Citing and referencing: Company and Industry reports

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

Company and Industry reports

Notes:

  • Often the author of the report will be the publishing organisation (e.g. Morningstar for a report from DatAnalysis Premium, below) or if it is a company annual report, the company itself (corporate author).
  • When the report has an identified personal author, follow the format in the example for the IBIS World Industry Report example, below.
  • If a report has a report number, include it in brackets after the title, as shown in the IBIS World Industry Report example.
  • The names of organisations that serve as authors (corporate authors) are usually written out each time they appear in a text reference.
  • Provide a description of the report [in square brackets] when not otherwise apparent.
  • Provide as specific a date as possible.
  • Provide the database name when the information is found in a proprietary database (when the content is original and only available in the database).
  • When the information is found in a proprietary database, provide the database name, in italics, followed by the URL of the database website. See the IBISWorld, Marketline and Euromonitor examples below. 

Company annual report from the web

Format Author, A. A. (Year). Title of report. https://xxxxxx
Example

Woolworths Group Limited. (2019). Better together: 2019 annual report. https://www.woolworthsgroup.com.au/icms_docs/195582_annual-report-2019.pdf

 

Company report e.g. Morningstar DatAnalysis Premium database

Format Corporate Author. (YYYY, Month DD). Title of report [Description]. Database. https://xxxxxx
Example

Morningstar. (2020, August 27). Qantas Airways Limited [Company report]. Morningstar DatAnalysis Premium. https://datanalysis.morningstar.com.au/

 

Country report from the MarketLine database

Format Corporate Author. (YYYY, Month DD). Title of report [Description]. Database. https://xxxxxx
Example

MarketLine. (2020, April). Country analysis report: Vietnam, in-depth PESTLE insights. Marketline. http://www.marketline.com

Industry report from the IBISWorld database

IBIS World usually identifies the analyst who created the report; the analyst's name is used in your citing and referencing.

Format Author, A. A. (YYYY, Month DD). Title of report (Report number). Database. https://xxxxxx
Example

Allday, A. (2020, August). Community associations and other interest groups in Australia (Australian Industry (ANZSIC) Report S9559). IBISWorld. http://ibisworld.com

 

Market report from the Passport database

Format Corporate Author. (YYYY, Month DD). Title of report [Description]. Database. https://xxxxxx
Example

Euromonitor International. (2019,September 19). A new view on the market for protein bars [Briefing]. Passport. http://www.portal.euromonitor.com