Subject guides: Chicago 18th (A) Notes and Bibliography: Bibliography

Bibliography

Format

Your bibliography in Chicago 18th (A) Notes and Bibliography style needs to include all the resources you have cited in your assessment. It can also include other sources that you consulted in your research (check your specific assessment task details). It is placed at the end of your work on a new page and has a specific format you need to follow.

Place each reference on a new line, and format with a hanging indent. Use full stops at the end of each reference.
Arrange references in alphabetical order by the first author's surname.
If the author is unknown, arrange the entry in alphabetical order by the title.
Non-English Names in an English Context - Naming conventions for non-English authors may differ, refer to the manual.
The Chicago Manual of Style does not require that access dates are always included in references to formally published online sources. However, students may be required to do so for their assessments, always check your instructions.

Multiple authors and multiple references

For resources with more than one author, only invert the first-listed author name in the reference list (i.e. Surname, First Name).
Name up to six authors in a reference; if there are more than six, list only the first three, followed by “et al.”
Present multiple works by the same author alphabetically by title.
You can see examples on each resource page (e.g. books, journal articles).

Sample bibliography

Bibliography

Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. Penguin Classics, 2007. Kindle.

Austen, Jane. Sense and Sensibility. Penguin Books, 2003.

Bay, Rachael A., Noah Rose, Rowan Barrett, et al. “Predicting Responses to Contemporary Environmental Change Using Evolutionary Response Architectures.” American Naturalist 189, no. 5 (2017): 463–73. https://doi.org/10.1086/691233.

Borel, Brooke. The Chicago Guide to Fact-Checking. University of Chicago Press, 2016. ProQuest Ebook Central.

Cowan, Vaitea. “How Green Hydrogen Could End the Fossil Fuel Era.” TED Talk, Vancouver, BC, April 2022. Video, 9 min., 15 sec. https://www.ted.com/talks/vaitea_cowan_how_green_hydrogen_could_end_the_fossil_fuel_era.

D’Agata, John, ed. The Making of the American Essay. Graywolf Press, 2016.

Google. “Privacy Policy.” Privacy & Terms. Last modified April 17, 2017. https://www.google.com/policies/privacy/.

Grazer, Brian, and Charles Fishman. A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life. Simon & Schuster, 2015.

Keng, Shao-Hsun, Chun-Hung Lin, and Peter F. Orazem. “Expanding College Access in Taiwan, 1978–2014: Effects on Graduate Quality and Income Inequality.” Journal of Human Capital 11, no. 1 (2017): 1–34. https://doi.org/10.1086/690235.

Kurland, Philip B., and Ralph Lerner, eds. The Founders’ Constitution. University of Chicago Press, 1987. http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/.

LaSalle, Peter. “Conundrum: A Story about Reading.” New England Review 38, no. 1 (2017): 95–109. Project MUSE.

Manjoo, Farhad. “Snap Makes a Bet on the Cultural Supremacy of the Camera.” New York Times, March 8, 2017. https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/08/technology/snap-makes-a-bet-on-the-cultural-supremacy-of-the-camera.html.

Mead, Rebecca. “The Prophet of Dystopia.” New Yorker, April 17, 2017.

Melville, Herman. Moby-Dick; or, The Whale. New York, 1851. http://mel.hofstra.edu/moby-dick-the-whale.html.

Pai, Tanya. “The Squishy, Sugary History of Peeps.” Vox, April 11, 2017. http://www.vox.com/culture/2017/4/11/15209084/peeps-easter.

Pegoraro, Rob. “Apple’s iPhone Is Sleek, Smart and Simple.” Washington Post, July 5, 2007. https://www.washingtonpost.com/archive/business/2007/07/05/apples-iphone-is-sleek-smart-and-simple/8968d2e7-dbdb-45ab-b2f0-457f377bdad3/.

Satterfield, Susan. “Livy and the Pax Deum.” Classical Philology 111, no. 2 (2016): 165–76.

Smith, Zadie. Swing Time. Penguin Press, 2016.

Thoreau, Henry David. “Walking.” In The Making of the American Essay, edited by John D’Agata. Graywolf Press, 2016.

Yale University. “About Yale: Yale Facts.” Accessed May 1, 2017. https://www.yale.edu/about-yale/yale-facts.