Recommended sources for Jewellery
Featured books
Jewellery in the Age of Modernism 1918-1940 by Publication Date: 2019Why has jewellery and body adornment often been marginalized in studies of modernist art and design? This study explores the relationship between jewellery, modernism and modernity from the 'jazz age' to the second world war in order to challenge the view that these portable art forms have only a minor role to play in histories of modernism. Drawing on material from museums, archives, contemporary journals, memoirs, literary and theoretical texts, this study shows how the emergence of modern jewellery began to seriously question conventional notions of body adornment.
The Sourcebook of Contemporary Jewelry Design by Publication Date: 2012Featuring the world's most notable, modern-day jewelry designers, with more than 1300 photographs and illustrations that showcase each artist's unique and diverse style. An in-depth look at established and emerging international designers, providing stunning visual examples of their jewelry, along with detailed explanations that reveal the inspiration behind their work. From architectural rings and paper-made bracelets, to smart necklaces and transformable earrings, this book is a must have for anyone interested in jewelry and design.
Journals and magazines
What is a journal?
- Journals are ongoing publications also known as serials or periodicals.
- Journals allow researchers and scholars to report their findings and ideas. Theories and ideas circulating in contemporary visual culture will be discussed in journal articles.
- Some journals are peer-reviewed or 'refereed'. Articles in these journals have been evaluated by specialists or experts within academia and / or industry.
- Journal articles often start with an 'abstract' - a brief summary of the article.
- The Monash Journals collection also includes some high-quality popular magazines, providing current information and opinions on popular topics for a non-academic audience.
- Journal articles are often considered 'academic' or 'scholarly' sources, however magazines and 'trade journals' are usually not. You can read more about evaluating a journal article's quality on the Art, Design and Architecture Theory guide.
- Many journals are available through Monash in electronic format, and some of these also have print copies in the Library. There are other journals which are only available in print - browse the shelves on Level 4 of the Caulfield Library's journal section.
A selection of key journals on this topic, both Australian and international, are provided below. These journals are available electronically unless otherwise stated. Some electronic journals may also be available in print.
- Craft arts internationalA well-established independent journal devoted to the documentation of contemporary craftwork and 'new art forms' that fall within the broad categories of the visual and applied arts.
- GZ Goldschmiede Zeitung = European jeweler (print only)Market-oriented trade journal for gold and silverware, watches, jewellery, precious stones, pearls and fashion jewellery. German, summaries in English.
- Marzee (print only)Galerie Marzee has been a driving force in the promotion of contemporary jewellery and metalwork from around the world. Each edition includes overviews of the exhibitions, information about the participating artists and images of all the exhibited work. Dutch and English.
- MetalsmithMetalsmith magazine is committed to opening eyes and minds to the wealth of creative expressions within the jewelry and metalsmithing field.
- OrnamentOrnament magazine is an international publication devoted to personal adornment, covering ancient, ethnic & contemporary jewelry, beads & historic and artist-made clothing.
- Schmuck (print only)Provides an overview of the creative diversity - from established designers to young creatives, with the most exciting creations of goldsmith art. Includes interviews, background stories and news. In German; editorial also in English. Includes supplementary insert with English text for most important articles.
- Vogue (NY)One of the world’s most prominent fashion magazines. Covers many topics, including haute couture fashion, beauty, culture, living, and runway.
*Monash Library also holds British Vogue and Vogue France in print.
Key databases
Research databases are organised collections of digital information that can be easily searched, such as journal articles, books, or images. Unlike a general Google search, using a database means you can be sure the information you find is high-quality and reliable. Finding 'scholarly' resources is also easier through a database. There are many different databases, which include different content. Once you choose a database, use keywords on your topic to search. Then try using the 'filter' options, such as publication date, content type, or subject area to refine your results.
- Art & architecture source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA good starting point for finding scholarly journal articles across a wide range of Art, Design and Architecture topics.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, books, and primary sources from a wide range of academic publishers and university presses. Titles span across disciplines, including core areas such as business & economics, social sciences, education, history, language & literature and science.
Also contains the ARTstor image database - click the 'images' tab to search and download from a database of more than 300,000 digital images, covering many time periods, cultures and visual disciplines.
Selected websites for Jewellery
- Galerie Ra [Netherlands]Galerie Ra specialises in contemporary jewellery design and vessels but also regularly features objects. [Galerie Ra closed in 2019.]
- Gallery FunakiGallery Funaki has been recognised as a driving force in the promotion of contemporary jewellery in Australia for almost 25 years. The gallery presents at least six solo and curated group exhibitions each year, including the biennial Mari Funaki Award for Contemporary Jewellery.
- Klimt02A dotcom company working in the field of Art Jewelry and Contemporary Crafts. By becoming familiar with Klimt02 you will gain knowledge and further ability to assess and recognize creativity. Klimt02 specifically presents the creations that exist within the world of art jewelry and contemporary crafts.
- Pieces of Eight GalleryOver time, Pieces of Eight has built a solid reputation as one of the most exciting and original of its kind. Presenting the best selection of artist made jewellery and small objects is at their core.
Browse the shelves
The Monash libraries use the Dewey Decimal Classification scheme to organise books and journals. A call number is printed on a sticker, attached to the book's spine. It classifies an item by subject. They are used so resources on the same topic are grouped together on the shelf, which makes it easier to browse materials in the same subject area. A call number shows you the exact position of the item within the Library - each shelf has a range of numbers listed on it.
Browse the following call numbers in the Caulfield Library:
- 391.7 Jewelry customs
- 688.2 Custom jewelry
- 739 Art metalwork
- 739.22 Goldsmithing
- 739.23 Silversmithing
- 739.27 Jewelry making
- 739.2709 Jewelry history
- 739.27092 Jewelers
- 739.3 Clocks and watches
- 739.4 Ironwork
- 745 Decorative arts
Note that 'Jewelry' is the American spelling of Jewellery.
Search on a topic
To find items by subject :
- Go to Advanced Search on the Library website
- Change the drop down box from 'Any field' to 'Subject'
Some example subjects you could try searching for:
- Art metal work
- Goldwork
- Jewellery
- Jewelry
- Jewelry making
- Jewelry design
- Jewelers
- Siversmithing
- Tableware