Author Full Name, Title of Book: Subtitle (Publisher, Year of publication), Page or Chapter Number, Application/Device/File Format/DOI/URL.

Example

1. Andres R. Edwards, Thriving Beyond Sustainability: Pathways to a Resilient Society (New Society Publishers, 2010), chap. 2, Kindle.

2. Mark Evan Bonds, Absolute Music: The History of an Idea (Oxford University Press, 2014), 56, https://doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199343638.001.0001.

3. Karen Lystra, Dangerous Intimacy: The Untold Story of Mark Twain’s Final Years (University of California Press, 2004), chap. 2, http://ark.cdlib.org/ark:/13030/kt8779q6kr/.

Subsequent note entry

4. Edwards, Thriving Beyond Sustainability, chap. 2.

5. Bonds, Absolute Music, 78.

6. Lystra, Dangerous Intimacy, chap. 2.

Bibliography

Format

Author Surname, First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle. Publisher, Year of publication. Application/Device/File Format/DOI/URL.

Example

Edwards, Andres R. Thriving Beyond Sustainability: Pathways to a Resilient Society. New Society Publishers, 2010. Kindle.

Bonds, Mark Evan. Absolute Music: The History of an Idea. Oxford University Press, 2014. https://doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199343638.001.0001.

Lystra, Karen. Dangerous Intimacy: The Untold Story of Mark Twain’s Final Years. University of California Press, 2004. http://ark.cdlib.org/ark:/13030/kt8779q6kr/.

Tips

  • eBooks are referenced in the same way as print books with the addition of an application, device, file format, DOI or URL.
  • If allocated, the DOI is preferred over a URL. Note that a DOI should be included in the form of a URL starting with https://doi.org/.
  • Many eBooks do not have fixed page numbers. In this case, use other locaters such as a chapter number or a section heading.

Reprints and modern editions

Footnote

Format

Note number. Author Full Name, Title of Book (Publisher, Original Year of Publication; repr., Publisher, Modern Year of Publication), Page(s). Indicate the edition to which page numbers refer.

Example

1. F. Scott, Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby (Scribner, 1925; repr., Collier Books, 1992), 26. Citations refer to the 1992 edition.

Subsequent note entry

2. Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby, 26.

Bibliography

Format

Author Surname, First Name. Title of Book. Publisher, Original Year of Publication. Reprint, Publisher, Modern Year of Publication.

Example

Fitzgerald, F. Scott. The Great Gatsby. Scribner, 1925. Reprint, Collier Books, 1992.

Tips

  • This format should be used when the original year of publication is relevant, such as to emphasise the historical context of a reissued publication.
  • See rule 14.16 for ways to include other information in the Bibliography entry.

Books published before 1900

Footnote

Format

Note number. Author Full Name, Title of Book: Subtitle (Location, Year of publication), Page(s).

Example

1. Oliver Goldsmith, The Vicar of Wakefield (Salisbury, 1766).

Subsequent note entry

2. Goldsmith, The Vicar of Wakefield.

Bibliography

Format

Author Surname, First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle. Location, Year of publication.

Example

Cervantes Saavedra, Miguel de. El ingenioso hidalgo Don Quixote de la Mancha. 2 vols. Madrid, 1605–15.

Tips

  • For books published before 1900, the city of publication is usually of greater interest than the name of the publisher (often a long-defunct printer); it is therefore usually preferable to leave out publishers’ names and include only a place and date of publication.
  • If for any reason the publisher is included, retain the city of publication, followed by a colon.

Books with an author and a translator

Footnote

Format

Note number. Author Full Name, Title of Book, trans. Translator’s Full Name (Publisher, Year of publication), Page(s).

Example

1. Gabriel García Márquez, Love in the Time of Cholera, trans. Edith Grossman (Cape, 1988).

Subsequent note entry

2. García Márquez, Love in the Time of Cholera.

Bibliography

Format

Author Surname, First Name. Title of Book. Translated by Translator’s Full Name. Publisher, Year of publication.

Example

García Márquez, Gabriel. Love in the Time of Cholera. Translated by Edith Grossman. Cape, 1988.

Exhibition catalogues

Footnote

Format

Note number. Chapter Author Full Name, “Chapter Title,” in Title of Catalogue (Publisher, Year of publication), Page(s).

 

OR

 

Note number. Title of Catalogue, ed. Editor Full Name (Publisher, Year of publication), Page(s)

Example

1. Samantha Friedman, “Inner and Outer Worlds,” in MoMA at NGV: 130 Years of Modern and Contemporary Art (National Gallery of Victoria, 2018), 101.

 

OR

 

2. Mary Cassatt: Modern Woman, ed. Judith A. Barter (Art Institute of Chicago, with Harry N. Abrams, 1998).

Subsequent note entry

3. Friedman, "Inner and Outer Worlds," 101.

 

OR

 

4. Mary Cassatt.

Bibliography

Format

Chapter Author Surname, First Name. “Chapter Title.” In Title of Catalogue. Publisher, Year of publication. Published in conjunction with the exhibition of the same title, shown at Institution’s Name.

 

OR

 

Title of Catalogue. Edited by Editor Full Name. Publisher, Year of publication. Published in conjunction with the exhibition of the same title, shown at Institution’s Name.

Example

Friedman, Samantha. “Inner and Outer Worlds.” In MoMA at NGV: 130 Years of Modern and Contemporary Art. National Gallery of Victoria, 2018. Published in conjunction with the exhibition of the same title, shown at the National Gallery of Victoria, in partnership with the Museum of Modern Art.

 

OR

 

Mary Cassatt: Modern Woman. Edited by Judith A. Barter. Art Institute of Chicago, with Harry N. Abrams, 1998. Published in conjunction with the exhibition of the same title, shown at the Boston Museum of Fine Arts, the National Gallery in Washington DC, and the Art Institute of Chicago.

Tips

  • Reference exhibition catalogues in the same way as other published books.
  • Specific essays may be referenced like chapters in edited books.
  • If the author is unknown, exhibition catalogues may be referenced by the title.
  • In the bibliography entry also list the exhibition and the institution with which the publication is associated.

A source referred to in another publication

Footnote

Format

Note number. Original Source Author Full Name, Title of Book (Publisher, Year of publication), Page(s), quoted in Secondary Source Author Full Name, Title of Book (Publisher, Year of publication), Page(s).

Example

1. Louis Zukofsky, American Poetry (Four Way Books, 1970), 166, quoted in Bonnie Costello, Marianne Moore: Imaginary Possessions (Harvard University Press, 1981), 78.

Subsequent note entry

2. Zukofsky, American Poetry, quoted in Costello, Marianne Moore, 35.

Bibliography

Format

Secondary Source Author Surname, First Name. Title of Book. Publisher, Year.

Example

Costello, Bonnie. Marianne Moore: Imaginary Possessions. Harvard University Press, 1981.

Tips

  • Consulting and referencing original sources is always preferable. However, if you cannot access the original source, you can use this citation format.
  • This example shows a book referred to in another book. Adjust the reference depending on the type of original resource.
  • Include only the secondary publication in the bibliography.

Did you find this page helpful?