Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Performance: Brass

Resources for Performance units ATS1044, ATS1045, ATS2122, ATS2123, ATS3136 and ATS3137

Monash Music and Multimedia Collection

Welcome to the Brass Performance Library guide!  This guide provides resources for students of Brass Performance.

Brass Scores

Use the subject headings of the following books to find more on the same topic. For example, 
Trumpet  -- Instruction and study
Horn (Musical instrument) -- Instruction and study
or 
Trombone -- Methods
or
Trumpet -- Studies and exercises

Substitute your own instrument where appropriate

Online scores are available at Classical Scores library.
For example, Australian composer Mathew Hindson’s Ignition: Positive has an edition for trumpet and an edition for alto saxophone:
Ignition: Positive: for trumpet in C and piano
Ignition: Positive: for alto saxophone and piano

Concerto for trombone and orchestra by Elgar Howarth (piano and trombone parts)

Sequenza V for trombone solo by Luciano Berio online and in the library

For solo repertoire ((solos, duets and duets with piano) as well as piano reductions of works for solo instrument and orchestra browse at:
DP Trumpet, Cornet and Flugelhorn
DQ Trombone and bass trombone
DR French Horn 
DS Tuba and Euphonium 

Some repertoire remains in the S/SF collection and you need to also browse by composer at 11 for brass repertoire.
For example: Pavane pour une infante défunte by Ravel and arranged for horn and piano : SF780 R252 11P/P   
 

S/SF scores are arranged by Composer A-Z. Works for brass instruments at 11. E.g.: Sonata for Trumpet and Piano by Peter Maxwell Davies is SF780 D257 11/S 

S788 includes Methods and Test pieces for orchestral auditions. Performance scores at P780 include repertoire for solo instrument , solo instrument accompanied by piano or other instruments and chamber music.

Finding Brass Resources

Use the Australian Music Centre Repertoire Navigator to find music for brass instruments:
Ensembles including Brass

DVDs, CD's, Scores and other music items for Brass are located on Level 1 of the Matheson Library, and can be most easily found by using Monash Library Search to find a Call Number.

Search
          

  Advanced search | Sign in | A-Z ejournals | Databases

Journals And Databases

Databases & Journals at Monash University Library

Monash University Library has tens of thousands of journals available online and in print.

Click the tabs above to see some of the best journals publishing new research in Brass.

        

Monash University Library offers students access to databases of academic literature as well as sound and video collections. 

Click the tabs above to access some of the databases collections.

Books & Ausdiovisual

Contacts

Librarians

Learning Skills Advisers