Chamber Music
This page offers a selection of sheet music for different ensembles. In most cases, when you click the blue hypertext title for each work you will see a record with a subject which will take you to further works for each particular ensemble. For example Piano Trios, String Quartets, Wind Quartets, or String Quintets. You can use can also search Classical Scores Library and HathiTrust directly using keywords. Here is an example of the hypertext link for the subject:
The Monash University Library has Australian composer archives in Special Collections, containing extensive collections of manuscripts for chamber music by Phyllis Batchelor, Wendy Morrissey, Linda Phillips, Esther Rofe and Margaret Sutherland. Another archive contains works composed for Mancell Kirby who pioneered the use of harpsichord in early music performance practice in Melbourne. This archive contains the manuscript for Sonatina for treble recorder or flute and piano by Peggy Glanville-Hicks. Only a few of these manuscripts have been published and selected scores are listed below.
- Trio for flute, clarinet in B♭ and piano byCall Number: SF780 H994 13/TPublication Date: 2002Written in 1948 at the request of Constance Pether, an Adelaide flautist, who, with Cleve Martin, clarinettist, and Beryl Chinner, pianist, for a broadcasting engagement. They later recorded it for the ABC.
- Purim for violin, cello and piano byCall Number: P780 TP P561 PURPublication Date: 2009Purim is a Jewish holiday that celebrates the saving of the Jewish people from a threatened massacre in ancient Persia as recounted in the Book of Esther. Linda Phillips also wrote the Purim Festival, a one movement work for violin and piano.
Piano Duos
For more piano duos use (Pianos (2))
For more piano duets use Piano music (4 hands)
S/SF scores are arranged by Composer A-Z.
Piano Trios
- Trio for piano, violin and violoncello, B major, op. 8 byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014 (1854)
Piano, violin and voice
- Five Hebrew love songs: for soprano, violin and piano byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2010 (composed 1996)
- Morgen Op. 27 Nr. 4 für hohe Singstimme, Violine und Klavier byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 1917
- Night - Impression: for mezzo soprano, violin and piano byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2012
- Stille Sprache = (Language of silence) : three songs for soprano, violin and piano byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2009Includes biographical notes in English.
Duration: approximately 18 min.
Set to words by Rainer Maria Rilke.
In German; printed also as text in German.
Table of Contents
I. Da stieg ein Baum -- 2. Nur wer die Leier -- 3. Ein Gott vermags.
Piano Trio with voice
- Irische Lieder, No. 1 Die Elfen - WoO 154, No. 1. byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 1888 (composed 1813)
S/SF scores are arranged by Composer A-Z. Works for brass instruments at 11. E.g.: Sonata for Trumpet and Piano by Peter Maxwell Davies is SF780 D257 11/S
Piano and two violins
- Miniaturen für zwei Violinen mit Klavierbegleitung, op. 29. Nr. 3, Elegie byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 1910
- Four Sketches. Book 1 : for flute, violin and piano (or 2 violins and piano) byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 1913
- Four Sketches. Book 2 : for flute, violin and piano (or 2 violins and piano) byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 1913
- Concerto no. 8 from L'Estro armonico: arranged for 2 violins and piano, A minor, opus 3/8 (RV 522 byCall Number: P780 TP V855 RV522Publication Date: 2008
String Trios
Finding Brass Resources
Use the Australian Music Centre Repertoire Navigator to find music for brass instruments:
Ensembles including Brass
DVDs, CD's, Scores and other music items with chamber music are located on Level 1 of the Matheson Library, and can be most easily found by using Monash Library Search to find a Call Number.
Clarinet chamber music
- Spans/spännvidder : bass clarinet, contrabass clarinet, 2 percussion byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 1981
S/SF scores are arranged by Composer A-Z. Works for brass instruments at 11. E.g.: Sonata for Trumpet and Piano by Peter Maxwell Davies is SF780 D257 11/S
String Quintets
S/SF scores are arranged by Composer A-Z. Works for brass instruments at 11. E.g.: Sonata for Trumpet and Piano by Peter Maxwell Davies is SF780 D257 11/S
Australian chamber music via MAMU
Manuscripts of works by some Australian composers were edited by the late Richard Divall, and are available online via Library Search. You will find a Piano Trio by Charles Horsley (1848), In memoriam Claude Achille Debussy for violin and piano by Fritz Hart (1918) and a number of works by Frederick Kelly (1882-1916) who was killed in action during the First World War: Piano Trio in B flat, Con Moto for english horn and pianoforte and Quartet for horn, violin, viola and pianoforte.
Books and Websites
- earsenseearsense is a comprehensive database of chamber music composers, works, movements, videos, scores, program notes, glossary, links etc. with a powerful search engine
Chamber Music: A Research and Information Guide 3rd ed. by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2010A reference tool to find answers to questions about chamber music
John Baron has also written the Chamber Music section in the Oxford Bibliographies which offers expert recommendations for further reading from the history of chamber music to writing about string ensembles, piano & strings, woodwinds, brass, and mixed ensembles.
String Quartets: A Research and Information Guide 2nd ed. by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013An annotated bibliography of sources about string quartet.s composers, works and performances. It also offers commentary on online links, databases, and references.
Selected Streamed Video
- Clarinet Quartet by Tristan Keuris Keuris composed the expressive ‘Clarinet Quintet’ for the centenary of the Amsterdam Concertgebouw in 1988 and, for the centenary of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra in the same year, was commissioned to write ‘Catena’ for Wind Orchestra and Percussion.
- Leonard Elschenbroich teaches Beethoven and Dvořák Piano Trios A Masterclass Media Foundation video At Manchester, England's Royal Northern College of Music (RNCM), Leonard Elschenbroich works with two of the school's most promising piano trios: the Mathias Trio and the Louko Trio. Described by The New York Times as "a musician of great technical prowess, intellectual curiosity, and expressive depth," Leonard Elschenbroich is considered one of the most charismatic cellists of his generation. He passes that experience on to two young trios who tackle works by Beethoven and Dvořák. The Mathias Trio includes Tom Mathias (violin), James Heathcote (cello), and Matthew Lam (piano). Based in Manchester, it was founded in 2014 during its members first year studying at the RNCM. The Louko Trio was formed in 2015 at the RNCM by Erkki Louko (violon), Waynne Kwon (cello) and Victor Lim (piano).
- The Beaux Arts Trio performs Schubert, Piano trios The Beaux Arts Trio performs two central pieces of their repertoire. Filmed at the majestic Signet Library in Edinburgh, the ensemble demonstrates its mastery in bringing out the deeply lyrical romantic expressions that have made these trios two of Schubert's most cherished chamber music works. Performed by founding member, Menahem Pressler on piano, Isidore Cohen on violin and Bernard Greenhouse on cello,
- Ilya Gringolts, Truls Mørk and Daniil Trifonov perform Beethoven, Schubert and Brahms : a trio at the Verbier Church At the 2015 Verbier Festival, violinist Ilya Gringolts, cellist Truls Mørk and the Russian star pianist Daniil Trifonov perform works by Beethoven, Schubert and Brahms at the Vebier Church. A regular guest of large festivals including Lucerne, Verbier, and the BBC Proms, Ilya Gringolts is a stunning soloist who has also created his own quartet. The Financial Times calls him "one of the most inspiring violinists on the current scene." He made a strong impression when he was the youngest winner of the Premio Paganini International Violin Competition in 1998. Admired for his captivating interpretations, and known as a lover of contemporary music, Truls Mørk plays on the biggest international stages. He studied with Frans Helmerson.
- Martha Argerich & friends: live from Tokyo Martha Argerich in a tribute concert to her teacher Friedrich Gulda! Recorded in January 2005 at the Sumida Triphony Hall in Tokyo, this concert was a Major musical event characterized by a singular programme of three concerti by Mozart and Beethoven, an exceptional cast and a rare alchemy. Martha Argerich, the Argentinean who has dominated the world of the piano since the 1960s, joins forces with Renaud and Gautier Capuçon (respectively 29 and 24 years old at the time), Paul and Rico Gulda (her teacher's Friedrich Gulda's two sons), and the violist Lyda Chen.
- French chamber music the Ébène Quartet performs works by Fauré and Debussy. It is accompanied by the pianist Eric Le Sage and joined by the clarinettist Paul Mayer and the cellist François Salque. The concert begins with Gabriel Fauré's Piano, Clarinet and Cello Trio in D Minor, the only trio he composed. When he composed it (between 1922 and 1923), it was unusual to associate a piano, a clarinet and a cello. Next, the Cello and Piano Sonata No. 1 in D Minor composed by Debussy in 1915 was part of a project in which Debussy wanted to compose six French sonatas. The First Rhapsody for Clarinet composed by Debussy follows with impressionist colours, that mostly characterize the composer's style. The concert ends with one of the greatest works of French chamber music, the Piano and Strings Quintet in C Minor composed by Fauré.