Skip to Main Content

Chicago 18th (A) Notes and Bibliography

Web, social media, games and apps

Websites

Footnote

Format

Note number. Author Full Name. "Title or description of specific page," Title/description of website, Month DD, YYYY (of publication, revision or access), URL.

Example

1. Ankitha Gattupalli. "Understanding Urbanism: Harmony, Justice, and Poetry in Cities," ArchDaily, published January 3, 2024, https://www.archdaily.com/1011604/understanding-urbanism-harmony-justice-and-poetry-in-cities.

2. “National Architecture Prizes & Competitions,” The Australian Institute of Architects, published 2018, http://www.architecture.com.au/events/national/prizes-competitions.

Subsequent note entry

3. Gattupalli, "Understanding Urbanism."

4. “National Architecture Prizes & Competitions.”

Bibliography

Format

Author Surname, First Name, or Organisation. "Title of Webpage." Website Name. Month DD, YYYY (of publication, revision or access). URL.

Example

Gattupalli, Ankitha. "Understanding Urbanism: Harmony, Justice, and Poetry in Cities". ArchDaily. Published January 3, 2024. https://www.archdaily.com/1011604/understanding-urbanism-harmony-justice-and-poetry-in-cities.

The Australian Institute of Architects. “National Architecture Prizes & Competitions.” architecture.com.au. Published 2018. http://www.architecture.com.au/events/national/prizes-competitions.

Tips

  • If there's no author: in the notes, list the title first, and in a bibliography entry, the source should be listed under the owner or sponsor of the site.
  • In the note and reference, titled sections or pages of websites are enclosed in quotation marks, but titles of entire websites are not.
  • Dates should be as specific as possible (i.e. include Month and Day where available).
  • If no publication or modification date is provided, use the date that you accessed the material (e.g. accessed May 15, 2022).
  • For frequently updated sources, reference a time stamp or a last modified date and retain a copy of the information.
  • Online sources may not have fixed page numbers, use other locaters such as section headings if needed.

Reports and documents on the web

Pamphlets, corporate reports, brochures, exhibition catalogues, and other freestanding publications are treated essentially as books. Information on author and publisher may not fit the normal pattern, but sufficient information should be given to identify the document.

Blog posts

Footnote

Format

Note number. Author Full Name, "Title of Post," Title of Blog (blog), Month DD, YYYY of Post, URL.

Example

1. Martin Earl, 'What Must Be Said," Poetry Foundation (blog), April 10, 2012, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/harriet/2012/04/what-must-be-said/.

Subsequent note entry

2. Earl, "What must be said."

Bibliography

Format

Author Surname, First Name. "Title of Post." Title of Blog (blog), Month DD, YYYY of Post. URL.

Example

Earl, Martin. "What Must Be Said." Poetry Foundation (blog), April 10, 2012. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/harriet/2012/04/what-must-be-said/.

Tips

  • The word "blog" enclosed in parentheses may be added after the title of the blog, unless it is part of the title.
  • Blog posts can often be cited in footnotes alone; if a bibliography entry is needed, it is listed under the author’s surname.
  • The distinction between a blog and a website will be sometimes blurry. When in doubt, treat the source like a website.

Social media posts

Footnote

Format

Note number. Author Full Name (Author Screen Name), The First 160 Characters of the Post (or nearest phrase if longer), Name of the Social Media Service, Month DD, YYYY of post, URL.

Example

1. Conan O’Brien (@ConanOBrien), “In honor of Earth Day, I’m recycling my tweets,” Twitter, April 22, 2015, https://twitter.com/ConanOBrien/status/590940792967016448.

Subsequent note entry

2. O’Brien, “Earth Day."

Bibliography

Format

Author Surname, First Name (Author Screen Name). The First 160 Characters of the Post (or nearest phrase if longer). Name of the Social Media Service, Month DD, YYYY of post. URL.

Example

O’Brien, Conan (@ConanOBrien). “In honor of Earth Day, I’m recycling my tweets.” Twitter, April 22, 2015. https://twitter.com/ConanOBrien/status/590940792967016448.

Tips

  • Publicly shared social media sources such as Facebook are cited in this way. Privately shared social media sources are cited like other forms of personal communication.
  • To differentiate between multiple posts of the same day include a time stamp.
  • Social media sources are often not listed in the bibliography. However a bibliography entry may be required for assessments.

Arcade and console video games

Footnote

Format

Note number. Title of Game for Operating System, Version, Developer, Publisher, released Month DD, YYYY, additional information of relevance such as URL/author/composer/animator etc.

Example

1. Gran Tourismo 7 for PlayStation 4 and 5, Mojang Studios, Sony Interactive Entertainment, released March 4, 2022.

Subsequent note entry

2. Gran Tourismo 7

Bibliography

Format

Developer. Title of Game. Operating System. Version. Publisher. Released Month DD, YYYY. Additional information of relevance such as URL/author/composer/animator etc.

Example

Mojang Studios. Gran Tourismo 7. PlayStation 4 and 5. Sony Interactive Entertainment. Released March 4, 2022.

Tips

  • The publisher and developer may be the same company, in this case you do not need to repeat the name.
  • You can use version numbers to differentiate between iterations if relevant.
  • You can also acknowledge designers in your text.

Mobile apps

Footnote

Format

Note number. Title of App, Version, Developer, Publisher (if applicable), released Month DD, YYYY, Operating system, additional information of relevance such as URL/author/composer/animator etc.

Example

1. Angry Birds Transformers, v. 2.24.0, Rovio Entertainment, released June 28, 2023, Android 4.4 or later, soundtrack by Vince DiCola and Kenny Meriedeth.

Subsequent note entry

3. Angry Birds Transformers

Bibliography

Format

Developer. Title of App. Version. Publisher (if applicable). Released Month DD, YYYY. Operating system. Additional information of relevance such as URL/author/composer/animator etc.

Example

Rovio Entertainment. Angry Birds Transformers. V. 2.24.0. Released June 28, 2023. Android 4.4 or later. Soundtrack by Vince DiCola and Kenny Meriedeth.

Tips

  • Include any version numbers and details of the device or operating system required to run the app, if available.
  • You can use version numbers to differentiate between iterations if relevant; if not, cite the latest version.
  • The publisher and developer may be the same company, in this case you do not need to repeat the name.
  • You can also acknowledge designers in your text.

Did you find this page helpful?