Welcome
Using this guide
This guide provides selected repertoire, methods and research resources. Physical materials such as books, scores and audio-visual materials are mostly held at the Matheson (Clayton) Library. Music scores and audio-visual items are found on level 1 of the Matheson Library. See also the Critical Performance Studies Subject Guide and the Music Subject Guide.
Key resources in Music Performance
Many resources for Performance are arranged by instrument groups. To find further examples of methods and pedagogy in Search enter the keywords instruction and study or studies and exercises and the name of your instrument, or instrument group.
Many sources featured on this guide are available as ebooks or streamed video or audio.
By clicking the blue hypertext title for each work you will see a record with a subject which will take you to further resources in the same subject area. If you are seeking a particular kind of resource, please contact lib-arts-librarians@monash.edu.
Databases for finding literature sources
Ebscohost Research which includes Music Index and RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Proquest which includes a Music & Performing Arts Collection
Google Scholar uses the familiar Google search engine to search peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles
More databases can be found on the Music Subject Guide: Databases and Indexes
Naxos Video Library includes streamed video performances of many musicians:
Jazz (Over 150 streamed films of many Jazz musicians from 1946 until 2006)
Masterclasses (Over 200 streamed films of pianists, string players, wind players, conductors and more ...)
Further masterclasses can be found on Medici TV.
Sound Databases with streamed audio
The following link allows you to search across all the following Music Online databases simultaneously: Music Online Listening
You can also search each collection separately:
American Music
Classical Music Library
Contemporary World Music
Jazz Music Library
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Naxos also offer a classical music and a jazz music collection:
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library. Jazz
Get help from a librarian
Get help from a librarian when you need support beyond what you can find in this guide. Bookings are available for students, educators, and researchers.
Librarians can help you with a range of tasks including:
- using the Library's collections
- finding and evaluating information
- citing and referencing
- understanding copyright
Highlighted Resource
The Oxford Handbook of Music Performance, Volume 1 by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2022Chapters in the Handbook are designed around eight distinct sections - Development and Learning, Proficiencies, Performance Practices, Psychology, Enhancements, Health and Wellbeing, Science, and Innovations. These include chapters from related disciplines such as performance science (e.g., optimizing performance, mental techniques, talent development in non-music areas), and education (e.g., human development, motivation, learning and teaching styles) as well as the attention given to emerging critical issues in the field (e.g., wellbeing, technology, gender, diversity, inclusion, identity, resilience and buoyancy, diseases, and physical and mental disabilities). Each chapters surveys theoretical views on the topic and then, highlights practical implications of the literature that performers will be able to apply within their daily musical lives.
The Oxford Handbook of Music Performance, Volume 2 by Publication Date: 2022Volume 2 of the Oxford Handbook of Music Performance is designed around four distinct parts: Enhancements, Health and Wellbeing, Science, and Innovations. Chapters on the popular Feldenkrais method and Alexander technique open the volume, and these lead to chapters on peak performance and mindfulness, stage behavior, impression management and charisma, enhancing music performance appraisal, and how to build a career and the skills and competencies needed to be successful.
Masterclasses on Streamed Video
Naxos Video Library includes The Jazz Sessions spotlights with unaccompanied performances , interviews and behind the scenes footage of a number of jazz legends, such as Bill Frisell, Lee Konitz and Joe Lovano. Search under Categories to find Jazz, World, Masterclass, Concert Documentary and other collections.
Masterclasses from the Reina Sofia School of Music. 42 classes by pianists Menahem Pressler, Zoltan Kocsis and Jerome Rose; 27 classes by violinists Miriam Fried, Yvry Gitlis and Lorin Maazel; 12 classes by cellists David Geringas and Frans Helmserson. Other instruments featured are clarinet, viola, bassoon and double bass.
Medici.TV is another database containing a number of masterclasses:
Digital Concert Hall
Watch concerts, master classes and interviews.
First time users, register first on campus at URL https://www.digitalconcerthall.com/en/register
