Recommended sources for Curatorial Practice
Featured books
Curatopia: museums and the future of curatorship (eBook)Publication Date: 2019What is the future of curatorship? Is there a vision for an ideal model, a curatopia, whether in the form of a utopia or dystopia? Or is there a plurality of approaches, amounting to a curatorial heterotopia? This pioneering volume addresses these questions by considering the current state of curatorship. It reviews the different models and approaches operating in museums, galleries and cultural organisations around the world and discusses emerging concerns, challenges and opportunities.
The philosophy of curatorial practice : between work and the world (eBook) by Publication Date: 2020This book walks us through the process of how artworks eventually get their meaning. It shows us how curated exhibitions invite audience members to infer an exhibition's narrative threads, giving artworks their contents and discursive sense. Drawing on a range of case studies, this is a new reading of exploration, conceptualisation, presentation, and reception, informing and illuminating current debates in curatorial practice.
Journals and magazines
What is a journal?
- Journals are ongoing publications also known as serials or periodicals.
- Journals allow researchers and scholars to report their findings and ideas. Theories and ideas circulating in contemporary visual culture will be discussed in journal articles.
- Some journals are peer-reviewed or 'refereed'. Articles in these journals have been evaluated by specialists or experts within academia and / or industry.
- Journal articles often start with an 'abstract' - a brief summary of the article.
- The Monash Journals collection also includes some high-quality popular magazines, providing current information and opinions on popular topics for a non-academic audience.
- Journal articles are often considered 'academic' or 'scholarly' sources, however magazines and 'trade journals' are usually not. You can read more about evaluating a journal article's quality on the Art, Design and Architecture Theory guide.
- Many journals are available through Monash in electronic format, and some of these also have print copies in the Library. There are other journals which are only available in print - browse the shelves on Level 4 of the Caulfield Library's journal section.
A selection of key journals on this topic, both Australian and international, are provided below. These journals are available electronically unless otherwise stated. Some electronic journals may also be available in print.
- Curator : the museum journalPresents information on the policies in museum administration, research, exhibition development, visitor studies, conservation, education, collection management and other subjects of current concern to the community.
- Discipline (Melbourne) (print only)Alongside artist pages and interviews, it publishes research essays about contemporary Australian art, and histories and theories of contemporary art as a global industry or phenomenon.
- The exhibitionist : journal on exhibition making (print only)Made by curators for curators. It is focused solely on the practice of exhibition making, revolving around the analysis and examination of past, present, and future exhibitions.
- Journal of cultural heritageA multidisciplinary journal of science and technology for studying problems concerning the conservation and awareness of cultural heritage in a wide framework.
- Journal of curatorial studiesExplores the cultural functioning of curating and its relation to exhibitions, institutions, audiences, aesthetics and display culture.
- Mousse : magazine gratuito d'arte contemporanea (print only)Mousse traces the currents of contemporary culture through feature articles, interviews, and conversations among the most vivid voices in international criticism, along with emerging talents and key figures in the cultural debate.
- Museum (Washington, D.C.)The Magazine of the American Association of Museums, it addresses the issues and challenges facing museums today. Recent issues have focused on engaging new audiences, trends in museum education, strategies for creating an ideal board, and a futuristic view of museums.
- E-flux journalCommissions and publishes some of the most influential writings on art, film, history, technology, and politics.
- Visitor StudiesVisitor Studies is the peer-reviewed research journal of the Visitor Studies Association. It publishes high-quality articles, focusing on visitor research, visitor studies, evaluation studies, and research methodologies. The Journal also covers subjects related to museums and out-of-school learning environments, such as zoos, nature centers, visitor centers, historic sites, parks and other informal learning settings.
- Museum and societyAn independent peer-reviewed journal which publishes new writing and research by academics and museum professionals about museums in their social contexts.
- Museum InternationalA peer-reviewed academic journal that covers research on the ethics and practices of museums and heritage organisations.
- Museum management and curatorshipA peer-reviewed, international journal that examines current issues in depth, and provides up-to-date research, analysis and commentary on developments in museum practice. The journal encourages a continuous reassessment of collections management, administration, archives, communications, conservation, diversity, ethics, globalisation, governance, interpretation, leadership, management, purpose/mission, public service, new technology and social responsibility.
Key databases
Research databases are organised collections of digital information that can be easily searched, such as journal articles, books, or images. Unlike a general Google search, using a database means you can be sure the information you find is high-quality and reliable. Finding 'scholarly' resources is also easier through a database. There are many different databases, which include different content. Once you choose a database, use keywords on your topic to search. Then try using the 'filter' options, such as publication date, content type, or subject area to refine your results.
- Arts and entertainment management database (Informit) This link opens in a new windowFocuses on arts and entertainment management. Subject coverage includes the arts and entertainment environment, cultural planning, finance, funding, law, marketing, project/venue management, research, and technology related to the arts and entertainment industry. Coverage: 1982 to Dec. 2000.
- Art & architecture source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA good starting point for finding scholarly journal articles across a wide range of Art, Design and Architecture topics.
- ARTbibliographies modern (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProvides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. ABM is a useful source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, books, and primary sources from a wide range of academic publishers and university presses. Titles span across disciplines, including core areas such as business & economics, social sciences, education, history, language & literature and science.
Also contains the ARTstor image database - click the 'images' tab to search and download from a database of more than 300,000 digital images, covering many time periods, cultures and visual disciplines. - Wiley online library This link opens in a new windowAn extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It provides access to journals, books, reference works, laboratory protocols, and databases from John Wiley & Sons.
Selected websites for Curatorial Practice
Australian
- Creative VictoriaThe state government body dedicated to championing, growing, supporting and investing in Victoria's creative industries.
- Art Galleries Association of Australia (AGAA)The peak body for commercial art galleries in the primary visual arts market.
- Australia Council for the ArtsThe Australian Government's arts funding and advisory body.
- Museums Galleries AustraliaThe national association and peak advocacy body representing museums and galleries.
- National Museum AustraliaThe National Museum of Australia brings to life the rich and diverse stories of Australia through compelling objects, ideas and events. They focus on Indigenous histories and cultures, European settlement and our interaction with the environment.
- Next WaveA comprehensive platform for a new generation of Australian artists taking creative risks. Next Wave produces unparalleled learning programs and a biennial festival.
International
- AATA Online: Abstracts of International Conservation LiteratureAATA Online is a comprehensive database of over 147,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage, including selected subject-specific bibliographies.
- The Association of Art Museum Curators (AAMC)Celebrate, advance and advocate for the curatorial narrative. They offer professional development, leadership skills, and direct connections for art curators working in the not-for-profit sector.
- Canadian Heritage Information Network (CHIN)Offers valuable collections management resources to the Canadian museum community and online public access to millions of collections records.
- GuggenheimCollects, preserves, and interprets modern and contemporary art, and explores ideas across cultures through dynamic curatorial and educational initiatives and collaborations.
- Independent Curators International (ICI)Exhibitions, events, publications, research and training opportunities for curators and diverse audiences around the world. ICI connects emerging and established curators, artists, and art spaces, into collaborative networks that are relevant regionally and inscribed within an international framework.
- Museums AssociationThe oldest museums association in the world, set up in 1889.
- International Council of Museums (ICOM)ICOM is the voice of museum professionals on the international stage - a membership association and a non-governmental organisation that establishes professional and ethical standards for museum activities, makes recommendations on issues related to cultural heritage, promotes capacity building and advances knowledge.
Art fairs and conferences
- Biennial FoundationEstablished in 2009 as a first of its kind initiative aiming to create a platform for dialogue, networking, and knowledge sharing among contemporary art biennials around the world.
- Museums and the Web (MW) ConferenceMuseWeb runs an annual conference in North America and Asia and occasional “deep dives” to sites of digital innovation in the field.
Browse the shelves
The Monash libraries use the Dewey Decimal Classification scheme to organise books and journals. A call number is printed on a sticker, attached to the book's spine. It classifies an item by subject. They are used so resources on the same topic are grouped together on the shelf, which makes it easier to browse materials in the same subject area. A call number shows you the exact position of the item within the Library - each shelf has a range of numbers listed on it.
Browse the following call numbers in the Caulfield Library:
- 060 Associations, organisations & museums
- 069 Museum science
- 303.4 Social change
- 708 Galleries, museums, private collections
- 709.0407 New media art
Search on a topic
To find items by subject :
- Go to Advanced Search on the Library website
- Change the drop down box from 'Any field' to 'Subject'
Some example subjects you could try searching for:
|
|