Finding Woodwind Resources
DVDs, CD's, Scores and other music items for Woodwind are located on Level 1 of the Matheson Library, and can be most easily found by using Monash Library Search to find a Call Number for the score you are looking for. Of particular interest is the digitised music from the Classical Scores Library, the Victorian Flute Guild Collection and a growing number of electronic resources.
Woodwind Scores
The library holds many works for flute by Australian women composers. Works by Elena Kats-Chernin include Blue Silence: for solo flute and Eliza Aria from Wilds Swans, for piccolo or flute, with piano; For clarinet and piano, Three Short Pieces, . Some works are available in print and as an e-score which you can download. For example, Goldfish through Summer Rain for flute and piano by Anne Boyd: E-score and Print. E-scores for clarinet include Summer Nights by Jane Andino, The Three Alcids: for clarinet and piano by Melody Eötvös, Mockidaij: for clarinet or alto saxophone and piano by Amanda Handel, Chiaroscuro: three pieces for clarinet and piano by May Howlet and Full Moon for solo clarinet in Bb by Kenya Wilkins.
There are also the Australian composer archives containing extensive collections of manuscripts by Phyllis Batchelor, Linda Phillips, Esther Rofe and Margaret Sutherland. Another archive contains works written for Mancell Kirby who pioneered the use of harpsichord in early music performance practice in Melbourne, including the manuscript for Sonatina for treble recorder or flute and piano by Peggy Glanville-Hicks.
Contemporary Australian Flute by Call Number: SF788.32 M175CPublication Date: 1997This anthology contains the following works for flute and piano: Haiku by Meta Overman and Sonata by Phyllis Batchelor in volume 1 and Fantasy by Helen Giffor in Volume 2. The collection also includes Six scenes by Allan Walker and Aureole by Brenton Broadstock (vol.1) and Scherzo-waltz by William Lovelock, Sonata by Dorian Le Gallienne and Scintillation III by Julian Yu (vol. 2).
The Phyllis Batchelor Music Archive holds manuscript copies of 2 Pieces for Flute and Piano and Suite for Flute and Piano.
- Dancing with trees : unaccompanied clarinet byCall Number: P780 DL L897.1 DANPublication Date: 2017
- Night songs : two solo pieces for alto and bass recorder byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015Night song I : for solo alto recorder
Night song II : for bass recorder
The Boosey Woodwind Method: Alto saxophone. Repertoire book C by
(Boosey & Hawkes Concert Band). for Saxophone and Piano
Call Number: SF788.73193 M847B-CPublication Date: 2005-08-01
Check out Australian music for Flute, Clarinet,
Bass Clarinet and Saxophone at the Australian Music Centre.
Clarinet Fundamentals by
Three comprehensive volumes: Sound and articulation (v.1), Systematic fingering (v.2) and Intonation (v.3). Volume 2 covers the characteristics of clarinet-specific fingering techniques and the training of every possible fingering combination for dexterity and virtuoso playing. Includes a large number of exercises covering all fingering problems in great detail for the Boehm and Oehler system.
Call Number: S788.62193 W413CPublication Date: 2005-06-01
The Art of Saxophone Playing by Call Number: 788.7193 T253A 2000ISBN: 0874870577Publication Date: 1994- The techniques of flute playing 2 vols. byCall Number: SF788.32193 L665T
Interpretation for Flute by
(Schott). Musical interpretation is first and foremost a question of shaping a melody or the melodic line of a setting. Music, like any language, follows its own set of rules and a sufficient knowledge and familiarity with musical 'grammar' is therefore an essential prerequisite of any convincing interpretation. The internationally renowned performer and teacher Peter-Lukas Graf explains in great detail the parameters that have to be taken into account for a successful interpretation: rhythm, metre, agogics, articulation, phrasing, ornamentation and implied polyphony, etc. Numerous examples from the flute repertoire of the 17th-20th century serve as models from which he derives the 'rules' appropriate for an interpretation in keeping with each period. * These rules are not intended to be dogmatic but instead should stimulate the players to form their own opinion. About 'rules' * Preface * Golden rules for the interpreter * The structure and analysis of melody * Notes on the execution of ornamentation in the 17th and 18th centuries * Ornamentation in the 19th and 20th centuries * Phrasing * Rhythm * Accents * Dynamics * Tempo * Metre * Flexibility of rhythm/rubato * Shaping the musical phrase * Conclusion * Bibliography * Index * Musical examples
Call Number: SF780 G736 10/IPublication Date: 2001
Preliminary exercises & etudes in contemporary techniques for clarinet : introductory material for the study of multiphonics, quarter tones, & timbre variation by Call Number: S788.62193 C262PPublication Date: 1979
Search for Studies with the name of the composer, and the keywords studies and instrument.
- Douze études-caprices pour saxophone byCall Number: P780 DO B793 ETU
Trevor Wye - Practice Book for the Flute: Books 1-6 by Call Number: S788.3143 W979PPublication Date: 2016- "Vade-Mecum" of the clarinet-player : 6 special studies to render the fingers and tongue rapidly supple by Call Number: S788.62193 J43VPublication Date: 1999 (1927)
Online scores are available at Classical Score library.
For solo repertoire and piano reductions of works originally composed for solo instrument and orchestra in the Matheson Library browse in the following areas:
P780 DJ: flute
P780 DK: oboe and cor anglais
P780 DL: clarinet
P780 DM: bassoon
P780 DN: recorder
P780 DO: saxophone
Some repertoire remains in the S/SF collection and you need to also browse by composer at 10 for woodwind.
For example: SF780 K17.8 10/C
For example: The Australian saxophone anthology : solo and accompaniment
- Digressioni modali : for tenor saxophone and marimba byCall Number: P780 DO P469 DIGPublication Date: 2003
- 25 Capricen und Sonate, op. 153 für Saxophon solo byCall Number: SF780 K17.8 10/C
Melodies for Saxophone by Call Number: SF780 G549 10/M
- Jungle Fever for tenor saxophone and piano byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2002 (composed 1998)
Click here for more works for piano and saxophone
Click here for more works for saxophone music solo
- The Australian saxophone anthology: solo and accompaniment byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013Entrada / Colin Brumby -- Sonata for alto saxophone and piano / Paul Ballam-Cross -- Starlight on the sea / Brennan Keats -- Seasides / John Wayne Dixon -- An April aubade / Paul Paviour -- Suite for saxophone / Ric Mills -- Scherzo for saxophone / Brett McKern -- Pie Jesu / Gavin Lockley -- Capriccio / Colin Brumby -- Serenade / Houston Dunleavy -- Tempe Downs (the old station) / Stephen O'Connell -- Fandangle indeed / Stephen Yates.
Books & eBooks
The notation is not the music: Reflections on early music practice and performance by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013
Studio-Based Instrumental Learning by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781138248632Publication Date: 2016-08-26
The Clarinet in the Classical Period by Call Number: Online and Print at 788.6219 R495C 2003Publication Date: 2008
New Directions for Clarinet by Call Number: 788.62 R345N 1994 (Online on order)ISBN: 0520033795Publication Date: 1994-01-01
Hyper-Specializing in Saxophone Using Acoustical Insight and Deep Listening Skills by Call Number: Online on orderPublication Date: 2019
The Cambridge Companion to the Saxophone by Call Number: Online and 788.7 I48C 1998
Compact Discs
- Saxophone premiere : the saxophone music of Sherwood Shaffer byCall Number: C780 CQP S525 SAXPublication Date: 2011
- The iridescent flute: Australian music for flute and pianoCall Number: C780 CDJ F531 IRI
- Fröst and friends encores through a decade.Call Number: C780 CUV F939 FRO
- Second door on the leftCall Number: C780 CQW C591.1 SEC
- A year in ParisCall Number: C780 CDL C222 YEA
- Songs of sea and sky: Australian music for clarinet and piano.Call Number: C780 CDL W529 SON
- The Boosey Woodwind Method by
(Boosey & Hawkes Concert Band). for Saxophone and Piano
Arban's Complete Conservatory Method for Trumpet (Cornet) by Publication Date: [2005]
Journals And Databases
Databases & Journals at Monash University Library
Monash University Library has tens of thousands of journals available online and in print.
Click the tabs above to see some of the best journals publishing new research in Woodwind.
Monash University Library offers students access to databases of academic literature as well as sound and video collections.
Click the tabs above to access some of the databases collections.
A range of formats are available: music scores, DVDs, 45, 33 1/3 and 78 rpm recordings, cassette tape, DVDs, video tapes, CD-ROMs, microfilms, microfiche and kits. Collection items can be viewed and listened to in the library, using the multimedia equipment available, or borrowed for study or home use. There is a listening room which includes a turnable to play vinyl recordings on Level 1 of the Matheson Library.
- Flute TalkAll current issues starting with March 2020 are available online
- Berliner Philharmoniker digital concert hall This link opens in a new window