Skip to main content

Government publications: Other Countries

Government Publications from Other Countries

Click on different country tabs under "Other Countries" page to find links to government websites and publications. If you are looking at countries not included in this guide, there a number of approaches to locate their government publications: 

  • There a number of online databases which focus on researching laws of a specific country or countries which usually contain information about government publications, such as parliamentary publications, bills, hansard, government reports and others. A very good example is Globalex (free) and Foreign Law Guide (Monash staff and students). 

Links to Government Publications from Other Countries

 Parliament of Canada

Government of Canada Publications 

This site contains links to Government of Canada publications. You can do this by searching or downloading publications using the online catalogue as well as browsing publications that are grouped by shared characteristics.

Government-wide Reporting

Government reports are readily available to ensure that Canadians and Parliament are better able to hold the Government and public sector officials to account.

Financial Reports 

The Senate of Canada adopted a new disclosure model to promote transparency, efficiency and accountability. This new model provides more detail and uniformity in the quarterly disclosure of senators’ expenses and supplements the information available in Public Accounts.

Consult Monash Chinese Studies Library Guide for more information about how to find Chinese materials.  Here are some websites which might be useful in finding government publications. 

Chinese Government online (English version) 

English.gov.cn is the official English-language electronic communication platform of the State Council of the People’s Republic of China, catering to the international community. This website, together with its Chinese version -- www.gov.cn -- make up the Chinese government’s online presence.

Chinese Government online (Chinese version) 

The Chinese version of the Chinese government’s online presence.

State Council Gazette 

The State Council Gazette of the People's Republic of China has been the official publication of the Chinese central government since 1955, with readers at home and abroad.

 

Consult Monash Indonesian Studies Library Guide for more information about how to find Indonesian materials.  Here are some websites which might be useful in finding government publications. 

Government Department/Agency

The following sites are available only in Bahasa unless stated otherwise.

Department of Agriculture
Department of Communication and Informatics (English)
Department of Foreign Affairs (English)
Department of Laws and Human Rights
General Elections Commission (KPU)

Indonesian Army
Ministry of Health (English)
Ministry of Trade (English)

Indonesian Legislation

State Secretariat Index of Legal Products . Select UU or Undang-Undang for Act/Law. To browse, select the relevant year to see a list of the entire acts/laws passed by the parliament (DPR) in that particular year. Indonesian only.

Consult Monash Japanese Studies Library Guide for more information about how to find Japanese materials.  Here are some websites which might be useful in finding government publications. 

Government of Japan

The official website of the Japanese Government.

Parliament of Japan - The National Diet 

The Japanese Parliament is called the Diet. It consists of the House of Representatives and the House of Councillors. The members of the Diet are elected by the Japanese people.

Government Publications of Japan 

Official publications from the Government of Japan including news bulletins, newsletters, journals and magazines.

Prime Minister of Japan and His Cabinet includes Speeches and statements by the Prime Minister, Diplomatic relations, Cabinet decisions and other announcements.

Statistics Bureau, Statistics Japan

e-Stat, Portal site of official statistics of Japan

New Zealand Government | Te Kāwanatanga o Aotearoa 

Kia ora. Govt.nz is your guide to finding and using New Zealand government services.

Parliament of New Zealand | Pāremata Aotearoa 

The official website of the Parliament of New Zealand | Pāremata Aotearoa.

New Zealand Government A-Z 

An A-Z listing of all New Zealand Government organisations.

Consult Monash Korean Studies Library Guide for more information about how to find Korean materials.  Here are some websites which might be useful in finding government publications. 

Republic of Korea

Law

Media releases

Statistics and economy

GOV.UK
Government homepage provides access to government information by broad subject. It includes an A-Z listing of Government departments / agencies under 'Directories'. Look for the 'Law, archives and information' link under Rights and Responsibilities for links to unconsolidated Acts, Bills, Parliamentary proceedings, Command Papers (White and Green Papers), Official publications, Government press releases, Official statistics and national archives.

UK Parliament - Publications
Provides downloadable versions of current and past publications of both Houses, including those of select committees. Also links to the Parliamentary Archives where the historic records of Parliament are stored and made available to the public.

Legislation.gov.uk
The official UK government website for the publication of newly enacted legislation. It contains all legislation from 1988 and partial content pre-1988. Most types of primary legislation are held in 'revised' form, while most types of secondary legislation are held only in the form in which they were originally made (Public access).

Westlaw UK
Contains the most up-to-date versions of legislation in relation to England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland (Monash users).

Justis

Contains the full text of all Acts of Parliament in England, Wales and Scotland as enacted from 1235 to the present day (Monash users);

U.S. Government Printing Office
US Government Printing Office disseminates official information from all three branches of the Federal Government. Includes:

The White House
News, speeches, policies, biographies

U.S. Government News / Press Release Gateway 
News and press release websites throughout the U.S. Government

Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
To provide American citizens direct online access to the basic Federal Government documents that define our democratic society, a core group of current and historical Government publications is being made available for free, permanent, public access via G/PO Access/. These titles contain information which is vital to the democratic process and critical to an informed electorate. 

GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys)