What are Artists' Books?
"While there is no agreed definition of what an artist book is, it is generally defined as a book made by an artist and intended as a work of art" (from the State Library of Victoria)
They are:
- Vehicles for ideas, not monuments to crafts
- Not necessarily about appearance, but about the aesthetic issues they raise
- Usually self-published
- Sometimes only use text
- Not necessarily "one-offs" but usually small editions
Browsing and searching for Artists' Books
Monash University Library holds a collection of Artists' Books both at the Caulfield Library and the Matheson Library (Clayton).
Some of these Artists' Books are delicate or rare, and are part of the Monash Library Special Collections. Contact the Liaison Librarian for Art, Design and Architecture for access.
You can search for the subject heading 'Artist's Books' on the Library website to see all available Artists' Books. You can also add an artist name, or filter by location and/or resource type.
You will find other books in the general collection on level 4 of the Caulfield Library.
The Monash libraries use the Dewey Decimal Classification scheme to organise books and journals. A call number is printed on a sticker, attached to the book's spine. It classifies an item by subject. They are used so resources on the same topic are grouped together on the shelf, which makes it easier to browse materials in the same subject area. A call number shows you the exact position of the item within the Library - each shelf has a range of numbers listed on it.
Browse the shelves at these call numbers:
- 686 Book design
- 686.224 Typography
- 686.3 Book making
- 686.3 Bookbinding
- 702.81 Artists' books (books about artists' books)
- 745.54 Paper work
Featured Artists' Books
New York drawings: Sunday 12 Feb 2017 543 8th av NYC by Call Number: Rare Books 741.994 N736N 2018Publication Date: 2018Published by Pataphysics Books (Melbourne) in 2018, this artist's book by John Nixon presents a series of drawings on newspaper.
Paper Thin by Call Number: Rare Books 709.0511 C587P 2009Publication Date: 2009Paper Thin documents the work of Peta Clancy, an artist who explores the surface properties of paper — in this case, photographic paper — and the surface or skin of our bodies.
Stolen Waters by Call Number: Rare Books 709.04082 C899S 2013Publication Date: 2013Based on the frequent environmental catastrophies which befall the planet and which go by the name of 'accidents' in order for the multinationals to avoid full responsibility. It was occasioned by B.P.'s oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico, August 20, 2010.
Recommended sources for Artists' Book research
Australian websites
- Art Book Fair (Melbourne)In collaboration with the NGV, the fair brings together publishers, artists and designers to showcase some of the world’s best publications in bookshops, galleries, libraries, community centres and public gardens across Melbourne and Victoria.
- Artists' Books (State Library of Victoria)SLV has examples of artists' books ranging from the brilliant La fin du monde illustrated by the French Cubist Fernand Léger through to the little offset books by US photographer Ed Ruscha, but their main collecting focus has been on books made by Australian artists since 1990. Artists' books are held in Rare Books.
- Artists' Books Collection (State Library of Queensland)The Artists’ Books Collection, one of the component collections of the Australian Library of Art, is the largest publicly available collection of artists' books in Australia, and is recognised as one of the best in the country. It consists of around 1500 works featuring both Australian and overseas artists.
- Artspace MackayArtspace Mackay holds one of the most comprehensive collections of artists' books in Australia and hold regular artists' books forums.
- Bibliotheca Librorum apud ArtificemA private collection of books made by printmakers, photographers, photomonteurs, painters, writers and poets. The collection focusses on books made in Australia but also has works from overseas.
- Grahame Galleries + EditionsThe gallery opened in Brisbane, Australia in 1987. It specialises in fine art prints, artists’ books and works on paper.
- PerimeterPerimeter is a specialised bookstore, award-winning publisher, distribution house and platform for various art publishing endeavours in Melbourne, Australia.
- Print Council of Australia (PCA)A national not-for-profit member organisation that promotes contemporary fine art printmaking, including artist books, zines and works on paper. They publish Imprint, the quarterly art magazine dedicated to contemporary printmaking in Australia and beyond.
- World Food BooksA book shop in Melbourne, Australia. Dedicated to the presentation of a rotating, hand-selection of quality international art and design journals, artists’ monographs, exhibition catalogues, artists’ editions, collected writings and printed ephemera.
International websites
- Art Institute of Chicago: Joan Flasch Artists' Book CollectionIncludes 5,000 artists' books and multiples held in the John M. Flaxman Library.
- Artist's Books Collection (Smithsonian)Includes works by artists such as Georges Adéagbo, Ida Applebroog, Julie Chen, Laura Davidson, William Kentridge, Barbara Kruger, Sol LeWitt, Luan Nel, Yoko Ono, Ed Ruscha, and Claire Van Vliet.
- Artists' Book Collection (British Library)Covering the UK, Americas and Europe, these collections reflect the growth and innovation in artists’ books over the past 50 years.
- Artists' Books Online (University of Virginia)Designed to promote critical engagement with artists' books and to provide access to a digital collection of metadata, scans, and commentary.
- Book Arts (UWE Bristol)A portal for sites developed by the Centre for Fine Print Research at the University of the West of England. Includes an archive of artists' books, along with resources for students and links to publications.
- Center for Book ArtsPromotes active explorations of both contemporary and traditional artistic practices related to the book as an art object. Located in New York.
- Centre des Livres d'Artistes (cdla)Information about exhibitions and collections of the Centre for Artists' Books in Saint-Yrieix-la-Perche, France.
- Granary BooksGranary's mission is to produce, promote, document and theorize new works exploring the intersection of word, image and page.
- Printed MatterThe world’s leading non-profit organisation dedicated to the dissemination, understanding and appreciation of artists’ books and related publications.
- Roma PublicationsAn Amsterdam based art publisher, founded by graphic designer Roger Willems, and artists Mark Manders and Marc Nagtzaam. They produce and distribute autonomous publications made in close collaboration with artists, institutions, writers and designers.
Journals and magazines
What is a journal?
- Journals are ongoing publications also known as serials or periodicals.
- Journals allow researchers and scholars to report their findings and ideas. Theories and ideas circulating in contemporary visual culture will be discussed in journal articles.
- Some journals are peer-reviewed or 'refereed'. Articles in these journals have been evaluated by specialists or experts within academia and / or industry.
- Journal articles often start with an 'abstract' - a brief summary of the article.
- The Monash Journals collection also includes some high-quality popular magazines, providing current information and opinions on popular topics for a non-academic audience.
- Journal articles are often considered 'academic' or 'scholarly' sources, however magazines and 'trade journals' are usually not. You can read more about evaluating a journal article's quality on the Art, Design and Architecture Theory guide.
- Many journals are available through Monash in electronic format, and some of these also have print copies in the Library. There are other journals which are only available in print - browse the shelves on Level 4 of the Caulfield Library's journal section.
A selection of key journals on this topic, both Australian and international, are provided below. These journals are available electronically unless otherwise stated. Some electronic journals may also be available in print.
- Art book (London, England)Covers decorative, fine and applied art, art history, photography, architecture and design.
- AfterimageNews, reports, essays, and reviews that discuss and analyse independent photography, film, electronic imaging, alternative publishing and telecommunications.
- Artist's book yearbook (print only)A biennial reference publication focusing on international activity in the field of book arts.
- Australian book arts journal (print only)An exclusively Australian journal dedicated to book art, book binding, printmaking, letterpress and writing.
- The blue notebook (print only)Essays on contemporary artists’ books, reviews, responses to works and artists’ pages. Written contributions are peer-reviewed by a panel. Also available as free online PDFs on their website.
- BonefolderAn e-journal for the bookbinder and book artist. A focus on the trade and craft of bookbinding, aiming to inform and stimulate all levels of practitioners and lovers of the book as an artform and structure.
- Journal of artists' booksA forum for critical dialogue and review of contemporary and historical artists' books.
- Printing historyCovers topics related to the history of printing, publishing, books, type, typography, paper and related industries.
- UmbrellaCovers the arena of artists' books, art books and other multiple editions, including audio and video tapes; covers new bookworks by artists, exhibitions, with special sections that focus on photographic and art books.
- Visible languagesThe journal for research on the visual media of language expression.
Books about Artists' Books and Book Making
Australian Artists Books by Call Number: Caulfield 700.994 S464A 2008Publication Date: 2009Australian Artists Books features twenty books. It discusses approaches to artists' books by Ian Burn, Robert Jacks, Bea Maddock, and Mike Parr, features an in-depth analysis of works by an additional sixteen artists, and includes an illustrated checklist. It discusses how the books function as narrative rituals and the multiple views offered by these wonderful objects.
Book Art Object by Call Number: Caulfield Folios 702.81 J95B 2008Publication Date: 2010A record of the first biennial Codex Book Fair and Symposium: The Fate of the Art, Berkeley, California, 2007. The event showcased contemporary artist books and fine press and fine art editions produced by some of the worlds most esteemed printers, designers, book artists, and artisans. The book includes illustrations and transcripts from the symposium lectures.
Bookbinding by Call Number: Caulfield 686.3 C177B 2007Publication Date: 2008This illustrated how-to manual presents a detailed introduction to the processes and techniques of bookbinding. Covering bookbinding’s history, tools and materials, procedures and step-by-step instructions.
Indie Publishing by Call Number: Caulfield 070.593 L966.I 2008Publication Date: 2008Indie Publishing is a practical guide to creating and distributing printed books regardless of your background, skill set, or ambition. It will help you realize projects of every scale and budget, from the traditional bookmaking techniques used to create zines to the more ambitious industrial production methods required to produce hardcover books in large quantity.
Re-Bound by Call Number: Caulfield 686.3 S819R 2009Publication Date: 2009This book shows you how to take everyday materials from around the house, flea markets, thrift stores, and hardware stores and turn them into clever and eye-catching hand-made books.
- Further readingDownload this extensive reading list of books at the Monash Library about artists' books, and book making.