Finding String Resources
DVDs, CD's, Scores and other music resources for Strings are located on Level 1 of the Matheson Library, and can be most easily found by using Monash Library Search to find a Call Number.
String Scores
- Twenty-four studies for the violin edited by Galamian byCall Number: OnlineInternational Music Co edition, edited by Ivan Galamian, digitised by Hathi Trust.
- 36 Etudes elementaires et progressives pour violon byCall Number: Online36 Studies, Op. 20, for solo violin, books 1-3, digitised from the Vera Bradford Collection. Augener & Co.'s edition ; no. 8662
- Kayser, Studies for the violin, op. 20. book I edited by TarczynskiCall Number: Online1 digistised score (19 pages) from the Victorian Flute Guild Collection.
- Viola spaces for two : contemporary viola studies byCall Number: S787.3193 K74V.1Publication Date: 20151. Sul ponticello : Beside the Bridge -- 2. Sul tasto : Ghosts -- 3. Gilssando : One finger -- 4. Pizzicato : Nine fingers -- 5. Tremolo : Rapid Repeat -- 6. Harmonics : Harmonic horizon -- 7. Quartertones : In between -- 8. Bow directions : Up, down, sideways, round.
Many studies for violin are now available full text online from HathiTrust.
Online scores are also available at Classical Score library.
Charles Dancla
Six airs variés for violin and piano, op. 89, Series I
Six airs varies for violin and piano, op.118: Series 2 (Schirmer)
Jakob Dont
Twenty-four études and caprices for the violin, op. 35 (Schirmer)
Pierre Gaviniés
Twenty-four studies for the violin =: (Matinées) (IMC, Galamian, ed.)
Frederigo Fiorillo
Thirty-six etudes or caprices, for violin (Carl Fischer)
Method books are mainly at the call number S787.2 and following.
See also ATS2060 Teaching Music Performance: Strings
Practice: 250 step-by-step practice methods for the violin by
Includes instructional text, instructional photos and musical examples.
Call Number: S787.2193 F529PPublication Date: 2004
Scales for viola: scales and scale studies for the viola by
Includes how to structure intonation around perfect intervals and leading notes, a new approach to learning how to time shifts, extensive notation for preparing and holding down fingers and tips for one-, two-, three- and four-octave scales and arpeggios as well as practice methods for intonation, smooth bowing, string crossing, fast fingers, fourth-finger extensions and placing fingers in blocks.
Call Number: S787.3193 F529.1S
Havas the 12 Course Lesson in a New Approach to Violin Playing: with exercises relating to the fundamental balances. by Call Number: Online and S787.2193 H383.1TPublication Date: 2003
Ricci on Glissando: Shortcut to Violin Technique by
In his book on left-hand violin technique, Maestro Ruggiero Ricci addresses common problems in shifting by advocating the study of the glissando technique. He asserts that re-incorporating this technique will not only aid violinists in developing a better-trained ear, but also provide them with "shortcuts" to playing some of Paganini's most difficult passages. Ricci introduces and compares old and new systems of playing to provide a context for the glissando system. He outlines a series of glissando scales that provides the student with a blueprint for developing additional glissando scales in other keys. He offers exercises designed to increase flexibility, ear training, coordination, and crawling technique and has included a DVD in which he demonstrates various bowing techniques.
Call Number: S787.219366 R491RPublication Date: 2007
Scale System; : scale exercises in all major and minor keys for daily study (Violin) by Call Number: S787.2193 F611SISBN: 9781626540835Publication Date: 2015
Scale system : for violoncello : scale exercises in all major and minor keys for daily study by Call Number: SF787.4193 F611SPublication Date: 1988
Online scores are available at Classical Score library.
Performance scores include solo repertoire and piano reductions of works originally composed for solo instrument and orchestra.
Library staff are in the process of moving these scores to the P780 sequence:
P780 DE violin (solos, duets and duets with piano)
P780 DF viola (solos, duets and duets with piano)
P780 DG cello (solos, duets and duets with piano)
P780 DH double bass (solos, duets and duets with piano)
- Steven Isserlis's cello world 10 concert works for cello and piano5 original works and 5 works arranged by Steven Isserlis.
Sonatas and Partitas by ISBN: 9783795795047Publication Date: 1985Sonata I (BWV 1001) * Partita I (BWV 1002) * Sonata II (BWV 1003) * Partita II (BWV 1004) * Sonata III (BWV 1005) * Partita III (BWV 1006) * Kritische Anmerkungen (H. Szeryng).
Fantasia for guitar and piano, op. 145 by Call Number: P780 DT C349 FANISBN: 9783795798277Publication Date: 2011 (1953)
S/SF scores (Composers A-Z) for string instruments are arranged from 2-9. E.g. Grieg sonatas for violin and piano are at SF780 G848 6 ... Sonata for Viola and Piano by Mendelssohn SF537 7 ... Sonatas for cello and piano by James MacMillan SF780 M167 8 ... Library staff are in the process of moving these scores to the P780 sequence:
P780 DE violin (solos, duets and duets with piano)
P780 DF viola (solos, duets and duets with piano)
P780 DG cello (solos, duets and duets with piano)
P780 DH double bass (solos, duets and duets with piano)
- Twelve fantasias for solo violin byCall Number: SF780 T268 6/F & SF780 T268 6/F2
Five Medieval Dances: Arranged for Small Harp with Optional Instruments by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2019Very little medieval secular music was written down, especially secular dance music. Five Medieval Dances, arranged for small harp and optional instruments, preserves what were likely some of the most popular pieces of the 13th and 14th centuries, drawn from Le Manuscrit du Roi in the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, as well as from manuscripts housed in the British Museum and the National Library of the Czech Republic.
The Australian composer archives contain extensive collections of manuscripts by Phyllis Batchelor, Wendy Morrissey, Linda Phillips, Esther Rofe and Margaret Sutherland. Only a few of these manuscripts have been published and selected scores are listed below.
- Serenade for violin and piano byCall Number: P780 DE P561 SERPublication Date: 2009The Linda Phillips archive contains the manuscript for the composer's own arrangement for cello and piano.
Books & Audiovisual
The Russian Violin School: the legacy of Yuri Yankelevich / edited and translated by Masha Lankovsky. by Call Number: Online and printPublication Date: 2016The Russian school of violin playing produced many of the twentieth century's leading violinists - from the famed disciples of Leopold Auer such as Jascha Heifetz, Nathan Milstein, and Mischa Elman to masters of the Soviet years such as David Oistrakh and Leonid Kogan. This book includes two original texts by Yankelevich: his essay on positioning the hands and arms and his extensive research into every detail of shifting positions. Additional essays and commentaries by those close to him examine further details of his pedagogy, including tone production, intonation, vibrato, fingerings and bowings, and his general approach to methodology and selecting repertoire.
Producing Excellence by Call Number: Online and printPublication Date: 2015An in-depth study of nearly one hundred such children, Producing Excellence illuminates the process these young violinists undergo to become elite international soloists. The author highlights the highly structured, rigorous training system of identifying, nurturing, and rewarding talent, even as she underscores the social, economic, and cultural factors that make success in this system possible.
Violin Secrets 101 Strategies by Call Number: Online and Print 787.2193 N224V 2015Publication Date: 2015In Violin Secrets: 101 Performance Strategies for the Advanced Violinist, author and violinist Jo Nardolillo surveys the cutting edge of current violin technique, combining tradition and innovation in one volume. Blending traditional strategies that have produced generations of legendary performers with modern ideas, Nardolillo reveals the secrets of today's most sought-after master teachers, garnered through her decade of study at top conservatories across the nation.
The Teaching of Action in String Playing by
A guide to the Rolland approach to teaching, written by Paul Rolland. Rolland was a remarkable violinist, and he left a unique legacy for the string playing and teaching world. Here he discusses principles of movement in playing, rhythm training, holding the bow, left hand and finger placements, shifting, and developing flexibility. This first-hand account of his method is now considered a standard teaching resource for string teachers. This remarkable violinist has left a unique legacy for the string playing and teaching world. 228 pages.
Call Number: 787.2193 R749T 2000
Violin Mastery: interviews with Heifetz, Auer, Kreisler, and others by Call Number: 787.2193 M377V 2006How long should I practice? Which pieces should I study? How can I develop a singing tone? All violinists ponder these questions. This encouraging book holds the answers, offering a series of interviews with the most celebrated violin teachers and performers of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Eugene Ysaye reminisces about his studies with Vieuxtemps and Wieniawski, and Leopold Auer emphasizes the importance of fostering students' individual talents. Maud Powell describes her pioneering role as a female orchestral musician, and Jascha Heifetz voices his views on technical mastery and temperament.
The Art of Violin Playing by Carl Flesch vol. 1 & 2 by Call Number: 787.207 F611A 2000 and SF787.2076 F611A iPublication Date: 2000Carl Flesch's treatise is the most comprehensive and thorough treatise available for violin. Rosenblith, a student of Carl Flesch, has provided a version of Flesch's original 'treatise' that preserves all the essential basic concepts, in contemporary and idiomatic English. Hand diagrams and a table for the consistent use of bowing and fingering symbols have been added. The range of musical examples covers excerpts from the works of all the master composers for the violin from Bach and Tartini to Suk and Reger. There is also a foreword by Anne-Sophie Mutter, that is a very heartfelt appreciation of the extraordinary position that Flesch and The Art of Violin Playing occupies in the education of string players.
Check out the instrumental overview for Cello at the Australian Music Centre.
Rostropovich by Call Number: 787.4 W747R 2008Publication Date: 2007A biography of an extraordinary musician, an accomplished conductor, an outsize personality, and a courageous human being. It is not an exaggeration to say that the history of the cello in the twentieth century would be unthinkable without the name of Mstislav Rostropovich, writes Elizabeth Wilson. He has seemed to me like a personification of the cello itself. Ms. Wilson, a former student of Slava and the acclaimed biographer of both Shostakovich and Jacqueline du Pre, has written the definitive biography of the master. Rostropovich teems with entertaining anecdotes and therefore brings the reader as close as one can get to the method and psychology of Rostropovich's playing and teaching. In his native Moscow, his fame as a performer was nearly equaled by his reputation as a teacher.
Cello Practice, Cello Performance by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015Professor Miranda Wilson teaches that effectiveness on the concert stage or in an audition reflects the intensity, efficiency, and organization of your practice and demonstrates that the movements of the hands are vitally interdependent, supporting and empowering one another in any technical action. Original exercises in the fundamentals of cello playing include cross-lateral exercises, mindful breathing, and one of the most detailed discussions of intonation in the cello literature. Wilson translates this practice-room success to the concert hall through chapters on performance-focused practice, performance anxiety, and common interpretive challenges of cello playing.
Cello Secrets by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2018Provides insightful information to demystify cello technique with practical tips and troubleshooting advice. The authors describe the strategies, tricks, and techniques that are taught by leading pedagogues in master classes and seminars throughout the United States.
Cello, Bow and You by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016An innovative text in the field of string pedagogy written by a 40+ year veteran of the New York Philharmonic Orchestra and certified teacher of the Alexander Technique. Benedetti's approach complements the work that students do with their teachers by encouraging them to be more aware of themselves and responsive to internal and external guidance. She has pioneered an approach to playing that is a synthesis of the cellist's musical thought, the knowledge of the dynamic properties of the instrument and bow, and the ability to move effectively according to the mechanics of the human body. The synergy of these elements leads to physically healthy playing and frees players to be musically expressive.
Check out the instrumental overview for Harp at the Australian Music Centre.
Guide to the Contemporary Harp by Call Number: EbookPublication Date: 2019Guide to the Contemporary Harp is a comprehensive resource that examines the vibrant present-day landscape of the harp. The authors explore the instrument from all angles, beginning with organology; moving through composition, notation, and playing techniques; and concluding with the contemporary repertoire for the harp. The rapid diversification in these areas of harp performance is the result of both technological innovations in harp making, which have produced the electric harp and MIDI harp, and innovative composers and players. These new instruments and techniques have broadened the concept of what is possible and what constitutes harp music for today.
Harps and Harpists by Call Number: EbookPublication Date: 2007This lavishly illustrated edition, with 137 black-and-white images and 24 color plates, surveys the progress of the harp from antiquity to the present day.There are anecdotes of the author's studies under Alberto Salvi and an appendix on the Roslyn Rensch Papers and Harp Collection, which are housed at the University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign.
One Woman in a Hundred: Edna Phillips and the Philadelphia Orchestra by Call Number: EbookPublication Date: 2013While studying at the Curtis Institute of Music, gifted harpist Edna Phillips (1907-2003), was selected by Leopold Stokowski to become the first female member of the Philadelphia Orchestra in 1930. She was also the first woman to hold a principal position in a major American orchestra. This book chronicles the training, aspirations, setbacks, and successes of this pioneering woman musician who was brave enough and strong enough to overcome historic barriers and pursue her dreams.
Harp Music Bibliography by Call Number: EbookPublication Date: 2002Contains over 5000 entries of works for harp in combination with up to eight other instruments, songs and other vocal and choral works with harp accompaniment, and harp concertos and other concerted works in which the harp plays a solo role. This chamber music volume contains citations of harp music published between 1800 and 2000 in a classified arrangement, with the first eight sections subdivided by original works and arrangements: 1) Duets; 2) Trios; 3) Quartets; 4) Quintets; 5) Sextets; 6) Septets; 7) Octets; 8) Nonets; 9) Solo voice with harp; 10) Solo voices (2 or more) with harp; 11) Harp with chorus; and 12) Harp concertos.
Cello classes with Ralph KirshbaumCall Number: DVD: 787.4193 C393 2013
Violin left hand. Volume 1, by Call Number: 787.2193 M978V 2012
Journals And Databases
The Strad online.
To access click The Strad (Exact Editions) and then click via institution.
Each issue has 'Life Lessons' from notable artists and a 'Teaching and Playing' section with a 'Masterclass' page and a 'Technique' page. The best index to articles is Music Index.
- Strad (Print 787.05 S895)The Strad is a UK-based monthly classical music magazine which includes articles about string instruments, cellists, violinists, and violists. Founded in 1889, the magazine provides information, photographs and reviews of instruments, and information about musical concerts. Articles offer practical advice on technique, profiles of leading performers and master classes by some of the great teachers in the world.
- Amercian String Teacher Journal (Online)American String Teacher (AST), published quarterly, includes articles on the teaching of stringed instruments and the performance of all types of music for strings.
- Stringendo (Print at 787.05 S918)Stringendo is published by the Australian Strings Assocition. Each issue contains news, reviews, letters, comments and several substantial articles on topics of interest to players, teachers and makers of stringed instruments.
- Journal of String Research (Online)String Research Journal (SRJ) is the official peer-reviewed publication of the American String Teachers Association (ASTA). The journal publishes quantitative, qualitative, historical, and philosophical research relevant to string settings—from early childhood study to the advanced private studio and string ensembles. It covers a wide range of topics including: various aspects of string pedagogy and teaching practices, effective rehearsals, performance, history, and listener perception.
- Music online. Classical music library This link opens in a new window Classical Music Library (CML) is a comprehensive online database of classical music recordings. CML features performers from more than 32 major and independent labels, including BMG and EMI Classics. Classical Music Library provides musical sound recordings, program notes, reference texts (composer biographies, history, and glossary), and images. The music includes vocal and instrumental works from the Middle Ages through to the present. Users navigate through browse lists, a search engine and music track playlists.
- Naxos music library This link opens in a new window Naxos Music Library comprises a vast collection of classical music available in streaming audio format. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from hundreds of other record labels, including EMI, Warner Classics and Sony Classical. Along with classical music, jazz, world, and pop/rock are also represented, with over 600 new titles are added each month. Additional resources include music notes, cover artwork, track listings, instrumentation and publisher information, libretti and opera synopses, composer and artist biographies, pronunciation guide for composer and artist names, glossary, guide to musical terms and work analyses.
- Berliner Philharmoniker digital concert hall This link opens in a new window The Digital Concert Hall is the virtual concert venue of the Berliner Philharmoniker on the Internet. Here you can experience the orchestra performing live at the Philharmonie in Berlin in more than 30 broadcasts every year. Database includes live streams, concerts, movies and interviews.
- Kanopy music films Kanopy is an streaming video service for educational institutions which includes music documentaries.
Databases & Journals at Monash University Library
Monash University Library has tens of thousands of journals available online and in print.
Click the tabs above to see some of the best journals publishing new research in String.
Monash University Library offers students access to databases of academic literature as well as sound and video collections.
Click the tabs above to access some of the databases collections.