Citing and referencing: Medicine and Health sources

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

Medicine and Health sources

 

Evidence summaries/Point of care tools (electronic)

Format

NOTE: Tools used for health and diagnostic purposes means the information is designed to change over time, these sources require retrieval dates in the format of

Retrieved Month DD,YYYY, from URL/ doi

Where there is a DOI - treat it as an article and just use year.

Where there is no DOI then use the retrieved date as work will change over time. 

Dynamed plus

Malkani, S. (Ed.). (2018). Diabetes mellitus type 1. DynaMed Plus. Retrieved January 13, 2021, from https://www.dynamed.com/condition/diabetes-mellitus-type-1-39

Up-to-date

Egan, B. M. (2020). Patient adherence and the treatment of hypertension. UpToDate. Retrieved January 13, 2021, from https://www.uptodate.com/contents/patient-adherence-and-the-treatment-of-hypertension 

BMJ Best Practice

Hueston, W. J. (2020). Acute bronchitis. BMJ Best Practice. Retrieved January 13, 2021, from https://bestpractice.bmj.com/topics/en-us/135

JBI (Joanna Briggs Institute) 

Johnston, S. (2019). Gestational diabetes: Antenatal care. Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence-Based Practice Database. Retrieved November 4, 2020, from https://joannabriggs.org/ebp#database

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Jefferson, T., Del Mar, C., Dooley, L., Ferroni, E., Al-Ansary, L., Bawazeer, G., van Driel, M., Nair, S., Jones, M., Thorning, S., & Conly, J. (2020). Physical interventions to interrupt or reduce the spread of respiratory viruses. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, (4). https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD006207.pub4  

DSM5 (diagnostic manual)

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596 

DSM5 (diagnostic manual) chapter or section

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Posttraumatic stress disorder. In Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596 

eTG Complete (Electronic Therapeutic Guidelines Complete)

Therapeutic guidelines. (2019). Gastro-oesophageal reflux. eTG complete. https://tgldcdp.tg.org.au/

 

Medicine/Drug information (database)

Format

Name of drug. (YYYY). In database. Retrieved Month DD, YYYY, from URL

Note: Double quotation marks are included for the title in in-text citation when the title is not italicised in reference list eg. article title, chapter title.

AusDI

Calciprox. (2021). In AusDI. Retrieved March 17, 2021, from https://www.ausdi.com/

AMH (Australian Medicines Handbook)

Codeine. (2021). In Australian medicines handbook. Retrieved March 17, 2021, from https://amhonline.amh.net.au/auth 

APF (Australian Pharmaceutical Formulary) Note: print resource

Smoking cessation. (2021). In L. N. Sansom (Ed.), Australian pharmaceutical formulary and handbook: A guide to best practice (25th ed., pp.167-171). Pharmaceutical Society of Australia.

MIMS

Lanoxin. (2019). In MIMS online. Retrieved September 11, 2020, from https://www.mimsonline.com.au

In-text example

(“Codeine,” 2021).

 

Medicine/Drug interactions (electronic)

Format

Name of drug A, Name of drug B. (YYYY). In database. Retrieved Month DD, YYYY, from URL

Note: Double quotation marks are included for the title in in-text citation when the title is not italicised in reference list eg. article title, chapter title.

Micromedex (drug interactions)

Acetaminophen, Warfarin. (2021). In Micromedex. Retrieved January 27, 2021, from https//www.micromedexsolutions.com

MIMS online (drug interactions)

Paracetamol, Warfarin sodium. (2021). In MIMS online. Retrieved January 27, 2021, from https://www.mimsonline.com.au

In-text example (“Paracetamol, Warfarin sodium, 2021).