Recommended sources for Digital and Multimedia Arts
Featured books
Animation and Advertising (ebook) by Publication Date: 2020Throughout its history, animation has been fundamentally shaped by its application to promotion and marketing, with animation playing a vital role in advertising history. In individual case study chapters this book addresses, among others, the role of promotion and advertising for; anime, Disney, MTV, Lotte Reiniger, Pixar and George Pal, and highlights American, Indian, Japanese, and European examples. This collection reviews the history of famous animation studios and artists, and rediscovers overlooked ones.
The Artist in the Machine by Publication Date: 2019An authority on creativity introduces us to AI-powered computers that are creating art, literature, and music that may well surpass the creations of humans. Today's computers are composing music that sounds "more Bach than Bach," turning photographs into paintings in the style of Van Gogh's Starry Night, and even writing screenplays. But are computers truly creative--or are they merely tools to be used by musicians, artists, and writers? In this book, Arthur I. Miller takes us on a tour of creativity in the age of machines.
The Art of Game Design (ebook) by Publication Date: 2014Good game design happens when you view your game from as many perspectives as possible. Written by one of the world's top game designers, The Art of Game Design presents 100+ sets of questions, or different lenses, for viewing a game's design, encompassing diverse fields such as psychology, architecture, music, visual design, film, software enginee
Journals and magazines
What is a journal?
- Journals are ongoing publications also known as serials or periodicals.
- Journals allow researchers and scholars to report their findings and ideas. Theories and ideas circulating in contemporary visual culture will be discussed in journal articles.
- Some journals are peer-reviewed or 'refereed'. Articles in these journals have been evaluated by specialists or experts within academia and / or industry.
- Journal articles often start with an 'abstract' - a brief summary of the article.
- The Monash Journals collection also includes some high-quality popular magazines, providing current information and opinions on popular topics for a non-academic audience.
- Journal articles are often considered 'academic' or 'scholarly' sources, however magazines and 'trade journals' are usually not. You can read more about evaluating a journal article's quality on the Art, Design and Architecture Theory guide.
- Many journals are available through Monash in electronic format, and some of these also have print copies in the Library. There are other journals which are only available in print - browse the shelves on Level 4 of the Caulfield Library's journal section.
A selection of key journals on this topic, both Australian and international, are provided below. These journals are available electronically unless otherwise stated. Some electronic journals may also be available in print.
- Animation studiesPeer reviewed open access online journal for animation history and theory. It is devoted to the history, theory, aesthetics and practice of animated media.
- Animation: an interdisciplinary journalProvides the first cohesive, international peer-reviewed publishing platform for animation that unites contributions from a wide range of research agendas and creative practice.
- AnimationXpressA portal and resource for news, information and community activities for the animation, visual effects, and game development industries.
- EludamosA open access online journal for computer game culture. An international, interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the academic study of computer games and play.
- Game studiesGame Studies is a non-profit, open-access, cross-disciplinary international journal dedicated to games research, web-published several times a year.
- Games and culture: a journal of interactive mediaAn international journal that publishes innovative theoretical and empirical research about games and culture within interactive media. The journal serves as a premiere outlet for ground-breaking work in the field of game studies.
- Multimedia systemsOne of the earliest published journals in multimedia. It is a peer-reviewed, international journal that publishes original research on multimedia and multimedia systems, including theories, methods, tools, technologies, applications, and so on.
- Multimedia tools and applicationsPublishes original research articles on multimedia development and system support tools as well as case studies of multimedia applications. It also features experimental and survey articles. All papers are peer reviewed.
- Studies in comicsAims to describe the nature of comics, to identify the medium as a distinct art form and to address the medium's formal properties. Its specific goal is to expand the relationship between comics and theory and to seek to articulate a ‘theory of comics'. Interdisciplinary peer-reviewed journal.
Key databases
Research databases are organised collections of digital information that can be easily searched, such as journal articles, books, or images. Unlike a general Google search, using a database means you can be sure the information you find is high-quality and reliable. Finding 'scholarly' resources is also easier through a database. There are many different databases, which include different content. Once you choose a database, use keywords on your topic to search. Then try using the 'filter' options, such as publication date, content type, or subject area to refine your results.
- ACM digital library This link opens in a new windowContains the full-text collection of all Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books, and a collection of full-text publications from other select publishers. Also includes the ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a comprehensive database of references and abstracts, focused exclusively on the field of computing.
- Art & architecture source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA good starting point for finding scholarly journal articles across a wide range of Art, Design and Architecture topics.
- Computer science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowDatabase provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries, including product introductions, news and reviews in areas related to software, hardware, electronics, communications and the application of technology.
- Gale academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowArticles from scholarly journals (including peer-reviewed and full text) and other authoritative sources, including videos, podcasts and transcripts from CNN, NPR and CBC. Full-text of the New York Times from 1985, the Times (London) from 1985 and the Financial Times from 1996 is also available.
- IEEE Xplore digital library This link opens in a new windowA full text database in the disciplines of electrical and electronics engineering. Provides access to The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) transactions, journals, books, conference proceedings of IEEE and IEE published since 1988, and all current IEEE Standards. The Institutes are the world's major electrical and electronic engineering authorities. Note: Internet Explorer 11 (IE11) browser not supported.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowA full text platform of peer-reviewed scholarly literature, including journal articles and books, with a focus on physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and to a lesser extent social sciences and the humanities.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive online collection of scientific, technological and medical journals, books, book series, protocols, and reference works. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary with an emphasis on the sciences, technology and biomedical literature.
- Underground and independent comics This link opens in a new windowThis primary source database focuses on North American and European adult comic books and graphic novels. The collection includes original material from the 1950s to today from the works of artists both celebrated and overlooked, along with interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines.
Selected websites for Digital and Multimedia Arts
Digital Arts Associations
Australian
- Australian Network for Art and TechnologyANAT expedites experimentation and innovation across art, science and technology by identifying opportunities and delivering projects that enable artists to contribute meaningfully to Australia’s reputation for creativity, diversity and innovation.
- Digital + Technology CollectiveDigital + Technology Collective was formed in 2017, taking over from the great work of the 25-year old Australian Interactive Media Industry Association. A network of Australia’s digital agencies, organisations and individuals that provide services and solutions in the digital and technology space.
- Game Developers' Association of AustraliaThe Game Developers’ Association of Australia was formed in December 1999 with the specific objective of raising the profile of the Australian game development industry domestically and internationally.
- Multimedia Art Asia Pacific (MAAP)MAAP, established in 1998, is an international arts organisation based in Brisbane Australia that presents contemporary art exhibitions, seminars and projects. MAAP explores contemporary art across a range of art forms and practices including digital and electronic art forms such as video installation, online art, interactive multimedia, and art projects integrating a range of media.
International
- ACM SIGGRAPHAn international community of researchers, artists, developers, filmmakers, scientists, and business professionals who share an interest in computer graphics and interactive techniques. A special interest group of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).
- Animation World NetworkThe Animation World Network is the largest animation-related publishing group on the Internet, providing readers from over 151 countries with a wide range of interesting, relevant and helpful information pertaining to all aspects of animation.
- CGSociety: Society of Digital ArtistsThe Art Society inspires artists, empowers with knowledge and tools, and engages artists everywhere, keeping up to date with the latest happenings in the global art community.
- Computer Professionals for Social ResponsibilityCPSR is a global organisation promoting the responsible use of computer technology, a public interest alliance of computer scientists and others concerned about the impact of computer technology on society.
- DiGRAFounded in 2003, DiGRA is the premiere international association for academics and professionals who research digital games and associated phenomena. It encourages high-quality research on games, and promotes collaboration and dissemination of work by its members.
- Entertainment Software AssociationU.S. association serving the business and public affairs needs of companies that publish computer and video games for video game consoles, personal computers, and the Internet.
- International Digital Media and Arts AssociationAn organisation dedicated to serving educators, practitioners, scholars, and organisations with interests in digital media and art, by forging interdisciplinary partnerships to create opportunities and stimulate explosions of creativity.
- International Federation of Multimedia AssociationsThe FIAM’s objective is to develop a global networking platform, and is interested in developing and promoting international opportunities, projects and public-private partnerships (PPPs) in multimedia, internet and digital creative industries as well as digital diversity with multi-languages of English, French, Spain, Portuguese, Arabic, Chinese, Russian, Japanese, etc.
- International Game Developers AssociationA non-profit membership organisation serving individuals that create video games by connecting members with their peers, promoting professional development, and advocating on issues that affect the developer community.
Other websites
- MechademiaJournal and conferences on Asian popular cultures. The Mechademia series became an international center for discussion of the cultural study, creation, theories, aesthetics, semiotics, and history, as well as the fascination and wonder of the remarkably broad range of objects and practices that have developed around the global proliferation of Japanese anime, manga, and gaming.
- Netdiver Magazine"What's new in design digital culture." Netdiver magazine is a design and digital culture magazine that uncovers, reviews and publishes outstanding work by the international creative community.
Browse the shelves
The Monash libraries use the Dewey Decimal Classification scheme to organise books and journals. A call number is printed on a sticker, attached to the book's spine. It classifies an item by subject. They are used so resources on the same topic are grouped together on the shelf, which makes it easier to browse materials in the same subject area. A call number shows you the exact position of the item within the Library - each shelf has a range of numbers listed on it.
Browse the following call numbers in the Caulfield Library:
|
For animation and games:
|
For computer graphics:
|
Search on a topic
To find items by subject :
- Go to Advanced Search on the Library website
- Change the drop down box from 'Any field' to 'Subject'
Some example subjects you could try searching for:
|
|